We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,404)
Filter reviews
1,404 results
Traveller rating
655
497
159
61
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
655
497
159
61
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift boutique hotel opera house scarlett restaurant great location a ground floor room lovely boutique heritage building night manager small hotel cruise ship close to circular quay botanical gardens an easy walk george street rocks harbour
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 1,404 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and had a great experience! Very darling boutique hotel in a convenient location! Delicious breakfast and lovely patio. Moss at the front desk was very accommodating and friendly.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank SeattleTiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren J, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear SeattleTiara,
Thank you so much for your review & 5 star rating on trip advisor. We truly appreciate you sharing your recent experience and I will ensure your feedback is shared with our team and especially Moss. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Regards
Lauren Job
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights after an extremely long flight from the UK!

Staff were very friendly as we checked in and the view as we entered the room was unreal - the opera house out of one window and the harbour bridge out the other. The location was also excellent, right on the Rocks.

No lift for customers but a service lift for luggage so this wasn’t a problem for us.

Would 100% recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren J, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Hannah S,
Wow! Thank you so much for your review & 5 star rating on trip advisor. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback about our staff & location. I will ensure your comments are shared with our team & we can't wait to welcome you back soon!

Regards
Lauren Job
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

I absolutely loved staying at the harbour rocks hotel Sydney. We arrived very early in the morning and to our delight our room was ready. So we were able to have a freshen up before heading out into town for our first day's exploring. The hotel is in a superb location very near the harbour bridge and circular keys, from where you can catch various ferries and cruises to take you round the harbour. You can also easily get the train to and from the airport, which we didn't realise until our return journey that saved us the cab money by going back to the airport on the train. The hotel itself is cute, quirky, decorated in cool neutrals and a welcome change from characterless chains. Without exception every member of staff we came across was polite, friendly, and knowledgeable about the area. They were genuinely really super people.
My two reasons for not giving this hotel five stars: there is no free Wi-Fi in the rooms at all. So even simply checking your emails once a day only becomes possible in the public areas. I think in this day and age for a hotel of this quality free Wi-Fi shouldn't be too much of a problem to offer. My other reason is there was no complementary water in the rooms at all. I do not mention these problems to stop you booking, in fact I want you to book, this is a great hotel with really super people, but I mention these faults in the hope that the hotel decides that free Wi-Fi and free water would be welcome additions for their guests.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you have baggage.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren J, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Louise L,
Thank you so much for your review on trip advisor. It is a pleasure to receive positive feedback about our "really super people". Our sincere apologies for not joining you to our loyalty program, as all our members receive free wifi & free water. I will ensure your comments are shared with our team &we hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Regards
Lauren Job
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

This was our 2nd stay at the hotel. The service on arrival and departure was outstanding! Unfortunately the non-smoking room had a very strong cigarette smell which made the stay not as pleasurable. We love the character and history of the building.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren J, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Angela J,
Thank you for your review on trip advisor. Please accept our sincere apologies for the smell in your room, our team are always happy to arrange a room move. It is a pleasure to read that your arrival & departure experience was outstanding. We hope we can welcome you back for your 3rd stay.

Regards
Lauren Job
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night for a getaway with the hubby. We only had a basic room which had no view but it was clean, modern and with a nice vibe. The hotel itself is on one of the main streets in the Rocks and yet beautifully tucked away from the hustle and bustle. Staff were lovely, the hotel ambience cosy and modern yet in perfect keeping with the historic Rocks architecture.

Perfect stay if you don't want a big city hotel experience but top quality service, great location and amenities. Happy hour was a bonus and gave us the opportunity to have drinks on the equally ambient terrace.

Just be prepared to walk up the stairs! Though it didn't worry us - it might be a deal breaker for less mobile visitors.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tania H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren J, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Tania H,
Amazing! Thank you so much for your review & 5 star rating on trip advisor. We are so happy you & your husband had a lovely getaway with us. It is a pleasure to hear about our quality service and great location. We hope we can welcome you back soon!

Regards
Lauren Job
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews