We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$135
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Debbie M

THE WORST HOTEL WE HAVE EVER STAYED IN

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Apr 2024
Upon arrival we were met with an overpowering malodorous smell. We optimistically thought it might be localised to the meagre foyer - it wasn't!!
We lugged our heavy cases to the first floor - no lifts - and were told we were lucky as other guests were in other rooms up several more flights of stairs.
The room was tatty, grimy with dirt and tired. The toilet seat was broken, the shutters to the balcony were jammed, the fake grass on the balcony was torn and threadbare and the outdoor furniture was also broken
When we addressed our concerns and HUGE disappointment to the receptionist, he shrugged and said there was no maintenance until the next day; when I challenged him and suggested that he didn't appear to even care, he smirked and nodded
He managed to force the shutters open and emphatically denied there was a smell - his senses must have been deadened from breathing the noxious stench on a daily basis - the toilet seat remained broken!
Due to Taylor Swift being in town there was a citywide shortage of hotel rooms that night and we were left with no option to stay one night of the 3 that were booked.
When we went to check out the next morning and explain why we were leaving 2 days early, the receptionist said 'Good', threatened us with the police, and told me to 'shut up'
TOTALLY THE WORST HOSPIATALITY & CUSTOMER SERVICE EXPERIENCE EVER
AVOID, AVOID, AVOID
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$180
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$164
  • Expedia.com
    AU$180
  • Hotel Website
    AU$180
0.5 km from Sydney Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$235
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$235
  • Vio.com
    AU$235
  • Hotels.com
    AU$235
1.4 km from Sydney Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$280
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$263
  • Vio.com
    AU$243
  • Official Site
    AU$271
1.9 km from Sydney Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
AU$144
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$146
  • Agoda.com
    AU$121
  • Vio.com
    AU$146
1.5 km from Sydney Boutique Hotel
Booking.com
AU$269
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$269
  • Hotels.com
    AU$269
  • Expedia.com
    AU$269
1.5 km from Sydney Boutique Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Aster Rooftop Bar
InterContinental
AU$335
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    AU$335
  • Priceline
    AU$335
  • Vio.com
    AU$335
1.7 km from Sydney Boutique Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Lobby
Booking.com
AU$179
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$143
  • Agoda.com
    AU$129
  • Expedia.com
    AU$179
1.4 km from Sydney Boutique Hotel
Priceline
AU$146
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    AU$161
  • Agoda.com
    AU$135
  • Algotels
    AU$190
1.6 km from Sydney Boutique Hotel
Pool
Fitness centre
Booking.com
AU$419
No prepayment needed
  • FourSeasons.com
    AU$420
  • Algotels
    AU$409
  • Priceline
    AU$419
2.1 km from Sydney Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$335
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$335
  • Vio.com
    AU$305
  • Shangri-La.com
    AU$335
2.2 km from Sydney Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Sydney
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveller rating
275
48
21
13
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
275
48
21
13
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews king cross no lift great location deluxe room kings cross station recommend this hotel great stay comfortable bed enjoyable stay rooms are clean public transport mini bar potts point min walk darlinghurst balcony cafes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 388 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2024

This hotel is in a great location - walking distance to downtown and public transit. The people at the desk were cheerful and helpful.

The room itself was just OK. It was clean but so small you could barely walk around the edge of the bed to get to the bathroom. Also, it only had some amenities. For instance, there was shampoo but no conditioner and toilet paper but no facial tissues. Finally, there was only someone at the desk during the day. If you had a problem in the evening, you were out of luck.

Important note - there is no elevator and all rooms are at least 1 flight of stairs from the lobby. I don't recall seeing this in the description.

I think if it had been marketed as a budget hotel instead of calling it boutique, I would have expected less.

Room tip: Important note - there is no elevator and all rooms are at least 1 flight of stairs from the lobby.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wildlife_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brandon J, Owner at Sydney Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2024

Dear Past Guest,
thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
We are glad to hear you liked our location and our front desk staff welcoming attitude
Let us clarify hotels are classified by stars rating, we are a 3 stars property offering clean and comfortable room in a central location at convenient price. The word boutique is synonym of small, it doesn't specify the hotel rating neither means luxury
We describe our hotel as "accessible via stairs only" and " non disable accessible ", this is a very important aspect of the property and is present in all our partner websites either under descriptions/accesibility, property information or fine print.
We are on site 8 am to 6 pm however an emergency number is active 24hrs to assist guests overnight and emergencies.
We have NEVER left a guest stranded without a key or without any assistance, yours are just your own assumptions and you shouldn't put them out there without the knowledge.
Ones again, thank you for staying with us
Kind Regards
The SBH Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2023

Incredibly friendly and welcoming staff. Walked in to a clean and sterile-smelling room. A little on the small side, but no complaints for a couple who were coming and going all day. Ideal location to get into city. Overall very satisfactory experience

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 November 2023 via mobile

Really nice stay here, I arrived in Sydney early hours so I was trying to find accommodation last minute when I called the hotel the manager answered as it was diverted to his phone out of hours.

The checked on his laptop and he had availability so booked me in for that morning, usually check in is 3pm onwards in hotels but he said as soon as the current guest has checked out and the room is cleaned he will call me.

At 9:00am he called to say it was ready and I can check in early, I really appreciated this as I was so tired from travelling.

He’s super friendly, helpful and polite.

I felt safe here and it was clean, if I’m honest the room was basic it’s not a 5* hotel but they don’t claim to be this but the bed was really comfy, really nice shower hot and powerful and there’s a TV and kettle for tea and coffee.

Close to Victoria road and Oxford road and the train station, literally everything you need close by great nightlife on a weekend, also only a 30 min nice walk to the opera house and Sydney harbour.

Excellent hotel and service, I’m giving this 5* and recommend anyone to stay here, if I’m ever back in Sydney I’ll be staying here, great value for money!!

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Go05056893100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 November 2023

Our stay was really nice! The room is clean, tidy, new, with a modern look, large bathroom for the Australian standard and a fast internet connection. The place is ran by a kind man who was waiting for us in front of the door when we got there. I suggest this place because it has a great value for money and it’s five minute walk from Sydney downtown.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sarapN9957WS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 October 2023

My room has no window. Well, to be fair there is a fixed window with frosted glass that you can't open or see outside. I don't normally call that a window but you get some natural light.

The bathroom is covered with mould and dirt. You almost think the grout colour was black (ermm... no they were supposed to be white!). Shower curtain was dark in colour and there is no light inside the shower so it's not a nice feeling. Shower curtain was a little too short so the bathroom get very wet after every shower.

The bed head is damaged, dirty and mouldy. Both bedside tables are damaged and you just cannot put anything on them. Kettle is dirty inside. Window blind was also dirty and mouldy.

In Summary - Too many things in the room are either damaged, dirty or mouldy. I don't ask for new and flashy but at least clean it properly.
Sorry I don't think it's worth the money.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ant-nest-ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews