We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astral Tower and Residences at The Star
Ranked #52 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Too much noise”
Reviewed 30 September 2010

I have stayed at Star City several times but was extremely disappointed with the no knowledge of the construction work happening when making this booking we paid nearly $300 a night and over $400 for the Saturday on Sunday there was no work being done but on the other days we were annoyed with the sound of jack hammers a and other construction work. If I had known this I would of have booked another property. I understand that there is work to be done but not and that rate and they should make it aware that there is construction work happening when booking. Other that that the rooms are lovely we did stay in a 2 bedroom apartment which was clean and well maintained. I do enjoy staying at Star City but will no do so until the construction work is completed.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciao68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    323
    156
    67
    48
See reviews for
283
326
39
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

I booked a 2 bedroom Prymont View apartment on a Friday night as had a function to attend in Darling Harbour.

Beautiful room, nice view. Kitchen was equipped well.

My only issue is the bathroom wasn't as big as expected.

There is a decent walk between reception and the apartments elevator.

Plently of taxis available to take people wherever, we stayed while there was construction going on so there wasnt as many food options as last time I was there but there were still many.

Overall, I would stay again but I would be keen to see what the hotel rooms are like - especially the Star Suite.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JesskaTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We had a 2 bedroom apartment. 2 bathrooms and lots of space perfect for our family.. A short walk to restaurants in Darling Harbour. Pool and Spa was great but had to access them from outside with a cross wind most times. Would have been better if you didn't have to freeze when exiting the pool area.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEJA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Stayed in 2-bdrm/2-bath apartment spending $300/night. Gorgeous room with W/D and full kitchen! Helpful staff & great casino. Anna in spa gives a great facial! Sean's Kitchen and Tapas have great food (try the risotto!)... Only downfall --> Bit of a trek if you are trying to get to Opera House/Harbour Bridge area and beyond.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karratha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Our family of 7, with 5 kids, ages ranging from 15 years to 3 years old, stayed for 3 nights early July 2010 and found it a totally awesome experience! Our 3 bedroom Apartment was HUGE, with 3 toilets, two bathrooms, large lounge/dining area, dishwasher, oven, microwave, washing machine, dryer and 2 TV's was a very clean and very comfortable Apartment. All Staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly.

The only thing that I would complain about is the price of the Mini Bar - I would never pay $8.50 for a bowl of Suimin Noodles!

All in all, we were extremely happy with our experience, couldn't fault anything about Star City Apartments and will definitely stay there on our next trip to Sydney.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Darling
#6 of 178 in Sydney
849 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astral Tower and Residences at The Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

Property: Astral Tower and Residences at The Star
Address: 80 Pyrmont St | Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#35 Family Hotel in Sydney
#48 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): $280 - $781
Hotel Class:5 star — Astral Tower and Residences at The Star 5*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casino Hotel Complex situated 1 km across Darling Harbour from the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotelopia so you can book your Astral Tower and Residences at The Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astral Tower And Residences Hotel Sydney
Star City Sydney
Star City Hotel Sydney
City Star Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing