We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location/views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks
Ranked #51 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic location/views”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in Sydney at this hotel in the Rocks area. We booked a room with a balcony and view of Opera House and Bridge. We were not disappointed, the view was fantastic and few other hotels can have a similar view with a balcony.
Perfect position in the Rocks area.
The hotel room itself was smallish, but adequate. Bed comfortable, but queen size. The hotel is due a makeover and will make it a very desirable location.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    757
    858
    280
    94
    57
See reviews for
394
1,101
88
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom suite on the first floor over Easter and loved the location of the hotel. We had a full itinerary planned with trips to Taronga Zoo and Manly as well as Darling Harbour and Powerhouse mueseum. Our kids are 3 and 4 so being so close to Circular Quay made walking to the ferries and back much easier. There were a number of restaurants and cafes within easy walking distance and the Sunday markets had lots of food stalls too which were very interesting. As for the hotel itself, it was adequate for the purpose we had picked it for, that is, a place to sleep after a long day of touring. The room seemed very dated and the pull out sofa bed was the worst example of its type I have ever encountered. The place was clean though and it had a kitchenette which was very handy for those travelling with children. The pool and spa area was quite nice and we used it a couple of times to wind down after a big day of touring. There was a coin operated guest laundry onsite too, again very handy when travelling with small children. The staff were always polite and helpful and the three hours free wi fi per day was very useful too. This hotel is ideal if you're not planning to spend a lot of time in your room and the location more than compensates for any deficiencies.

Room Tip: Probably avoid rooms on the first floor if you can. Thats where the laundry is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeLive2Travel_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Hello,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences of Sydney and our hotel and we are glad you were pleased with the location and staff.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012 via mobile

Great location in the heart of the Rocks in Sydney. Walking distance to the opera house, harbour bridge & everything else circular quay has to offer!
We had two rooms for our stay, one room was on level 1 with no view but was still clean & comfortable, the second room was a level 9 apartment... This room was excellent with views of circular quay.

The hotel staff are very friendly and do their best to ensure an enjoyable stay.

Stayed December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Shaunwaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Hello,
We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in the Rocks. We thank you for your positive comments in reference to the efforts from our staff and the hotel location.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I love the smiles every staff I've encountered provided and I like the free flow of apples available at the reception.

Stayed in Harbour View Studio Apartment. Like most apartments, it had full kitchen facilities - microwave oven, bread toaster oven, utensils, basic pots and pans, cutlery etc on top of a fully functional fridge and bar. What I liked: the equipment were clean. There was also a relatively good iron and board.

However, water from the mini bar isn't free unlike most 4 star hotels. The convenience store nearest the hotel also charges exorbitant rates and does not put a price tag on every item (yeah, I should have expected the expensive prices given that the hotel is located in a prime area).

The view from my room wasn't fantastic but the hotel was located in a really good location - 5mins walk to the nearest train station, 2 min walk to restaurants and the jetty where you can have a pretty good view of the Sydney Opera House.

Oh, I was also expecting a 4 star hotel to provide toothbrush and toothpaste but there was none. I however liked the shampoo and soap provided - French Connection. Oh I love the musky smell...

Wifi - 3 free hours per day: to obtain voucher from reception
Breakfast - small range but 'reasonably priced' for a hotel in that location - AUD19. I actually won't recommend the breakfast. Should just buy food to heat up since there is microwave.
Bed - very comfortable. I think I had 4 additional pillows on top of the regular 2 (total 6)
Room and bathroom: very clean. This is most important!

Paid total of SGD2498 for 6 nights stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ptaxol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel, we really appreciate your feedback. I hope we can use your comments to continue to improve our standards. Your kind words have been passed on to all staff.
Best Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We had a studio suite with all the comforts and conveniences of home. The suite had really nice decor and great spacial design. Located right on the Rocks of Sydney, all central attractions were easy walking distance. Lots of charm on a small street with a touch of class. Staff was very helpful re: info for sight seeing, etc.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KvetaDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Hello
Thank you for the review and kind words, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time at the hotels and in Sydney.
Best Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#43 of 178 in Sydney
2,343 reviews
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#38 of 178 in Sydney
902 reviews
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
1,269 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks
Address: 75 Harrington St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): $179 - $388
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in Sydney's colourful past in The Rocks. Select from Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney's unique offing of historic Terrace Houses, One bedroom apartments and spacious Studio Rooms. This 61 room boutique hotel is a hidden treasure, the Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney is only moments from Circular Quay, the Harbour Bridge and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Toga Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and getaroom.com so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Sydney
Sydney Clarion Collection
Clarion Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing