We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Extremely clean and nice vibe” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macleay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macleay Hotel
Ranked #42 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Extremely clean and nice vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

We stayed on the top floor (9th floor) in a twin room next to the lift. The view from the room was brilliant - 180 degrees vision of the harbour, the heads, and the sydney harbour bridge. The room was small but well set out and quiet. Room for bags, a small kitchenette, a cupboard to hang clothes, a desk for the TV and a table for two all sit will in the room. The bathroom was old but in a nice way, so didnt look dated. I thought the lift would be noisy but it wasnt. It is a quiet hotel. The staff are very courteous. We parked our car underneath the building - a tight fit but it all worked. For the price this is a much better choice than a large hotel if you prefer cleanliness, polite staff, and a quiet ambience to the 'empty soul' and often lack of cleanliness that sometimes characterise the larger cheaper hotels.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anchor228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    335
    90
    28
    16
See reviews for
181
290
79
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

The Macleay was pefect for my situation. The staff were friendly and very helpful, the room was neat and tidy with awesome views, the Woolworths over the road was very accessible and it was easy to catch a train or get a meal. I even got to "borrow" the hotels fitness first membership to go and do some yoga. The hotel room is a little aged - broken tile, 70's style but this is only cosmetic. I did also notice that if you opened a window, there was nothing to stop you falling out - so be careful if you have kids. I would recommend this hotel as it worked for me.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank typical_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

Incredibly helpful staff and views are the tow main things to take away from this hotel. The rest of the amenities are slightly above what you'd expect for the price. The staff are more than willing to help you find your way or help you negotiate the incredibly easy (as we found out) Sydney Transport network.

We woke up every morning to see the harbour bridge, the skyline and the opera house in the distance. Stunning. In terms of location it is about a 30 minute brisk walk to the CBD or a short train ride away; Kings Cross station being just 5 minutes down the road. It costs about $45 to get a taxi to an airport or the hotel can organise a $12 shuttle transfer for you.

The rooms are slightly small but considering price not an issue. The cleaning staff do an excellent job and the rooms were always neat and tidy. Free newspaper delivered to front door as well. You can hear noise from the street but is very quiet and will not disturb your sleep. We had one issue with our neighbours making a racket one night but the management sorted that our for us.

The hotel has a kitchenette available for cooking simple meals, which we did most nights, a Woolworth's supermarket is located across the street. If you can't be bothered the hotel has an excellent in-house Thai restaurant as well.

The few negatives would be that if you happened to go out at night this would require you to walk through the seedy part of Kings Cross to get home. Although I hear they are cleaning the district up by 2012, so will not be there in future. Also $15 a day for internet is a bit on the steep side especially considering there weren't many 'tidy' internet cafes in the district.

However an excellent place to stay on a budget and will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

Arrived tired from UK, staff were friendly and helpful offering me a guide to what is on in Sydney. Room was nice and comfortable, although a small gripe is there was a small raised lip in the bathroom which could be a nuisance for older people or young children when entering (I placed a towel over it to remind me not to trip), I noticed this in other hotels across Australia and is a bit of a health hazard.

Regardless, there was a small amount of city noise but that is what you expect in this location. The skyline view is awesome as you will see from my pics. Air con was great, nice clean bathroom and decent shower, lovely comfy and clean bed. Small pool but useful to cool off none the less.

The location is ideal as you have the busy Kings Cross (no worse than an average UK town on Sat night), on your doorstep with bars and nightlife, then the other direction is a more up market Mcquay street with nice restaurants and there is a great cafe across the road, as well as a Woolworths supermarket which is most convenient.

The walk to the harbour away from Kings Cross is worth doing as you can walk to Circular Quay. Kings Cross train station is near by and that will take you to Bondi by train and bus within 30 - 40 mins, you may also take a ferry near by that journeys under Harbour Bridge and then you may take a ferry to Manly Beach...

In all a great start to my trip around Australia, thank you :)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheJudge2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis, MO; USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

Unbelievably accommodating staff made the stay at Macleay an incredible experience. We stayed at the hotel for 3 weeks, and thoroughly fell in love with the area, the location, and the view of Elizabeth Bay from our room. The restaurants and cafes out the door were terrific, especially, breakfast at Zinc, with friendly waiters! We did not need to repeat restaurants if we wanted to eat in the neighborhood nightly.(Several restaurants within one block of the hotel were on the recommended list in Sydney in the New York Times) In addition, there is a grocery store (Woolworths) across the street, a pharmacy, gourmet groceries, etc. Everything was here in this low key, high energy, sophisticated neighborhood. Additionally, bus stops are available, and an easy walk to the Botanical Garden, Elizabeth Bay, Kings Cross Train Station. And, taxis pass by and are quite reasonable. Since there was a kitchen in the room, we did eat breakfast in, often, (but Flat Whites at Zinc every day) and had a few dinners inside with gourmet food from available resources. The room was of average size and somewhat dated, however water pressure in the shower was excellent, and the view, staff, location and price made up for not having a gorgeous room. Staff was always interested to know where we were going to help with directions and make sure we saw the city and surrounding areas in an easy fashion. If anything was lacking in our room, we asked and then received. If we return to Sydney, this would be our hotel of choice and we have already recommended it highly.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudiStL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#39 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,598 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#35 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Surry Hills
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner South
Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#49 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macleay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macleay Hotel

Property: Macleay Hotel
Address: 28 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): $154 - $321
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Macleay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Macleay has one of Sydney's most coveted locations in stylish Potts Point, with captivating views of Sydney Harbour or The Brige & Opera House. The views and location are million dollar, but the rates for our self contained studio apartments with kitchen are very affordable. You can stroll to Sydney's most famous landmarks, walk to Circular Quay or be in the heart of the city in just five minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Macleay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macleay Serviced Apartment Sydney
Hotel Macleay Serviced Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing