We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,352)
Filter reviews
3,352 results
Traveller rating
2,202
825
212
66
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,202
825
212
66
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbotanical gardensopera housecircular quayjuliet balconygreat locationmacquarie streethigh teamarble bathroombeautiful hotelsmall balconyrooms are spaciousconcierge stafflovely roomfew minutes walkboutique hoteltrain stationan easy walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,861 - 2,866 of 3,352 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed at the hotel for the first time and was amazed at how elegant the hotel is. The rooms had a lovely warm ambiance with old style characteristics which was inviting. We arrived late so decided to eat in the restaurant, where we had an amazing meal. Both my husband and i were surprised at the high quality and presentation of the food. The lamb shoulder is to die for; the meat just fell off the bone. With reasonable prices, we were delighted to eat and stay here and will return again. The only down side was the lack of variety of menu options but the dishes we had were superb. A must visit again. I would most defiantly recommend the restaurant and hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessandNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dear Valued Guests

Sous Chef Joshua is over the moon regarding your review of the lamb shoulder as this is Josh's favourite dish from his new menu - it's slowly brasied for 5 hours. Josh has a new winter menu and he has been given a free hand to revamp old classics - simple well cooked meals. His favourite entree is the seared scallops on a cauloflower puree with lemon snow.... While there are many very expensive famous Australian restaurants all within 500 metres of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay our little Dining Room is a secret suprise that our guests discover is up there in quality and service.

Our Bar is also a lovely suprise, 1897 fittings, high ceiling and an excellent small wine list. Our new tapas menu will be revealed within the next week.

Tomorrow we have planned the tallest High Tea in the city (or maybe the world) a cancer society fundraiser to be held at 10.00am in our lobby - you can see photos on our hotel Facebook page.

Thank you again for your review and return again soon.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed here a couple of times recently, both times due to its fantastic location a matter of a few minutes walk from the Sydney Opera House. The rooms are massive, the bathrooms a marble palace. Service is attentive but not cloying which is a good thing. Definitely on the list of preferred hotels for Sydney !

Room Tip: Book early through the Stamford website.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TITraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Valued Guests

Sydney has so many stunning hotels, and choosing the perfect hotel for the right occassion combined with the right location combined is the objective of most travellers. Sir Stamford is perfect for any event in or around the Opera House, the Botanical Garden - even for visitors to Sydney Eye Hospital. The ferries leaving just below the hotel, the Museum of Contemporary Art and it's fantastic current exhibition of The Clock is just across Circular Quay.are also furthher reasona.

Our 1897 heritage building, and our size - just 105 rooms and suites must also be taken into account as these bring unique features and services. Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I booked this Hotel as a surprise for my husband's birthday, as we love Sydney. Before booking on Wotif ($300 per night), I read the reviews, and was delighted to find a Hotel so well-appraised in such a great location. We have stayed in some amazing hotels around the world, and this falls into the average category in terms of service, although the staff were trying their best, we experienced much disorganization for example, we were left waiting in the lounge area for an hour after check-in time (3pm) assuming that our room was still not ready (we were told to wait there, and had the pleasure of listening to staff personal conversations while patiently waiting etc.); once we got to our room, we found another person's luggage with wallet in our room - we informed staff and they took it in their stride; staff had trouble finding our name on a list for breakfast to confirm cost was part of the package - won't go into details but we had to explain it a few times; reception then attempted to re-charge us for breakfast; concierge had difficulty finding our luggage when we were leaving - we found it by going into the three baggage rooms and searching; while waiting to check-in and check-out we overheard other guests complaining about this and that. The female staff member (on the afternoon shift) seemed indifferent and didn't really care about us waiting for the room for an hour...a bit of oh well.... Before we left, police with dogs arrived, and went up in a guest lift, returning about 15 minutes later and leaving the building...Perhaps we are just petty, given so many positive reviews (which we are both so surprised to read) but we have stayed in several hotels in Sydney in the last six months, and none were this hilarious. I won't go into the shower faucet problems. Faulty Towers in Sydney.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HolidayLover1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Valued Guests

We do hope your husbands birthhday was celebrated in style and that you enjoyed the cities offerings. We are extremely sorry to hear about your room delays and room allocation shortfalls and will follow up immediately, as this is a most unusual experience - especially as our hotel is relatively small (105 rooms and suites). The hotel was certainly very busy last weekend with the Miss Universe NSW pageant held at the hotel and other VIP events, but it is no excuse for delays and inattention to detail that you experienced.

We do wish to explain that the Australian Federal Police do "sweep" hotel rooms to ensure the protecttion of top diplomats or dignitaries to Australia as a matter of course and this must seem a little unusual, if guests have not seem this before - please be assured it is a procedure done world wide.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I’ve been a Stamford regular for over ten years, and the Sir Stamford has been on my wish list for almost as long. My wife and I stayed there on the first night of our honeymoon, and it easily exceeded our expectations. It’s what a hotel should be, and needless to say, it’s still on our wish list for Sydney.

My first interaction with the hotel was with a lovely man at Reservations. He patiently went through the various packages available, but given we were only there for one night, and out early the next morning, we settled on a bed and breakfast package for under $250. When I pointed out that we’d have to leave for the airport before the likely opening time for the restaurant, he said that we could have our breakfast as room service at no extra charge. Such a reasonable, common sense approach, that I’ve only ever seen that calibre of customer service once before, at the Airport Hilton in Melbourne.

When the taxi pulled up to the front door, I was impressed by the understated elegance of a simple canopy extending out to the street, rather than the usual, grotesque architectural indulgence of the massive porticos that protrude from most 5 star hotels. That charm and class carried through into the hotel, with a modestly sized reception and luxurious, old world lounge beyond. The only thing perhaps a little inconsistent with the overall décor of the Sir Stamford were the small flat panel televisions at the reception desk and by the lifts, silently scrolling through various announcements and promotions.

The service was first class, or should I say, 5 star. I didn’t even notice our bags being retrieved from the boot of the taxi and brought into the reception. At the front desk, the woman behind the counter spoke with a delightful French accent, and was genuinely warm and friendly, excitedly congratulating us on our recent marriage. We were then escorted to our room, which is all too uncommon these days, being expertly oriented to the hotel’s main features along the way, with our bags inconspicuously following along.

Our first impression of the room was, wow! While a standard hotel layout, it was much wider than anything we’d seen before, and very spacious. A large king bed with a bench seat at the foot and plenty of space around it, gave way to a full corner sofa and coffee table, opposite a lovely writing table in front of the French doors opening out onto a Juliet balcony. It was so tastefully decorated in the same classic style of the rest of the hotel, and immaculately clean. The bathroom sets the standard for the Stamford brand, with his and hers sinks facing you as you walk in, a full bath on one side, and large separate shower and toilet on the other.

We were still ooing and ahhing over the room when we got a knock at the door. It was room service with a complementary bottle of wine for our honeymoon. It was such a lovely touch, and it’s truly amazing how such a kind gesture made us feel so special.

We’d had a long train trip into Sydney, and were due to fly out to Fiji early the next morning, so we opted for a lazy room service dinner. We were actually blown away by how reasonably priced the in-room dining menu was. Finally, a hotel that doesn’t treat its guests with contempt, and doesn’t try and rip you off with the arrogant assumption that if you can afford the roo, you can afford to pay $35 for a hamburger. The mini bar too wasn’t obscene, charging comparable rates to cafes, if not supermarkets. The decency the Sir Stamford shows in this regard is outstanding, and should be commended.

As for the food itself, it was good. Not just standard hotel fare, but notably good. However, the signature dumplings probably aren’t worth the effort. It was delivered quickly on a trolley table by the same friendly, young woman who brought the wine earlier, and promptly cleaned up after we were done.

Sleep quality was excellent, as we snuggled into the luxurious bed, waking up fully refreshed. The next morning we were treated with a magnificent sunrise through the French doors, bathing the room in a warm, orange glow. One of those moments that burns into your memory.

I can’t really comment on the location, as we didn’t leave the hotel during our stay. However, it’s the Sir Stamford Circular Quay, so it’s right in the heart of what Sydney’s got to offer. And if it’s not there, there’s plenty of public transport options nearby to get you where you need to be.

My only complaint is that we didn’t get to stay longer.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank captain_beetroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Valued Guests

Your review was absolutely delightful, everything was as it should be for your honeymoon - you definitely chose the perfect hotel for a lasting memory and your room choice was also perfect - those lovely balconies, the early morning sunrise....

Our concierge and indeed all our team do strive for unobtrusive yet attentive service to guests - it's good to hear that we achieved this during your entire stay. The drive to the airport is only 25 minutes and we are very pleased you chose our hotel rather than one at the airport prior to your Fiji flight. We congratulate you on your marriage and hope to see you return for those anniversary stays.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

A friend and I recently stayed at the Sir Stamford Circular Quay. We chose this hotel because we were attending a concert at the Opera House and it is within easy walking distance. Check in was smooth and the concierge took our bags on a trolley and escorted us to our room. The staff were polite and friendly. Our superior room with 2 double beds was quiet, clean and comfortable. After our concert at the Opera House we decided to have a drink at the bar and we were greeted immediately upon arrival. Our drinks were a little slow in coming but the bar was quite busy and there was a wedding in the function room so guests were coming and going all the time. The next morning we went to the dining room for breakfast at about 9.30am and the dining room was full. We were put on a waiting list, offered a juice and asked if we would sit in the lounge area. We had to wait about 15 minutes. Continental breakfast consisted of a variety of toasts, cereals, fruits, cold meats, yoghurts and pastries, coffee and tea. Valet parking was quick and efficient. Our car was waiting out the front when we checked out. Overall I feel this hotel has improved since my last stay a few years ago and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busymother_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dear Valued Guests

Your review really does give an excellent 24 hours snapshot of our hotel and all the good rreasons to choose us, location, service and friendliness. Our twins rooms are really perfect for friends as they are both double beds and the rooms are large and comfortable. Walking to a show at The Opera House is the perfect way to enjoy Sydney and a meal in The Dining Room (open Tuesday - Saturday) and a drink or Tapas in The Bar is a perfect way to end the evening. The only highlight not mentioned is our wonderful High Teas which are served every day from 11.00am and while bookings are preferred, this can be done on the day.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive positive review, we are very pleased that you found the hotel improved as we do strive to continuously update our facitilies - such as our new free internet in the lobby area.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews