We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,685)
Filter reviews
2,686 results
Traveller rating
1,008
1,097
376
128
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,008
1,097
376
128
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews opera house circular quay great location cruise ship overseas passenger terminal studio room kitchen area small kitchen harbour view circular key bit dated easy walk an upgrade would stay again great room public transport central location
Filter
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 2,686 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights from 1/4-5/4. Allocated room 313 which didn’t have any kind of city view but we didn’t miss that as we explored the city utilising the various transport options available.

Check in was swift, staff very obliging & helpful, thanks to Makena, Natalie, & Shakaib when we had questions or a problem with a tour, Ethan in particular was so accommodating.

The rooms are a little tired & could do with a spruce up in areas but they are really clean, with a great self contained kitchen area that provides for all your needs & the most comfortable of beds. My only observation here is there is no need to change the towels daily, please think of the environment, also consider a separate bin for recycled products, we left these on the counter top in the hope they’d be recycled.

The hotel does have a small pool & spa on site but doesn’t offer breakfast this is in another building with a separate charge, this didn’t bother us, as it allowed us the opportunity to sample food from different places. The hotel provides a Nespresso coffee machine in the foyer for customers to use & there is a nice seating area too, they also stored our luggage all day until the airport transfer arrived.

In terms of location, it’s right on the Rocks & if you walk down the flight of stairs directly opposite turn right & walk about 100 metres, the ferry terminal is to your left, providing easy access to the Opera House, Botanical Gardens or trains for exploring, if you do intend to explore, get an Opal Card, it’s excellent value for money. Following the same directions you could call into Sydney’s oldest pub Fortune of War, great vibe, music & service!

Only other thing to mention is there are 2 hotels of the same name, the other Rendezvous being in Central, this caused us a major headache when taking a tour as the tour company messed up big style, pick up was supposed to be at our hotel but was changed to the Mercury which is next to the one in Central so we missed it, please ensure you don’t fall foul of this & confirm any pick ups accordingly & don’t be afraid to challenge. It’s 2 stops away or a good 45 minute walk to get to the other one.

We are planning a return visit & we will definitely be coming back to this hotel , thank you to everyone for being so friendly .

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SharonJT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam S, Assistant Hotel Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear SharonJT67,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your recent stay at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks.

I'm so glad to hear that Makena, Ethan, Shakaib, Natalie and the rest of the team were so helpful throughout your stay with us. They are an amazing part of the team and I'll be sure to share your comments with them.

Thank you once again for the fantastic review! We cannot wait to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Rendezvous in the future.

Kind regards,
Liam Schutz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

The Rocks is a great place to stay and the Rendezvous has to be best placed. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the opera house and harbour bridge, absolutely stunning. The hotel was very comfortable, clean and good facilities. Very helpful staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam S, Assistant Hotel Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Hi Christine S,

Thank you for taking the time to review us at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks.

I'm glad to hear that you were able to soak in those amazing Harbour Views!

We cannot wait to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Rendezvous in the future.

Thank you once again for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks.

Kind regards,
Liam Schutz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Perfect location, simple hotel but with everything you need and with a perfect view on harbour bridge and opera house - if you have the right room. Very friendly service and a little bit unusual but mageable breakfast service in a nearby shopping center

Room Tip: Take a room with harbour view
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam S, Assistant Hotel Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Hi Thomas G,

Wow! Thank you so much for the glowing review! I'm glad to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us. I'll be sure to share your comments with the team.

Thank you once again, and we hope to see you again next time you're in Sydney!

Kind regards,
Liam Schutz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

The location is definitely the best part of this hotel. The rooms are old, worn out and certainly not reflective of the price. I didn’t receive the room I had booked which was disappointing even though I had booked 8 months in advance. The manager did contact me to apologise at around 8pm on our final night.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EB0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam S, Assistant Hotel Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Good afternoon EB0109,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us.

Due to some last minute, unforeseen changes in the room allocation, we had to change your room from the twin room that was originally booked. In this case, the Duty Manager was unable to get in contact with you until the following day, however this was mentioned when you checked into the hotel.

I hope this did not dampen your experience in Sydney, and I would like to assure you this is not the standard we expect at the hotel. If you are travelling in Sydney again, we would love to be given a second chance, to show you the true Rendezvous experience.

Thank you once again for sharing your comments, and if you do wish to discuss anything further please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,
Liam Schutz
lschutz@rendezvoushotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Helpful staff. Nice pool and spa area. No bar or breakfast or meals.
Very clean but room was showing signs of wear and tear and old age.
View of harbour is only from 5th? or 6th floors.
Great location.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lucky Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam S, Assistant Hotel Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Good afternoon Lucky Phil A,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. You would be right in saying our Harbour View rooms are only located on the 5th and 6th floors as they are high up enough to see over the buildings.

Thanks again for the review and I hope you have a great day!

Kind regards,
Liam Schutz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews