We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met My Expectations for a Five-Star Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
Ranked #26 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I stayed for one night at the Intercontinental Sydney and have nothing but praise for the location, the staff, the service and my room. Circular Quay, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Sydney Opera House and The Rocks are just a few minutes by foot away, and the lovely Botanical Gardens are right across the street. It took me about 5 minutes to walk to the hotel from the Circular Quay rail stop after taking the train from the airport.

Check-in was easy and efficient, and my room was ready when I arrived at 10:30 a.m. The official check-in time is 3 p.m. so I truly appreciated the opportunity to leave my bags in my room instead of storage and to freshen up before looking around the city. Each staff member who I came into contact with from check-in to check-out was cordial and helpful. The concierge
staff was outstanding -- absolutely outstanding. They listened to me carefully and responded to my needs as an individual, rather than making "one size fits all" recommendations. Anytime I passed by a staff member, he/she greeted me and flashed a pleasant smile. I felt really welcome here.

My comfortable, quiet, immaculate 17th-floor room looked out on the city and botanical gardens. It had lots of space and held a king bed, window seats that could accommodate four people, a couch, a large desk with desk chair and side/end tables. The furnishings were in excellent condition. A push of a button sent night blinds over the huge window to darken the room and give privacy in the evening. Bathrobes, slippers, an ironing board and an iron, a safe, and a mini bar were a few of the amenities. The good-sized bathroom offered a tub with shower and fluffy towels. The neutral interior colors soothed and the carpeting appeared to be new. I especially appreciated the excellent lighting. And, yes there was a big flat-screen TV.

The 31st floor had a pool with a breathtaking view of the city and harbor as well as a fitness center, operated by a private concern but offered free to hotel guests.

Best of all, it was a fabulous value for me because I got a good deal on the room through Hotwire.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
Thank Rumples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review.

I am pleased we were able to accommodate your early check in, and it is great to know you were impressed with every aspect of your stay.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming your return to InterContinental Sydney.

Yours sincerely
Fred Matti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,419)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,315 - 3,319 of 4,419 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

While nothing is 5+ stars outstanding about the Intercontinental, you won't be disappointed in this as a choice for home base in Sydney. Located less than 5 minutes from Circular Quay the ferries and Opera House and across the street from the beautiful botanical gardens. Rooms are of a decent size although a bit tired. The bed was very comfortable and we had a great night's sleep. Breakfast is a very large buffet that will certainly satisfy all tastes and appetities, but at a steep price. We found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. Would stayhere again if the price was right.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winwolf56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

I appreicate your review, thank you and it is always great to know that our guests have departed after having an enjoyable stay.

We do look forward to welcoming your return to Intercontinental Sydney.

Thank you again.

Fred Matti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Very impressed. Well situated with clean and tidy room. Close to CBD, Opera House and parks. Gym is fantastic and well equippt on level 31

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
Thank ClivenMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Thank you for your review, short and straight to the point. Appreciated.

Hopefully you will return to us again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely
Fred Matti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I have stayed in Sydney many times before but this was the first time I have tried the InterContinental.
This was a bit of a strange stay as I was travelling around Australia but kept coming back to Sydney so I checked in 3 times.
First impressions were good with helpful staff on arrival (each time) and helpful check-in. However, even with one night's break I was unable to keep the same room. But the front of house staff kept the bags without problem.
Breakfasts are excellent but queues can get long at peak periods.
Lower rooms can get noisy so see if you can stay high. I had a low, middle and high in my 3 stays.
The central cafe/restaurant is pricey so I would advise walking a few hundred metres to the CBD.
Location is good but anyone with any mobility issues should be aware that it is up a hill which, in places, can get steep.

Room Tip: Go higher for less noise
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KentPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am very pleased you have enjoyed your all stays with us. I am sorry we were unable to leave your luggage in the same room inbetween your comings and goings. More than likely the room may have been booked for another guest whilst you were away. We do not mind at all storing luggage for guests if they require this service.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming your return.

Yours sincerely
Fred Matti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Check in was smooth, they accomodated an early check in, however did not resolve a room change issue with our booking. This was resolved within 15 minutes to our satisfaction. Aside this minor issue everything else was pure class. The many staff were very courteous and always available and ready to meet your request or offer assistance. They did a fantastic job without expecting a tip. We generally tip for good service even though this is not compulsory in Australia. Our room was lovely and spacious. One night we went out for dinner and when we returned I was astonished to find our bed had been make, ice sitting in a cooler waiting for us and few other really lovely goodies. Breakfast was lovely and relaxing. We had a seafood buffet dinner one night and that was lovely and again very relaxing and done with class. You did not have left over plates on your table for more than a minute..........fantastic.
Everything was fabulous. After all I had high expectations since President George Bush, Opera and Britney Spears stayed there and it didn‘t let down.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelly2126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 178 in Sydney
6,465 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#18 of 178 in Sydney
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#11 Family Hotel in Sydney
#15 Business Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $210 - $549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, IHG, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing