We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel in a central local”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Grace Hotel Sydney
Ranked #17 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Spain
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A good hotel in a central local”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at The Grace Hotel and after a difficult start, we found the hotel to be very good. We were travelling with another couple, on a tour of Australia, and because we flew from Cairns to Sydney, we didn't arrive at the hotel until quite late in the afternoon.

On our arrival we were told that we had been allocated rooms 909 and 536. Now, it was obvious that we were couples travelling together because our bookings were made under one reference. So why had we been given rooms 4 floors apart? We had made a request via our travel agent for "hight floors and kingsized beds". When we questioned why weren't allocated rooms together, both on high floors, we were told, quite bluntly that these were the only rooms left as the hotel was "very busy".

Our friends had room 909, which they were happy with and which overlooked the street. However, room 536 faced onto the inner square of the hotel and looked directly into brick walls and the windows of other rooms. There was no natural light to speak of and the room was dark and claustrophobic. We went back to the reception immediately and complained. We were told that we could change rooms the next day and that if we left our luggage packed, the staff would move it for us.

This was done and we moved to room 835, which was a very good room, with nice big windows, overlooking York Street. Had this been our room in the first instance, we would not have had cause to complain.

The both our rooms were large and very comfortable. We had a walk in shower in our room, whilst room 909 had a bath with a shower attachment. We were all happy with the cleanliness and overall condition of both rooms.

The breakfast at the Grace was excellent. There were lots of choices in both the continental and the cooked breakfast. There is a chef for "cooked to order" eggs and omelets and their honey yoghurt was to die for!

The Grace Hotel itself is beautiful throughout and the only negative I would say is that it is a rather impersonal hotel. The staff are polite, but with the exception of the consierge team, not very friendly. The location of the hotel is very good, within 10 minutes walk of Darling Harbour, and probably only 15 or 20 minutes walk to Sydney Harbour. There are bars and restaurants close by and I would recommend PJ O'Brians Restaurant which is actually on the hotel complex. Very good food, lovely staff and great value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a street view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-in-Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,702
    1,951
    447
    116
    67
See reviews for
729
2,117
346
1,392
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

This majestic old building is a great place to stay to discover Sydney. It's a short stroll (keep in mind that the city is not flat so a steep climb every now and then is to be expected) from the Aquarium and the waterfront restaurants.

The breakfast buffet is good with a variety of fresh fruits and bakery items available. However there are juice and coffee bars virtually next doorif you preferwaking up in the city.

The building itself is an old majestic tower which offers nice views from its top floor gym/spa. The rooms are decent and quite large although a bit old fashioned. The reception staff were friendly enough to make this stay an enjoyable one if you can get your hands on a cheap internet deal.

Room Tip: Top floors means better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

I stayed here last weekend with my sister as we we in Sydney to see Love Never Dies. I booked through Travelmate and got a great rate considering it was Mardi Gras weekend.

My flight arrived early morning and I was at the hotel via Train from domestic terminal to Wynard Station with a quick 5 to 10 minute flat walk to the Graces front door by 9am. I was expecting to store my bags but the lovely lady at reception checked me in to a room straight away! Now, that's wonderful service and a pleasant suprise!

The room was very big, lovely modern, and well furnished. The bathroom although had no bath, had a fantastic hard pressured shower which I enjoyed! We found the location great and a quick 5 minute walk to the QVB, and considering it was a Saturday night, it was very quiet.

Breakfast was included in our rate, and had all the norm, fresh fruits, cereals, egg station, newspapers and we found the customer service top notch.

A great location, and only about 20 minute walk to the Capitol Theatre.

I normally stay at 4.5 to 5 star hotels only, and tired of paying top dollar for a lovely room but terrible service and long waits......The Grace I believe is a hidden gem not discovered by the masses thankfully!

The Grace is a beautifully renovated graceful old building which has been turned into a great
hotel. I travel frequently, and was surprised too at last find a hotel in Sydney where customers are appreciated and valued........I will be back for sure!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luclen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed at the Grace for 3 nights during a conference, obtained a good rate inclusive of breakfast through wotif. The hotel is in a good location on york street, so 15 mins to Darling harbour, 5 mins to pitt street shops. The hotel is a heritage building in an art deco style. I stayed in a refurbished king room, which was spotlessly clean, however, the art deco style of the furnishings mean it could easily look tired in a year or two. The bathroom was pretty small for a 4 star hotel, with no bath and just a shower (although was a powerful shower which was good). The room overall was small, but is fine for a couple of nights, especially as I was travelling alone.

The location of the room in the heart of the city does mean that there is a lot of street noise at night, so I did get woken up early with traffic noise. The other key drawback of the room was that the aircon was very loud, so you could not have it on when you are sleeping, making the room a bit stuffy.

I used the hotel pool, which again was spotless, but you could not have more than two people in the pool doing laps. Hotel gym was small, but had bike, XT, rower, runner and some dumbells.

The hotel breakfast was pretty standard for a 4 star with good hot and cold options and an egg chef.

Overall, if you get a good rate for the hotel and are only staying for a couple of nights and are not bothered about the drawbacks I mentioned you will be fine. I do think that there are better options in the price range in Sydney though.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princess3016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We arrived early (8am) after an exhausting previous night; we checked in hoping to be able to leave our bags somewhere secure at the hotel until our room was ready and were told we could access our room immediately which was a very pleasant bonus. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet (8th floor on a Sat night); exactly what you would expect from this standard of hotel. The hotel is centrally located in the CBD so is surrounded by shops and eateries. Buffet breakfast at the "Grace Brasserie" had good variety - again pretty much standard for the quality of hotel. Reception, concierge and restaurant staff were all helpful, friendly and polite.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dskwm_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grace Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grace Hotel Sydney

Property: The Grace Hotel Sydney
Address: 77 York Street | corner of York & King Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#24 Family Hotel in Sydney
#34 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): $210 - $381
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grace Hotel Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sydney from its heart at The Grace Hotel and be steps away from Darling Harbour and King Street Wharf, plus the best shopping, theatres and entertainment on offer. Standing beautifully restored today, the heritage listed 4 1/2 star Grace Hotel offers warm, personalised service and a unique blend of Art Deco charm and contemporary elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Hotelopia so you can book your The Grace Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Grace Hotel
Grace Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing