We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sir Stamford Circular Quay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Ranked #16 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The Sir Stamford Hotel at Circular Quay is one of best in the Sydney CBD. It's location is perfect if you are visiting the Opera House, The Rocks and CBD. Walking into the Sir Stamford is like stepping back in time. You are greeted at the door with assistance. All staff greet you in passing. The rooms are fantastic! Extremely spacious compared to other hotels. The breakfast is delicious in a beautiful dining room. The Bar is a great place to just sit back and relax, with excellent service. All in all, I would highly recommend the Sir Stamford at Circular Quay as the perfect Sydney stay!

Room Tip: It really doesn't matter where your room is situated, it's always quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Valued Guests

Thank you for your splendid review, we do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Choosing a hotel that fulfils your needs and suits your style is always a huge relief for travellers - for us it means many favourite return guests. It becomes their home away from home. The Bar is the one place that reveals the hotels historic site in so many ways with its 1897 heritage status and the rather curious ":Health Department" and "The Bar " signage on the lovely sandstone exterior (often photographed). Not many hotels have 3 Steinway Grands tucked away in quiet corners and we love being able to offer them for practice to the students from Australian's very famous Conservatorium of Music (the turreted building diagonally across the road.from the hotel in the Botanic Gardens) or even the pianists among our guests.

Sir Stamford is unique, and we are very pleased we lioved up to your expectations.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,655 - 2,659 of 3,120 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

The location was perfect. Our room was large and bath was huge with a tub and a shower. It was quiet even though we were on the front. The plumbing needs to be updated, but the furniture was not worn. It's very old world style with a large sitting room on the third floor and the bar is like a gentlemen's club. We had a nice meal there when it was raining.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whimhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Dear Valued Guests

Thank you so much for highlighting our convenience to the cities sights and our large comfortable rooms. The fine art collection throughout the hotel does give the hotel an old world club feeling - except the that everyone is relaxing around reading their I Pads (the free internet in the lobby makes is a good place to settle in).

Sydney weather is experiencing a very warm Autumn and it's very pleasant to be able to open the balcony doors of our deluxe rooms, but winter is approaching and our firewood has been ordered as we are very lucky to have one of the few open fire permits in the city - our open fires in the The Bar and Lobby are a huge feature for locals and guests alike.

The atmosphere at Sir Stamford is quite unlike any other in the city.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Not only is hotel located at one of the best spots in Sydney, their customer service is outstanding. After traveling for 22 hours, we arrived at the Sir Stamford at around 8:00 in the morning. Our expectations was to dump our bags and walk around until it was check in time. They met us at the door, took our bags and gave us a key to the gym/locker room so we could shower and change our clothes. Our room was a Harbour View King and it was very comfortable and clean. The views were great and the service superior.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 55truckn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear Valued Guests

Thank you so much for your lovely review - we are so pleased that your experience was exactly as it should be. A swim, shower and change after a long flight or dawn arrival is very refreshing. Some guests do pre-book and pay for their room to be ready and waiting - but this does add another days cost.

The team gets many personal acknowledgements and comments from guests, and indeed recently a guest had two large trophies made for 2 well deserving front liners recognising them for their customer service - we will be posting photos of these shortly on our hotel Facebook page - which does give another social perspective of our team - including Morris our resident Marsupial.

Thank you agasin,
Heather Idoine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed at the Sir Stamford a couple of months ago when we had a concert at the Opera House (just a few minutes walk away).

A grand old hotel - beautiful room, great location, delicious food in both the restaurant and in the buffet breakfast area.

The staff were professional and went out of their way to be helpful.

Would definitely stay here again - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aussieNSWcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear Valued Guests

We are very pleased you loved our grand old hotel - beautiful rooms, great location and delicious food, plus professional helpful staff!

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay will have operated as a hotel for 22 years this August. The hotel first opened as a Ritz Carlton in 1990 integrating the 1897 Health Department historic 4 storey building which gives the hotel so much character.

Thank you for continuing to recommend our hotel - word of mouth is the very best we could wish for. There are 2 fabulous operas in the Sydney season ahead - the magnificent Aida - opening 13th July and then my personal favourite Lucia di Lammermoor opening on 28 September

Kind regards
Heather Idoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This Hotel was located within walking distance of the opera house, circular quay and the rocks, making it an amazing location. However the property seemed to be in need of refurnishing with the furniture looking worn. The hotel is advertised as 5* however the feel is that of a 4* at best. There was no ceiling lighting in main part of our room and you had to individually turn on/off the 3 lamps in our room. Furthermore the double bed was made up of 2 single beds made up together. The service was average, when I checked in at 11pm the staff seemed uninterested. However given all the other hotels in the surrounding area rated as 5* they were at least >$140 AUD a night.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leisuretraveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Dear Valued Guests

Thank you for taking the time to review Sir Stamford at Circular Quay. Our location is truly one of the best in the city - and our style is definitely different from most other hotels in the city whether they are 4 star or 6 star. Ratings given by travellers is so much more accurate and timely. Engaged staff 100% of the time is our goal and we put a lot of effort into really making that one of our key differentials - so we are always disappointed to here our team didn't impress. We'll keep trying harder.

Have a great time in Australia.
Kind regards
Heather idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#28 of 181 in Sydney
4,557 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#35 of 181 in Sydney
6,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sydney
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $234 - $716 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hooroo Pty Ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing