We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Rocks location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Ranked #25 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Rocks location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

I stayed at the Sebel Pier One for 2 nights over a weekend. The staff were friendly. The location is great - directly under the Harbour Bridge, very well located if you want to see the major sights on foot. Also a great place to stay to be near the Rocks. It is a short walk to Circular Quay/the Rocks (5mins) and about 10mins to the Opera House. I also walked to the Pitt St Mall daily and that was an easy stroll, though probably 20-25mins.
The hotel was fine. I saw the reviews about the toilets on here, and I'm not a very fussy traveller, preferring to find a great deal. For me, the bathroom looked stunning, but there was a lot of noise. The toilets flushing didn't bother me nearly as much as the pipes groaning while in the shower. It is a cute old building so that's fine, but it didn't make me think of five star luxury.
The rooms were spotlessly clean. They were small but well laid out. They didn't have a lot of natural light and you couldn't open a window which is a shame. Again - old building. It is nice to stay somewhere with a bit of character rather than a 70s style brick hotel with classic hotel colour scheme - but I probably couldn't stay for more than 2 nights in a place like this. Beds and pillows and room service and amenities all excellent. I slept well though the twin beds were pretty small.
This is fine for a quick trip to Sydney. If you are only there a matter of days and want to see a lot and stay in a hotel, reasonably priced , I think it is great. I probably won't stay there again as I have been to Sydney a number of times, and there are so many options I try and stay somewhere near whatever area I want to see. But if you are looking for a place in this location and the price is right, I think you will be happy here.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the building have a slice of the Sydney Harbour Bridge out their window. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderingjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,145
    698
    283
    117
    64
See reviews for
338
1,146
90
427
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed there for a week on business. The room was nice and clean. The service was fabulous and the location was perfect. The breakfast buffet was very good. It is pricey but everything in Sydney is a bit pricey - this was worth it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank y4jad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed in Dec 2010 before a cruise. The room wasn't ready when I got there and I was made to wait an hour. (did give my daughters and I a drink in the bar) Sadly the room was well poor value. Basic and overrated. The window in the room was so far up the wall I couldn't see the 'view' - which was a dead body of water. I'll never be back.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Gorgeous hotel and wonderful location.
Service is acceptable without knocking your socks off.
Rooms are interesting. Thoughtfully decorated, akin to a stylish boutique hotel. Bathroom certainly has the wow factor, with floor to ceiling mirror and those roilets. Negatives were lack of natural light and small window ( think building is heritage so limited in adjustment that can be made). That said the view out the window was part of the bridge.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Decided last minute to take a nights break to coincide with family returning from a cruise. Decided that the Sebel had the best deal and location to watch the ship arrive in the early wee morning hours. As we had driven we needed parking - no problem. Were met on arrival, valet whisked car away and checkin was one of the most prompt and pain free experiences weve had for a while. We had booked a Heritage Room...standard, the room was immaculately presented in every detail. Decor was fitting to the heritage of the bulding...spent the afternoon evening enjoying cold beer & nibbles watching the harbour life at the Front Bar. Then had dinner at the Front Restaurant - meal and wine was "yum". Collapsed in our bed had a great sleep, car was waiting our collection,out front,as arranged after checkout... a totally relaxing break from our hum drum... thanks to Sebel.

Room Tip: standard rooms still give a little harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoJaysonHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,150 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Property: Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Address: 11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#27 Family Hotel in Sydney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): $261 - $547
Hotel Class:5 star — Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection is ideally located on the magnificent Sydney waterfront close to the Southern pylon of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Boutique in size, our hotel features 189 unique federation style rooms with contemporary chic furnishings. Located in the heart of the Rocks, our hotel offers the perfect accommodation for exploring Sydney or getting friends together for a special event or wedding. The Gantry Restaurant & Bar offers its guests the ultimate open air dining experience with full panoramic views of Walsh Bay. Our luxury Sydney Harbour hotel's accommodations also offer a smoke-free environment, valet parking and 24-hour security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Pier One Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sebel Pier 1 Sydney
Sebel Pier One Hotel Sydney
Pier One Sydney
Sydney Sebel Pier One

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing