We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Medina Grand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Ranked #22 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Medina Grand”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Friendly, comfortable and convenient apartment hotel

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGHS, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Greg Y,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Medina Grand Harbourside.
We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Medina Grand Harbourside sometime in the future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    687
    144
    48
    27
See reviews for
427
796
86
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Good value, great location (a few steps away from Darling Habour) and friendly staff. Affordable hotel - not the best looking, nor particularly fancy, but everything needed was provided by helpful staff. Good-sized rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay187054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGHS, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Kay187054,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Medina Grand Harbourside. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the location and that the team were friendly and helpful.

We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Medina Grand Harbourside sometime in the future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The hotel needs desperately to invest in new bath towels. Currently they are worn, stained & unattractive. Blanket provided was dirty.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanaJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGHS, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Lynellen,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Medina Grand Harbourside.
We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel. In relation to the towels, we do purchase new towels monthly and replace the old ones, however please be assured that this will be addressed to ensure the correct amount are being replaced along with your comment about the blanket.
I would like to thank you again for providing this feedback, if you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Medina is my first choice for business travel. I have the option of staying in Amora, Four Points Sheraton, Four Seasons or the very depressing Ibis but prefer the space of a Medina Apartment. A one bedroomed studio apartment has everything you would need; bathroom with washing machine and dryer, full kitchen with dishwasher, microwave and stove top, two flat screen TVs, seperate lounge/ dining area and balcony with outdoor seating, double glazing. There's a mini supermarket a block away. You can order food from a number of restaurants and they will deliver to the foyer for pick up. Alternatively you can order room service dinner from the Lime restaurant below. There's also a ground floor poor and gym. The location is great for Darling Harbour and King Street Wharf restaurants. My partner and I spent Australia Day weekend there and enjoyed the proximity to the wharf for the fireworks and access to water taxis and great restaurants.
Negatives would be that the shower is over the bath. It can be noisy if you are on the lower floor when there's nightclub activity...more a dull thumping than loud music. There's no breakfast room service. You need to go down to the Lime Cafe or buy ingredients and make your own.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGHS, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear cmchi,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Medina Grand Harbourside. I was delighted to read that Medina is your first choice for your business travel. I am pleased that you find the one bedroom apartment has everything that you need and that you find the location of the hotel great to explore Darling Harbour.
Thank you for your continued support of Medina Grand Harbourside. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed for three nights over an extended weekend in Sydney. The hotel itself is modern and new and kept quite clean.

In terms of location, it is about a 5-10 minute walk from Wynyard Station, and conveniently close to the more recently developed Kings Street Wharf where there are many restaurants. The room overlooked the Aquarium, and it was a short walk to the Darling Harbour district.

I asked for a room on a higher level and we were put on the top floor. It overlooked the top of the Aquarium and the motorway. We were put in room 101 which was oddly shaped, and felt very cramped and small, which was quite a disappointment after hearing about the spacious rooms.

The service at the desk was a bit stilted but polite. The television remote was missing from the room, and a friendly man came with another remote and checked to make sure it worked with the television.

The double bed had a divide in the middle which was a bit annoying, and the bed was harder than my personal preference.

There was a little kitchenette with a kettle for coffee and tea and a fridge. The bathroom was more spacious and the facilities clean.

Unless you can find a greatly discounted room, I think there are better hotels to stay at in Sydney.

Room Tip: I'd avoid room 101 as it is oddly shaped and cramped
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGHS, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Andrew046,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at Medina Grand Harbourside. I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be modern, clean and that you enjoyed the location of Medina Grand Harbourside.

I am sorry that you found the standard studio room cramped, perhaps a premier studio or one bedroom apartment may have been more suitable in regards to the space you were looking for. I am also sorry to read that you found the bed to be hard, all of the beds in the hotel were replaced in 2011.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel if you would like to discuss any part of your stay further.

We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Medina Grand Harbourside sometime in the future.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Address: 55 Shelley St | King Street Wharf, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Harbourside)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , Darling Harbour
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#29 Family Hotel in Sydney
#33 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): $195 - $439
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Toga Hotels, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Otel, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Harbourside Sydney
Medina Grand Harbourside Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing