We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location but average otherwise” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Ranked #15 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Location but average otherwise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

This Hotel was located within walking distance of the opera house, circular quay and the rocks, making it an amazing location. However the property seemed to be in need of refurnishing with the furniture looking worn. The hotel is advertised as 5* however the feel is that of a 4* at best. There was no ceiling lighting in main part of our room and you had to individually turn on/off the 3 lamps in our room. Furthermore the double bed was made up of 2 single beds made up together. The service was average, when I checked in at 11pm the staff seemed uninterested. However given all the other hotels in the surrounding area rated as 5* they were at least >$140 AUD a night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leisuretraveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Dear Valued Guests

Thank you for taking the time to review Sir Stamford at Circular Quay. Our location is truly one of the best in the city - and our style is definitely different from most other hotels in the city whether they are 4 star or 6 star. Ratings given by travellers is so much more accurate and timely. Engaged staff 100% of the time is our goal and we put a lot of effort into really making that one of our key differentials - so we are always disappointed to here our team didn't impress. We'll keep trying harder.

Have a great time in Australia.
Kind regards
Heather idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,515
    614
    156
    43
    30
See reviews for
356
1,271
131
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I took my elderly mother on holiday to Sydney - her first visit, and I wanted to choose a comfortable but lovely hotel that was intimate but had great service. I have stayed in Stamford hotels in Singapore and Adelaide and going by previous experiences, I hoped there would be one in Sydney. The staff were wonderful and looked after our every need. The breakfast spread had lots of variety and the room it was served in was delightful with lovely decor and beautiful green views. The only down point I had was the tricky shower arrangement which my mother wouldn't have been able to manage, so I recommended her have a bath instead (and the bath was lovely). I visit Sydney every so often on business and will be staying here next time I visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yrinsyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Dera Valued Guests

We are very pleased to hear from business guests as although our reviews are dominated by our leisure travellers, almost half of our guests are international and interstate business travellers However it was even nicer to hear that you returned with your Mother for a Sydney treat. Taking the time to share with family is so special and indeed choosing a hotel that will provide an experience rather than a bed is even nicer. The Dining Room has such a gracious feel and watching the fashionable walk by on the lovely wide Macquarie boulevard with the autumn leaves drifting down is priceless..

La Traviata - the Harbour Opera is absolutely proving a huge drawcard and the hotel is filling very fast with those who are attending this world class event before it closes on 15th April.

Sorry to hear the plumbing was a little tricky - our fittings are the original American ones from the hotels Ritz Carlton past and can be confusing - but we do agree our baths are beautiful.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Great old-style hotel in circular quay. Takes less than 5 minutes to walk to shops as well as the Sydney Opera House. Beautiful room with a huge bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alanderson1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Valued Guests

Thank you for your review, our 1897 building is certainly very beautiful and the legacy of the Ritz Carlton who procured all the hotels fitting and furnishings is still very evident today. We are very fortunate to work in such an historic environment as our location in Macquarie is one of the oldest streets in Australia.Many of the colonies earliest wealthy built their homes along the street and many of Australia's most famous have or do still live in Macquarie Street today. From the Mint and Barracks to the Opera House there is much to admire.

Thank you again
Heather idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I love this hotel! The location and the decor are fabulous. The highlight for me is definitley the staff. We were travelling with our 2 young boys and the staff were always polite, attentive and friendly. We ate breakfast in the restaurant every morning, and once again the staff, food and service were commendable. We had a room with 2 double beds and it was a good size for our needs. This is the only place I will stay in Sydney.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbc707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Valued Guests

You are in good company as we have many regular interstate guests who also love Sir Stamford at Circular Quay. Children are our future guests and we do like to make their stay memorable - they also like to the grandeur of our hotel and many a small face is riveted by the chandeliers and some of the porcelan in cabinets. The original art work in the hotel is very "child friendly" as this was a directive of the founders.

Our new staff member "Morris" gets lots of cuddles and ocassionally disappears to a room under the arm of a houseguest. (See our Facebook page for photos of Morris)

The twin bedded rooms (with 2 double beds) are perfect for travelling families and the rooms being slightly larger do make it more comfortable. Some families prefer a rollaway - and of course we do have the very comfortable rollawys that have a good mattresses.

Thank you so much for your postive comments about our friendly staff - we do appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel.

Looking forward to your return
Hather Idoine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

What more can you ask for? The Sir Stamford is a 3-minute walk from the Sydney Opera House and only a little more to the surrounding attractions, including the historic Rocks area. The hotel is gracious and rooms are very well appointed. Ours had a view over the SOH and east along the glorious Sydney Harbour. We stayed here the last time we attended the opera and were due to fly out the next day - so convenient. Recommended.

Room Tip: The views are great on 3 sideas (east, west, north). Park in the hotels carpark around the corner an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fell0w_Traveller49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Dear Valued Guests

Reviews from Sydneysiders are very much appreciated - having locals recommend us is the best we can ask for. We are very proud of our cleanliness ratings as our housekeeping has quite a task with all our 550 handcut chandeliers, crystal lamps, gilt mirrors and antiques to dust.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,066 reviews
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,005 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Property: Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sydney
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): $241 - $635
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and Wotif.com so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing