We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #95 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
108 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. I stayed for a week leading up to Easter. The standard room on the 12th floor was a good size and clean. The rooms were quiet which was great as the hotel was full. Staff were very friendly and accommodating.

The hotel was a 20 mins walk to Darling Harbour and a little longer to the Opera House but that did not bother me. At night I did not feel concerned when walking back from Darling Harbour.

The internet which is payable at reception is slow and there is often a long waiting line to use it at peak times. But that is the only downside to a good budget hotel in the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracie0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi278, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney. I was delighted to read that you found the team to be friendly and accommodating and that you found the hotel to be a good budget hotel in the city centre with a good size clean room.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    1,963
    1,155
    365
    234
See reviews for
924
1,433
566
710
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed 3 nights in Febuary. Good value hotel by Sydney standards. Reasonable room, well equipped. Walking distance from Darling Harbour. Reception helpful. Beware prices in little convenience store across the road. Rather find the Coles supermarket a bit further away.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi278, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney. I was delighted to read that you found the team to be helpful and that you found the rooms to be well equipped.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pluak Daeng, Thailand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I stayed in the Travelodge the first time in Sydney. The check in staff was friendly and helpful and everything went smoothly.
The room was ok. The aircondition of older age, the beds ok. It was only a twin room and the beds are only 190 cm long, which is too small for me. But I was sleeping ok.
The hotel itself is located very conveniently located. The CBD district, Haymarket and most of the attraction are close by. The train station "Museum" is 5 minutes away.
As I stayed there for 3 nights I had as well the pleasure to experience the housekeeping and the cleaning of the rooms. It seems to me that the bathroom as well as the floor of the rooms have not been cleaned within this time. I do not want to go in anymore details but I checked out and went to a different hotel.
My conclusion. If you like to book a room in a good located hotel and do not mind the non cleaning then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TobiasML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi278, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney. I was delighted to read that you found the team to be friendly and helpful also that you enjoyed the location of the hotel for exploring Sydney.

Thank you also for your feedback in regards to the cleaning, I have addressed this with the housekeeping department. I wanted to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed 4 nights in March and good value hotel in excellent location handy for visiting all parts of Sydney.
Nice room on 17th floor with great views of city and coin operated laundry available on certain floors.Reception area gets very crowded some days with tour parties and special area needed to accomodate these groups.Local brewpub across street with cheap beer during "happy hour" and live music some nights.
Short walk to train station,Paddys Market and Darling Harbour passing through Chinatown with many restaurants to choose from.
Tip get all all day travel pass for about $20 from railway station which is valid for all buses, trains and ferries and go over to Manly beach and back into Darling Harbour using train to get to Circular Quay for ferries.
For car hire nearby William Street has all usual companies on it but prior book on internet to get best rates-try Oodle.com -they were brilliant and we also used them in Cairns.

Room Tip: Try and get a high floor as some pubs nearby can get noisy late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarrogateJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi278, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney. I was delighted to read that you found the hotel to be good value and in an excellent location to explore Sydney.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
360 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

This is a pretty basic hotel but they do it well. The check in staff were fantastic, I had problems with my booking (travel agents fault) and they fixed it up and dealt with it very promptly.
The room is basic with a little kitchenette, large bathroom, flat screen TV, couch and comfortable bed so I really have no major complaints here.
There is no restaurant for lunch/dinners and no room service which, for me was a tad annoying when travelling alone on business for 5 days but there are plenty of takeaway options around the hotel. They have a breakfast which is very no frills but OK. This hotel seems to be very popular with tour groups so get in early! Also allow time for check out if catching a flight in case you try and check out at the same time as a tour group.
Wi-Fi was available in the rooms for a cost of $20 for 24hrs and was fast.

Location is OK, across from Hyde Park and close to the colourful Oxford Street. It was only a 20min walk to Pitt Street Mall and an easy stroll to the Museum, Barracks and about 30min stroll to the Circular Quay.

Overall, I prefer to be a bit more central but if the price is right (like it was in this case) I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep in ask to be in a room away from the housekeeping room on your floor as they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_WLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi278, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney. I was delighted to read that you found the team to be helpful when you had problems with your booking and that you enjoyed the facilities the room has to offer.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#102 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#76 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#69 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,794 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Sydney

Property: Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Address: 27 Wentworth Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price range (per night): $130 - $304
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travelodge Hotel Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Wotif.com and Odigeo so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing