We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous! We will return”
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #32 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous! We will return”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful trip to Sydney where we stayed at The Westin.
Everything was great about this hotel, we were warmly welcomed, the room was modern and spacious, the gymnasium was cutting edge, the breakfast was super healthy with great variety,
the 'Caesar Salad' in the lobby bar was one of the best I have ever had and we are restauranteurs in the industry. Concierge were very informative and recommended EST Restaurant which was exquisite in every way.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, at the moment they have standby transfers to the airport which are $50 inste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,700
    933
    267
    115
    90
See reviews for
496
1,096
234
898
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed here for around 2 nights and we had great service as soon as we got to the door. The building itself is beautiful as its located within the old General Post Office, so its a great mix of old and new architecture.
We stayed in a heritage room which was beautiful, with high ceilings, spacious and the bathroom was beautiful and spotless! Seperate bath and shower, and the toilt was closed off by glass door as well within the bathroom. I loved it! I also found out they had interconnecting rooms as well which would be great for big families.
It was in a great location, about a 7minute walk to new Pitt St Westfield mall and other shops/restaurants, and also not far from Sydney Tourist attractions like the opera house, harbour bridge etc.
The beds were really comfortable, maybe a bit too soft for me, but sheets were great and good quality.
Definitely would come back again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seli009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
103 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We spent 3 nights at the hotel which was located in downtown area next to all shopping malls. Though our room was on 3/fl it was very quiet. The room was very big and comfortable of about 450 sq ft. The 'Mosaic' restaurant for breakfast creates a relaxing ambience and the breakfast was impressive with many choices of hot and cold dishes, various types of fresh fruits and juices. Service was excellent and we find it very enjoyable and convenient to stay in this hotel. I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonnieHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beds
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My first trip to Sydney and I arrived 6am expecting to use the fitness room to change and refresh at best. I was so pleased to be given a room immediately and this set the tone for an excellent stay at the Westin.
During my 6 nights there I had only one complaint (below), the staff were excellent, food quality high, rooms very clean, modern and well equiped. Often fitness rooms are basic however this is a fully equiped gymn being externally managed and used by locals.
The location is exceptional for exploring Sydney being within walking distance of all the well known sites.
For runners there are more than enough options. You can run from the hotel to hyde park, through the botanical gardens, round the opera house, through circular key, under the harbour bridge and down to darling harbour. Run back the same way and you will have done 20k - back to the hotel without reversing the route and you have a good 12k.
The only complaint - the bar closes early in the evening despite loads of guests being around. I expect hotels of this level to cater for the normal post evening meal drinks which sometimes tend to drift into the early hours - this was not possible as the bar closed around 11:30 (just when we were getting back).
Final tip - great coffee from the concession area at the far right of the lobby, buy one and take up to breakfast as the coffee there is not nearly as good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonsBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We recently completed a two night stay at the Westin in Sydney. The hotel is well located within the old General Post Office (GPO) building giving it the ability to be called the most central hotel in Sydney. A recommended option for business and possibly right for couples too although there are some small drawbacks to staying here as detailed below.

As mentioned location is king to picking this hotel. If difficult to be more in the heart of the city. If you are looking for views however you may want to look elsewhere - there are some interesting angles of the city from its heart but you wont catch much in terms of the harbour or some of Sydney's other icons. (For this look to the harbour front hotels in the Rocks and Circular Quay or head to the inner East).

We travelled here by cab but could have easily caught a train, monorail or bus. You are able to cover every corner of the city itself by foot too.

The hotel has a Manhattan feel about it due in part to its location but also a great interior. The lounge bar and restaurants (both hotel's and those in the same building) are fun and high quality (you do pay accordingly but there are hundreds of options near by so don't be put off). Free wifi for hotel guests in the lounge too made this a lovely place to hangout for an hour or two. The hotel gives free access to a gym in the same building that is an independent business meaning that its a full service gym including an indoor pool but be warned - go at the same time as the business executives that work in the City and you will feel out of place and crowded. If you are happy and free to go at other times you will fee spoilt. Otherwise my only last watch out is that this building is shared by corporate offices of investment bankers - overall you don't notice except at 8:45am and 5pm when you share quite a lot of lift-traffic.

In the evenings the bar area seemed quiet with more happening in neighbouring bars and restaurants. It would have been nice to have more incentive to hang out in the food and beverage spaces.

The rooms are well sized by far from large. There are two distinct room types - those on the lower floors (in the old building) and those in the tower (new building) where we were. The tower seems more desirable but I suspect there are actually some fantastic rooms below. Rooms have the signature Westin soft features and the bathroom has the glass wall to living area which does provide natural light to the bathroom but otherwise seems like a poor choice more suited to a resort with ocean views. Room was very clean with excellent minibar and coffee services, pillows and ironing board.

Only downside to the lobby is that checkin is not clearly placed or eye catching. Likewise staff are often busy and while they do their best to be helpful and efficient, I did find it hard to get the eye contact of some of the staff at the check-in desk. So don't hold back and wait for them to find you as you may end of waiting a while. (Some small constructions suggest that the Westin team are working to improve this).

So should you like your city hotels Manhattan-style then this is probably a winner for you in Sydney. I very much welcome the opportunity to stay again but for some the styling might be cold and not as personal as you would want. I would be cautious about taking a family break here. Weekend packages for couples would be very recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jab513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,195 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#14 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Property: The Westin Sydney
Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): $217 - $592
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing