We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I said we will be back, and we have been - twice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Ranked #77 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I said we will be back, and we have been - twice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

This is an excellent location with helpful, pleasant reception staff. No fuss this time when we asked to change from twin beds to queen, personal escort to ensure we were happy with our new room. We have travelled extensively here and overseas - if this sort of reasonable, clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation was available in most CBDs we would be most happy. There is everything one needs and if I wanted larger wardrobe space and larger room in similar location I would expect to pay more. The club in same building makes it easy to get a meal, the convenience store is a couple of doors away, cafes abound nearby. It is close to Macquarie streets medical specialists and this made it easy for my husband to walk to and from after day surgery, and was a quiet room for him to rest and recover. This is a good hotel where location, location, location is everything. We hope (medically), we won't be back for that reason but we know where it is for another reason. Thank you!!

Room Tip: Ground floor or good lifts for elderly or infirm If unhappy with room speak up in respectful ways...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peachtreejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear peachtreejan,

Thank you for your positive TripAdvisor review, we appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback and are delighted that you enjoy staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    744
    285
    87
    41
See reviews for
255
526
177
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Philip St Travelodge for an extra long weekend in Jan 2012.
We had a few initial problems upon checking as they didn't have a twin room prepared only doubles. The reception staff were most accommodationg and personally went up to sort out our room so we could check in.
The room was a decent size with comfortable beds, a great bathroom and fabulous shower. It isn't 5 star luxury but it was clean, relatively spacious and very comfortable.
All up for the great location central in the Sydney CBD and the incredibly reasonable price this was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a room facing out onto the street, although there did appear also to be room facing into a ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaA78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear FionaA78,

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback and I am sorry to hear that you had some problems when you checked into the hotel, however I am glad the Front Desk Team were able to resolve this for you and that you enjoyed the remainder of your stay.

Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

The receptionist was extremely friendly and it is in a great location for business in the CBD but the room is extremely small, with an even smaller bed. No room for all of the clothes, forcing me to keep clothes in suitcase and wrinkled. The breakfast is overpriced and the "access to gym" costs $15 a day. The wifi is expensive and slow and they offer maybe 5 channels on TV. Asked for dry cleaning service and it is highly overpriced. Might as well stay at nicer hotel because overall costs will be the same. Very disappointed with my stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickMNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear NickMNJ,

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry that there were aspects of your stay and room that you did not meet your expectations. I disappointed to hear that you found our prices expensive as we do endeavor to maintain value for money for our guests when providing additional services. Our breakfast currently costs $14.50 which includes a continental buffet, bacon, eggs, tomatoes and toast and tea and coffee. We offer two forms of internet access either the convenience of Wifi in the room at a cost of $19.95 for 24 hours or for the budget minded a coin operated internet kiosk costing $2 for 20 minutes of access. The $15 Gym charge does allow our guests access to an extensive array of exercise equipment, a large free weights area, an aerobics floor and at least 2 – 3 trained instructors on-site at any one time, we believe this is great value for the services on offer in the gym. At this stage we offer 10 TV channels in the rooms (including 5 free Foxtel channels) and are currently in the process of adding additional channels in the near future. Once again thank you for your feedback we are always striving to improve our hotel product and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

A central comfortable clean hotel with helpful informative staff, very thoughtful,as well as the tea/coffee/sweetner sachets, there was washing liquid /tea towel/dish cloth, so with the local supermarket 2 mins away and the microwave you could easily become self catering! we considered it in this very EXPENSIVE city! we stored our cases when we booked out for 5 hours before we headed off to our cruise, and they stored them again on our return for 6 hours (2 weeks later) before we went to the airport!! now some hotels charge to store your cases if you turn up EARLY for your room! within the hotel was NSW bistro .. umm cheap n cheerful, we had breakfast there once, but its good to have the option available. I was very impressed with this hotel, the room was spacious, the bathroom was modern/clean and of a reasonable size, I will recommend it to my family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spirited74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear spirited74,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back if you visit Sydney again.

Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke Mandeville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

This hotel is situated in a central position to visit all the attractions most only 10 to 15 mins walk
The bistro on the ground floor offers good value for food Steak and chips $10 and the NSW Club offers inexpensive drinks Staff very helpful, rooms clean and well equiped. First room we were offered had a dripping noise but without hesitation changed it.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front of building otherwise you look over courtyard rooms only start at 6th le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soloszy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear soloszy,

Thank you for your positive TripAdvisor review, we appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#97 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#45 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#69 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,847 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place

Property: Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Address: 165 Phillip Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Price range (per night): $153 - $280
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place is in the heart of the city’s CBD, close to Hyde Park and many of Sydney’s major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Toga Hotels, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Sydney
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travel Lodge
Sydney Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing