We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Still good after 10 years” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #30 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Still good after 10 years”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

I've been staying here basically since the place opened and it's never disappointed. Good location on Martin Place and in the middle of everything, very comfortable rooms of a decent size and the beds are great. Staff are good and generally helpful and the Club lounge is comfortable and well stocked with a board room up there if you want to use it.

The bar has a nice buzz about it without being packed and the restaurant delivers solid food at a reasonable price.

There are better locations with views of the bridge and harbour and so if that's what you are looking for then the Shangri-la and Four Seasons and definitely the Park Hyatt are better choices but expect the price to go up. For business it's hard to beat the value for money and convenience the Westin offers and I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Generally all the rooms are good, the heritage rooms can be a little dark as you are on a low floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,608
    881
    247
    104
    81
See reviews for
452
1,036
225
851
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

The Westin is an amazing hotel in an amazing location. The staff are very friendly and approachable. Even though the hotel it self does not have a day spa. There is an endota spa in the same building - you just have to look. Our room was clean and absolutley no problems. Everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Would reccommend highly.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lola2590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed in a club room - hard to fault - clean, smart, super rain-shower and large tub. However, not the place to share with a colleague or someone you don't know well as the bathroom in this room type is pretty open-plan and you will know if someone is on the loo! That aside you'll probably be hard-pressed to find a better commercial hotel. Club comes with very good breakfast, alcoholic drinks from 6pm- 8pm and canapes (not the best in class). Wifi is also available to club members but only in the lounge - you pay extra in room. Beer from $10 seems to be typical of Sydney.

Concierge helpful and staff in club very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ECAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

The Westin is in a great location if you want to shop at the new Westfield Mall and the QVB, the rooms are very large and spacious, however parking is horrendous, its $59 per night, next time i'll park down the road a little bit at one of the Wilson parking stations for less than half of that. We had breckie and it was lovely, nice amenities in the room, and we were on the 8th floor and it was quiet.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wraith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

I was sceptical due to the reviews here when I booked the Westin.
But the Westin truely is a great hotel. Rooms are modern and very spacious (I stayed in room 1311, a nice corner room with windows on 2 sides at the end of the hallway, which made it really quiet) and very nicely decorated. The location is perfect if you want to explore the city. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. I stayed there when I came to Sydney, and checked a few other hotels while I was in the city. But for the last days of my trip I booked the Westin again. I think there is no better place to stay in Sydney.

Room Tip: I had corner room with windows on 2, and those rooms are very big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank german2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#27 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,811 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,062 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Property: The Westin Sydney
Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): $252 - $740
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Starwood APAC, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing