We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel
Nearby Hotels
USD 232
USD 190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Travelodge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)
USD 122
USD 94
Booking.com
View Deal
    Savings alert! 14% below average rates

    The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 109/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    USD 171
    USD 167
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Restaurant
    • Room Service
    Four Seasons Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
    USD 264
    USD 186
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    Holiday Inn Old Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
    USD 142
    USD 119
    HolidayInn.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    Savings alert! 14% below average rates

    The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 139/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
    USD 186
    USD 127
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    Sheraton on the Park, Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
    USD 191
    USD 171
    Sheraton.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    Swissotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
    USD 152
    USD 144
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    InterContinental Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
    USD 190
    USD 169
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
    USD 133
    USD 124
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    Savings alert! 15% below average rates

    The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 146/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    Reviews (968)
    Filter reviews
    968 results
    Traveller rating
    765
    167
    25
    7
    4
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    765
    167
    25
    7
    4
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsbotanical gardensdrawing roomdormer roomchallis avenuecloud roomopera housekings crossbed and breakfastquiet neighborhoodboiled eggscircular quaysmall hotelhome from homeboutique hotelwithin walking distanceshort walkrestaurants and shops
    Filter
    Updating list...
    396 - 401 of 968 reviews
    Reviewed 15 January 2013

    We stayed for 3 nights at the busiest time of year (New Year) & were treated like we were the only guest; nothing was any trouble. Housekeeping Mum & Daughter were so warm & friendly & helpful. Keith & Damien were wonderful hosts & the rooms are spacious, wonderfully decorated & equipped & spotless. Breakfast although they told us was only continental in fact included the usual cereals & juices plus the biggest selection of breads, muffins, crumpets as well as salmon, boiled eggs, ham, cheeses, fruits, plunger coffee & then some. Great location less than a 10min stroll to Kings Cross & less to the underground train which is 5mins from the CBD. Thanks for a wonderful New Year Damien & Keith.

    • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Geoff J
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

    We were particularly pleased that Geoff and his partner found us at the last minute and we could do some "room juggling", and arrange some accomodation for them over the frantic New Year period.

    Geoff told us that to spend New Year's Eve in Sydney, to see the spectacular fireworks, had been on his list for many years, and it was fortuitous how it worked out.

    Thankyou for your description of our complimentary, continental buffet breakfast which Marie and Damien pride themselves on making a pleasant and healthy start to the day. I know that some people like a more traditional hot cooked breakfast, fried bacon and eggs or similar style, which we are not able to provide, but there are several excellent "people watching" cafes within a few minutes stroll which can cater for those needs.

    We are lucky with our housekeeping team (mother and daughter as Geoff says), who have been with us for many years. They both drive us mad sometimes but we love them dearly!

    These guests were both keen cyclists, and we were able to store their bikes, and give them directions for interesting rides around the area, although I think that Sydney's hills were a little more taxing than their home territory!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 January 2013

    We stayed at Simpson's Hotel in Potts Point 2 nights in mid-November 2012. The first day we had just arrived in Sydney from the USA and since it was still only mid-morning we weren't able to get into our room - not a surprise, we didn't expect to. But we were graciously welcomed and left our bags in the common room. The hosts provided advice on how to walk into the main part of the city and offered recommendations for the restaurants on Challis Ave. and just around the corner on Mcleay St. - a notable plus to the location, lots of great restaurants right there. The walk to the waterfront took about 30 min., we dawdled some in the Royal Botanic Garden - bird watching, just 'cause you're in a city doesn't mean you have to put your binoculars away! After wandering around the waterfront for a while and having some lunch at a bakery who knows where, we walked back to the hotel for a bit of a nap. We appreciated the quietness of the neighborhood. Late afternoon the hosts booked a table for us at a restaurant across the street and shared some thoughts about what we could do the next day - in addition to the obligatory tour of the opera house. We ended up taking a "hop on-hop off" bus tour of the city and were able to pick up the bus just around the corner - very convenient. Breakfast both mornings was very nice with a wide selection; we only had continental - not sure if cooked was on offer, maybe. When preparing to leave we chatted with the hosts regarding our plans and even though we were headed down to Melbourne and thence to the Great Ocean Rd., they had recommendations for us about routes to take and interesting places to stop, some of which we took advantage of and which we appreciated. The room at Simpson's was spacious, clean and quiet. A balcony looked out over Challis St. and owing to the plantings along the front of the hotel, we seemed to be somewhere other than in a major world city. Probably could have found less expensive accommodations but probably none as comfortable and with such pleasant, caring hosts.

    • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Lawrence R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

    Thankyou for this well thought out Review, and for the kind comments.

    There is no doubt that Potts Point is a convenient and interesting neighbourhood, and we never tire of the lovely walk along the Harbour and into the City.

    We are glad that these guests enjoyed some of our recommendtaions. It is certainly helpful to have some local knowledge!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 January 2013

    My 10 day stay at Simpsons Hotel in Sydney was an absolute delight! The owners, Keith and Marie, and their staff were personable, helpful, and thoughtful, greeting each guest with a warm welcome and a cup of tea. Each day, they checked with their guests, giving useful suggestions & maps, and information.
    The continental breakfast was ample (including homemade rhubarb, rasberry, apple sauce) and my room and bath were charming, spacious, and comfortable. The hotel retains its charm as an old mansion (about 1882), but, of course, is fully modernized.
    On New Years Eve, they gave me a bottle of champaigne & hosted a party for the guests at another lovely home - to see the magnificent world famous fireworks.
    Such Fun! So Gracious! I will certainly return to Simpson's Hotel on future trips.

    • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank julieDawsonartist
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

    What a gracious lady was this lovely guest from Michigan. We thoughly enjoyed every minute of her stay, full of interesting stories and experiences. We do hope that she comes to visit us again.

    She had several friends who live nearby, and it was fun for us to see them showing her around our lovely city, and local neighbourhood.

    Julie was a great adventurer and we enjoyed each morning hearing her thoughtful opinion on the latest, of many, local restaurants that she dined at the previous day. One of the benefits of staying in Potts Point is the very large choice of great restaurants and cafes, to suit all tastes and budgets.

    There is no doubt that Australia has, of recent times become more expensive to visit, as a result both of the depreciation of the U.S. dollar (and of most other major currencies), compared to the AUD., and also the high wages that are paid in the hospitality industry. However, there are still plenty of great restaurants, bars and cafes that offer good value, great local and local atmosphere, and we can help by pointing guests in the right direction!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 January 2013

    We found Simpson's at Potts Point on the net along with many other B&Bs as we searched for a place to stay during our visit to Sydney. Somehow, Simpson's leaped out at us and subsequently we found ourselves coming back again and again to it till we finally decided that this was the place for us - and we were not disappointed. From the word go we had the most wonderfully friendly and charming experience ever. We had a cute dormer room and the hosts were perfect - saw to our every comfort without being seen themselves. Ree and Damien made us feel settled instantly and were very helpful in giving us directions. Breakfast was sumptuous without being heavy and the room was cosy and fitted with everything we might have needed. Quaint, old-worldly, completely charming and brilliantly located. Definitely worth many more stays...

    • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank lizgupta
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

    Thankyou for this thoughtfully written Review. We enjoyed hearing the compliments!

    We would like to think that these guests description accurately summarises our lovely old home, the great neighbourhood that we live in, and our (hopefully) helpful staff !

    "Simpsons" is not for everyone, as we do not have all the facilities, nor the state of the art decor of the large chain hotels in the C.B.D., but we hope that the ambience of our Victorian mansion and that of the Potts Point area, and our personal service, make up for any other perceived deficencies!

    We are glad that most guests seem to enjoy their stays with us, but as we note from some of the slightly negative Reviews (luckily not too many!), there are some aspects of "Simpsons" that do not suit everyone. We do welcome constructive criticism, and try to address any of these issues as far as we can.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 January 2013

    From the moment we arrived to be greeted by Keith with his old fashioned gentlemanly manners and attention to detail and given the guided tour of the hotel we knew we were in for a great stay! The delightful sitting room at front of house with complimentary sherry and brandy and great collection of books to the quaint dining room at rear of the house, serving up lovely breakfast each morning to our room with old fashioned furnishings and fittings complimenting the house - all very impressive. The highlight was being invited to the Chef Damiens place to watch the New Years fireworks - was a lovely thing to do. And finally - location, location! One of the best streets to be based in at Potts Point - restaurants and bars very close and good walking distance to Sydney Opera House and Bridge etc. Highly recommend to anyone.

    • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Sarah H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

    What a nice Review. Thankyou for your kind words!

    This family had come all the way from Darwin, and met their mother from Canberra, so it was a real Family re-union, meeting half way across the country!

    We are glad that they enjoyed our interesting Potts Point neighbourhood, with its eclectic residents and tourists alike, and its great little cafes, bars and restaurants.

    A wonderful New York style cocktail and tapas bar, "Monopole", has just opened around the corner, as a welcome addition to other elegant, nearby, small bars like "Roosevelt" and " Velluto" and "Bootleg".

    No shortage of eateries or "watering holes" in this area!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews