We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place - highly recommended” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel
Ranked #24 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place - highly recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Simpsons was great. Very friendly and the owners were extremely helpful, providing a very handy 'oreintation' session and recommending restaurants and walks. It's not in the CBD but the walk into the city is lovely (takes around 10-15 minutes) and the hotel is near plenty of bars and restaurants in any case. Highly recommended, especially given the prices of some of the larger hotels, where the service would not be as good. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NutsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
We do enjoy making suggestions to our guests (especially those from overseas, or otherwise not familiar with Sydney) as to how they can see the most our beautiful City within their limited time.

We have a few favourite itineraries, usually including a trip on our Sydney Harbour, and walks around the foreshore.

And, as these guests mention, we are only a short wlak into the C.B.D., which is in itself a very pleasant walk.

Again, we are very gratified when a Reviewer advises that they would stay with us again! No greater compliment to an Innkeeper than a returning guest !!

Thankyou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    156
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
112
551
74
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

I can’t believe that anyone would have any complaints about Simpson’s of Potts Point. I know, everyone has a focus area, but you can’t please every single whim, and I think that they did a very good job of taking care of what should be important. I’ve read the other reviews, and to say that this place is expensive is ridiculous! From a tourist’s perspective it is conveniently located; the breakfasts are more than sufficient; the beds are very comfortable, and the character of the hotel and the helpfulness (and character) of those who run it exceeded my expectations. I haven’t written many trip advisor reports before, and perhaps I should have, but I have travelled the world and stayed in many of the highest rated Bed and Breakfast hotels. All B&Bs have their strong and weak points. I believe that Simpson’s of Potts Point took very good care of what a B&B should be strong at. I thoroughly enjoyed our hosts – Ree and Keith. They did everything they could to make sure that all needs were taken care of. I loved the location and wouldn’t even consider looking for something better on a return trip to Sydney. Thank you for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MtnLady49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
WoW !

How good is that!

It is always uplifting to receive compliments, and we are very appreciative of this Guest's very kind words, and are also very glad indeed that she obviously enjoyed her stay in Potts Point, and at "Simpsons".

As I have said before, we think Potts Point is a very pleasant neighbourhood, and a good place to stay if you do not need to be right in the middle of the commercial business district. After all, there is more to any city than just its core CBD, and we always enjoy "living with the locals" when we travel.

Again, as I have said before, "Simpsons" is not perfect, and does not suit every traveller; some guests need the more extensive facilities of a large chain hotel. Also our decor is more "old fashioned", in a pleasant "lived-in" way, but we certainly have all the necessary creature comforts to make a stay with us comfortable and we hope enjoyable.

We are lucky to have loyal and dedicated staff, who all do their best to keep things "on top", as far as one can in a 120-year-old building. And we all enjoy trying to show our guests the best that Sydney has to offer.

Because of the rise in the Aussie dollar against other major currencies in recent years, and the high cost of labour, Australia has become a more expensive country to visit than in years past, but a recent survey did indicate that Sydney hotel prices do compare favourably with other major international cities.

Once again,our thanks ot this Reviewer for her very kind words. Obviously we are doing something right (at least for some of the time !!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

First visited Sydney in 2008 and chose Simpsons from among others. We were not disappointed. Friendly and very helpful hosts (nothing is too much trouble). Great location for exploring the city.
Made a return visit to Sydney February 2012 - there was only one place to stay: Simpsons.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScotlandPickwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
The greatest compliment to a hotelier is to have return guests !

We remember these lovely Scottish guests well, and we are very glad that they also remembered us.

Thankyou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Very nice and cozy place, centrally located, several nice restaurant near by, personal touch in terms of atmosphere and reception.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markus_ohlig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
There is no doubt that Potts Point deserves its nickname as "Sydney Restaurant Headquarters"!

Within a five-minutes walk from "Simpsons" there are over thirty cafes and restaurants, catering to all tastes and budgets.

In Challis Avenue alone there are five well regarded places. We have several favourite ones; modern Australian, seafood, Italian, Thai, Japanese, and we are always happy to offer recommendations. One thing is for sure, our guests will never go hungry in Potts Point !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We had a short city break to Sydney and staying at Simpsons was great - a very personal, friendly approach which is hard to find in a big city. The location is great for getting to the city centre. The hotel is in a quiet area and is close to shops / cafes but not noisy at night. All in all a fantastic place to stay in Sydney with superb customer service.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller2336056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
We always appreciate it when guests take the time to write a Review, as it does help future enquirers to get an idea of us, especially when combined with our website and video.

Potts Point is an eclectic, friendly area, with all the neighbourhood conveniences; supermarket, corner stores, delicatessens, banks, laundries, etc. as well as interesting little boutiques and shops, and a myriad of cafes and restaurants.

We are the closest suburb to the City, a pleasant 20-minutes stroll along the water and through the Domain Park, past the very popular Art Gallery of N.S.W. which offers free admission to its broad display of Australian and European Art, as well as interesting special visiting exhibits (the major Picasso exhibition has recently finished).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 178 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel

Property: Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel
Address: 8 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#5 Business Hotel in Sydney
#8 Family Hotel in Sydney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): $242 - $952
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Simpsons" is an intimate 12 - room B&B boutique hotel, situated within a restored 1892 Victorian mansion, and is very centrally located in leafy tree-lined Potts Point, a vibrant and cosmopolitan area, being the closest suburb east of the City, with many interesting restaurants, bars, galleries and cafes nearby, yet only a 20 minute walk to the beauty of Sydney Harbour and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Simpsons Of Potts Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing