We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel near Botanical Gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Ranked #32 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel near Botanical Gardens”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

From entering the lobby for check-in to the rooms, restaurants, lobby lounge, and breakfast, this is a wonderful city hotel. All services were impeccable and the staff superb. I can highly recommend this city hotel within walking distance to the botanical gardens, the harbor, movie theatres and all city activities. I definitely will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debrina108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,143
    1,092
    292
    142
    136
See reviews for
540
1,324
305
1,144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,051)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

There is an overwhelming lack of five star properties in Australia and it is never more obvious when staying in Sydney.

For what hotels not only in Sydney, but also all over Australia charge per night in other parts of the world you would be treated like a king and the accommodations and service would be stellar.

I'm in Sydney every month on business and stay either at the Westin or the Sheraton on the Park. I was SPG platinum, but with the lack of Starwood properties in Australia I have dropped down to the Gold level, which I now maintain thru Platinum American Express.

In the four years that I have monthly stayed at the Westin I have never once been offered an upgrade or access to the club lounge.

On my recent visit to the Sheraton I was upgraded to an executive floor room, which entitled me to access the club lounge. The view of the city is amazing and the staff was very attentive.

My room was large as was the bathroom but desperately needs to be bought into the 21st century. The decor is late 80's, dark and heavy.

The location of the hotel is very convenient to shops and things to see and do in the city. It's an easy walk to the harbour and Hyde Park is at your front door. If you like to shop Herme's DJ's the new Westfield and Tiffany & Co are just steps away.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelBNolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowral, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Stayed here when attending a work function.
What a great room at a last minute rate of $200!!
View to Sydney Harbour. Powered blinds and plantation shutters meant the room was sublimely dark. The pool and views from here a just beautiful.
This is an old fashioned and beautifully comfortable hotel in a prime spot.
Would stay again.....for the right rate.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuitarmanBowral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

What is it with this Starwoods property, as a Gold Starwoods member there is never an offer of anything extra here unless you ask for it, their "sister property "the Westin" on the other hand couldn't go further to make you more welcome and acknowledge your loyality. Stayed here twice, both single nights recently, before and after flights, tired outdated rooms no internet access, and to add insult we were placed on the lowest floor at the front of the hotel we may as well have slept on Elizabeth Street, probably would have gotten a better nights sleep.

Came time to check out and now they surcharge to use a credit card. Next time I shall load them up with cash and let them pay the surcharge to the banks to handle the cash!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cabsavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMercerHotelManager, General Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear cabsavie,

I was most concerned to learn that we failed to meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. I would like to assure you that we do endeavour to meet the room requests of our guests at all times and we invest a lot of time and expenditure in the upkeep of our hotel to ensure we are market leaders in comfort and style. In regards to the internet usage, we provide complimentary wireless connectivity throughout the entire hotel in all public areas and for a small fee in all rooms we have wired and wireless options for up to 3 devices at one price.

Please note that as a valued Gold SPG member from the 1st March 2012 you will be entitled to an arrival gift at our Starwood Hotels including the choice of 250 bonus SPG Points, Welcome Drink or Complimentary Internet. Additionally, numerous Starwood competitive set hotels in Australia have already implemented a credit card surcharge fee as far back as 2009. My apologies for the disappointment this has caused and we hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton on the Park in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Brad Mercer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We ot a twin bed double room after showing up unanounced. Beatiful furnished room, very spacious, very well insulated for noise. Big screen LCD TV, bathroom robes and all other things you expect in a 5 star hotel. Great fitness centre and swimming pool. Parking available and the staff was absoltely fabulous. Loved every minute of my stay. You can't get anything better for under 200 bucks!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertsmits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#34 of 178 in Sydney
3,204 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#37 of 178 in Sydney
4,469 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 178 in Sydney
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 178 in Sydney
1,954 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton on the Park, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Property: Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Address: 161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#15 Family Hotel in Sydney
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): $238 - $739
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton on the Park, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm Australian welcome at the five-star Sheraton on the Park. Located directly opposite Hyde Park, the tree-lined oasis in the heart of Sydney, our hotel is a great destination to connect with friends, family, and colleagues. From the moment you walk through our grand entrance, you will enjoy all that our Sydney hotel has to offer. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton on the Park, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing