We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Continues to grow its high standard - dont go anywhere else in Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Ranked #14 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Canberra
Level Contributor
124 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Continues to grow its high standard - dont go anywhere else in Sydney”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

This is going to be a repetition of some of my previous comments. My lovely princess and I stayed here again last week for two nights and were impressed that they continue with the high standard previously set. There are not many hotels where the General Manager will join you in the bar or lounge to make sure you are enjoying your stay - Heather (the GM) does.
We booked well in advance and got a good deal on a lovely room on the 10th floor overlokking the Botanic Gardens and down the Harbour. Be aware that if you book through a third party your booking might not be what you expect. Check with the hotel.
The location and price are the best in Sydney. The ferries, trains and buses are five minutes away and you can catach a train direct to the airport. The Opera Houes is about seven minutes walk and The Rocks about ten so location is prime.
Our room was ready early and Kylie (?) at reception made us very welcome.and we were able to unpack and go out for the morning. The concierge Cod showed us to our room and explained all the necessary equipment. We had lunch in The Bar (a haven in a busy city) and recommend the chicken wings - senational.
Be aware that all rooms appear to be different. Ours had a large bathroom with one sink but we have been in others with a "his and hers" sink. Plenty of hot water and towels will wash away the cares of the day. We had a king bed and a choice of pillows, the flat screen tv had all we needed. Remember that your luggage spends more time in the room than you!. Try drinks in The Bar and if Ronny is serving ask him about his kick-boxing skills.
Evening drinks in The Bar are very good with a wide choice and knowledgeable staff. The weather was warm so we enjoyed the roof top pool several times.
This hotel is not glass and concrete but has a nice warm log fire in the lounge and is full of antque furniture. The staff are not antique and will really look after you.
I would again wholly recomend this place and we will be back in November.

Room Tip: Check your booking before you come so you get what you expect especially if you have booked through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wizardoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Valued Return Guests

Thank you again for your very astute comments and recommendations about the rooms, The Bar and of course our team members. Kylie, Kieran and Remy are all professionals and we thank you for recognising them. Tomorrow night we will be holding one of our regular fireside General Manager Guest functions - this small wine tasting gives us the opportunity to introduce guests to our management team and also hear about their personal preferences and most of all hear about their personal experiences in the city. We learn from our guests which restaurants are "hot" and which are not. From Est to Wildfire, Nield Street to Apollo we get real visitors reviews and use this information to remain up to date.

We do appreciate your loyalty and hope that with so many stays, you have joined our Senators Club? The details are on our website - it does have excellent discounts off food and beverage and can be used at any of the other 7 beautiful hotels in Australia and Auckland, New Zealand. I recently visited Stamford Brisbane and was so impressed with it's riverside location and amazing Kabuki Restaurant.

Return again soon.
Sincerely
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,572
    630
    158
    46
    31
See reviews for
369
1,314
134
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed at the hotel for the first time and was amazed at how elegant the hotel is. The rooms had a lovely warm ambiance with old style characteristics which was inviting. We arrived late so decided to eat in the restaurant, where we had an amazing meal. Both my husband and i were surprised at the high quality and presentation of the food. The lamb shoulder is to die for; the meat just fell off the bone. With reasonable prices, we were delighted to eat and stay here and will return again. The only down side was the lack of variety of menu options but the dishes we had were superb. A must visit again. I would most defiantly recommend the restaurant and hotel to friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessandNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Valued Guests

Sous Chef Joshua is over the moon regarding your review of the lamb shoulder as this is Josh's favourite dish from his new menu - it's slowly brasied for 5 hours. Josh has a new winter menu and he has been given a free hand to revamp old classics - simple well cooked meals. His favourite entree is the seared scallops on a cauloflower puree with lemon snow.... While there are many very expensive famous Australian restaurants all within 500 metres of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay our little Dining Room is a secret suprise that our guests discover is up there in quality and service.

Our Bar is also a lovely suprise, 1897 fittings, high ceiling and an excellent small wine list. Our new tapas menu will be revealed within the next week.

Tomorrow we have planned the tallest High Tea in the city (or maybe the world) a cancer society fundraiser to be held at 10.00am in our lobby - you can see photos on our hotel Facebook page.

Thank you again for your review and return again soon.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed here a couple of times recently, both times due to its fantastic location a matter of a few minutes walk from the Sydney Opera House. The rooms are massive, the bathrooms a marble palace. Service is attentive but not cloying which is a good thing. Definitely on the list of preferred hotels for Sydney !

Room Tip: Book early through the Stamford website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TITraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Valued Guests

Sydney has so many stunning hotels, and choosing the perfect hotel for the right occassion combined with the right location combined is the objective of most travellers. Sir Stamford is perfect for any event in or around the Opera House, the Botanical Garden - even for visitors to Sydney Eye Hospital. The ferries leaving just below the hotel, the Museum of Contemporary Art and it's fantastic current exhibition of The Clock is just across Circular Quay.are also furthher reasona.

Our 1897 heritage building, and our size - just 105 rooms and suites must also be taken into account as these bring unique features and services. Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I booked this Hotel as a surprise for my husband's birthday, as we love Sydney. Before booking on Wotif ($300 per night), I read the reviews, and was delighted to find a Hotel so well-appraised in such a great location. We have stayed in some amazing hotels around the world, and this falls into the average category in terms of service, although the staff were trying their best, we experienced much disorganization for example, we were left waiting in the lounge area for an hour after check-in time (3pm) assuming that our room was still not ready (we were told to wait there, and had the pleasure of listening to staff personal conversations while patiently waiting etc.); once we got to our room, we found another person's luggage with wallet in our room - we informed staff and they took it in their stride; staff had trouble finding our name on a list for breakfast to confirm cost was part of the package - won't go into details but we had to explain it a few times; reception then attempted to re-charge us for breakfast; concierge had difficulty finding our luggage when we were leaving - we found it by going into the three baggage rooms and searching; while waiting to check-in and check-out we overheard other guests complaining about this and that. The female staff member (on the afternoon shift) seemed indifferent and didn't really care about us waiting for the room for an hour...a bit of oh well.... Before we left, police with dogs arrived, and went up in a guest lift, returning about 15 minutes later and leaving the building...Perhaps we are just petty, given so many positive reviews (which we are both so surprised to read) but we have stayed in several hotels in Sydney in the last six months, and none were this hilarious. I won't go into the shower faucet problems. Faulty Towers in Sydney.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HolidayLover1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Valued Guests

We do hope your husbands birthhday was celebrated in style and that you enjoyed the cities offerings. We are extremely sorry to hear about your room delays and room allocation shortfalls and will follow up immediately, as this is a most unusual experience - especially as our hotel is relatively small (105 rooms and suites). The hotel was certainly very busy last weekend with the Miss Universe NSW pageant held at the hotel and other VIP events, but it is no excuse for delays and inattention to detail that you experienced.

We do wish to explain that the Australian Federal Police do "sweep" hotel rooms to ensure the protecttion of top diplomats or dignitaries to Australia as a matter of course and this must seem a little unusual, if guests have not seem this before - please be assured it is a procedure done world wide.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I’ve been a Stamford regular for over ten years, and the Sir Stamford has been on my wish list for almost as long. My wife and I stayed there on the first night of our honeymoon, and it easily exceeded our expectations. It’s what a hotel should be, and needless to say, it’s still on our wish list for Sydney.

My first interaction with the hotel was with a lovely man at Reservations. He patiently went through the various packages available, but given we were only there for one night, and out early the next morning, we settled on a bed and breakfast package for under $250. When I pointed out that we’d have to leave for the airport before the likely opening time for the restaurant, he said that we could have our breakfast as room service at no extra charge. Such a reasonable, common sense approach, that I’ve only ever seen that calibre of customer service once before, at the Airport Hilton in Melbourne.

When the taxi pulled up to the front door, I was impressed by the understated elegance of a simple canopy extending out to the street, rather than the usual, grotesque architectural indulgence of the massive porticos that protrude from most 5 star hotels. That charm and class carried through into the hotel, with a modestly sized reception and luxurious, old world lounge beyond. The only thing perhaps a little inconsistent with the overall décor of the Sir Stamford were the small flat panel televisions at the reception desk and by the lifts, silently scrolling through various announcements and promotions.

The service was first class, or should I say, 5 star. I didn’t even notice our bags being retrieved from the boot of the taxi and brought into the reception. At the front desk, the woman behind the counter spoke with a delightful French accent, and was genuinely warm and friendly, excitedly congratulating us on our recent marriage. We were then escorted to our room, which is all too uncommon these days, being expertly oriented to the hotel’s main features along the way, with our bags inconspicuously following along.

Our first impression of the room was, wow! While a standard hotel layout, it was much wider than anything we’d seen before, and very spacious. A large king bed with a bench seat at the foot and plenty of space around it, gave way to a full corner sofa and coffee table, opposite a lovely writing table in front of the French doors opening out onto a Juliet balcony. It was so tastefully decorated in the same classic style of the rest of the hotel, and immaculately clean. The bathroom sets the standard for the Stamford brand, with his and hers sinks facing you as you walk in, a full bath on one side, and large separate shower and toilet on the other.

We were still ooing and ahhing over the room when we got a knock at the door. It was room service with a complementary bottle of wine for our honeymoon. It was such a lovely touch, and it’s truly amazing how such a kind gesture made us feel so special.

We’d had a long train trip into Sydney, and were due to fly out to Fiji early the next morning, so we opted for a lazy room service dinner. We were actually blown away by how reasonably priced the in-room dining menu was. Finally, a hotel that doesn’t treat its guests with contempt, and doesn’t try and rip you off with the arrogant assumption that if you can afford the roo, you can afford to pay $35 for a hamburger. The mini bar too wasn’t obscene, charging comparable rates to cafes, if not supermarkets. The decency the Sir Stamford shows in this regard is outstanding, and should be commended.

As for the food itself, it was good. Not just standard hotel fare, but notably good. However, the signature dumplings probably aren’t worth the effort. It was delivered quickly on a trolley table by the same friendly, young woman who brought the wine earlier, and promptly cleaned up after we were done.

Sleep quality was excellent, as we snuggled into the luxurious bed, waking up fully refreshed. The next morning we were treated with a magnificent sunrise through the French doors, bathing the room in a warm, orange glow. One of those moments that burns into your memory.

I can’t really comment on the location, as we didn’t leave the hotel during our stay. However, it’s the Sir Stamford Circular Quay, so it’s right in the heart of what Sydney’s got to offer. And if it’s not there, there’s plenty of public transport options nearby to get you where you need to be.

My only complaint is that we didn’t get to stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captain_beetroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Valued Guests

Your review was absolutely delightful, everything was as it should be for your honeymoon - you definitely chose the perfect hotel for a lasting memory and your room choice was also perfect - those lovely balconies, the early morning sunrise....

Our concierge and indeed all our team do strive for unobtrusive yet attentive service to guests - it's good to hear that we achieved this during your entire stay. The drive to the airport is only 25 minutes and we are very pleased you chose our hotel rather than one at the airport prior to your Fiji flight. We congratulate you on your marriage and hope to see you return for those anniversary stays.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4,142 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 174 in Sydney
6,086 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Property: Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sydney
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): $226 - $514
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Otel, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotelopia so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing