We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and Dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ranked #27 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, QLD
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tired and Dated”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I recently overnighted at Four Seasons Sydney. It's unfortunate that International hotels in Australia are not keeping pace with modern times and contemporary expectations. The Four Seasons has a tired lobby harking back to the early 80's. My room on the ninth floor was in desperate need of a facelift and a fresh scent. I was disappointed to find limited amenity, mouldy tiles and basin that wouldn't drain. I won't be visiting again until a refurbisment program is in place.

Room Tip: Rooms that have a view to Quay inevitably look at a freeway overpass.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SelectiveTravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,191
    1,435
    632
    215
    137
See reviews for
817
2,725
329
1,078
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Our first stay since it was The Regent in 1997. It's even better and our glorious Harbour view room was an absolute treat complimented by warm and professional service levels. To be highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This is probably the forth or fifth Sydney CBD hotel I've reviewed given a propensity to try new places and keep the travel interesting.

I'm a sofitel fan and in manynways, the four seasons feels like a bigger if slightly more dated version of the same thing.

To start, the location is arguably amongst the best in the city centre. Rooms appear to either have great city or, in my case, harbor views. And whether short term tourist or business traveller, it's hard to think of a more convenient city centre spot -ferries, harbour, opera house, the rocks, botanic gardens, all within moments.

The entrance is big and impressive and service from the doorman to check in to room service staff is pretty slick.

My room wasn't massive and the presence of a pretty large (and exceedingly comfortable) bed, together with chunky desk, sideboard and lounge chair didn't leave a massive amount of floor space. That said, better to have less room and quality fittings than a massive space without a great feel to it.

Bathroom was nice enough... Separate bath and shower, something I'm a big fan of personally. Little touches like the very nice toiletries help reinforce a feeling of value for the dollars you're paying.

And finishing on that note, my room was 220 or so. I'm not sure of the typical rates, by for that price, it's pretty good value for money. Im not sure it's any better than the Hilton (location aside, where this place wins) and I still like the sofitel, but I'd be very happy to be stuck back here for a few days!

Room Tip: Don't worry too much about harbor views if you're strugguling with the tariff, the city view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling-Welsh-Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed for 5 nights as a short break in Sydney to see the sights.

You couldn't get a much better location (although I think the Park Hyatt manages it), right by Circular Quay, and I am sure the Harbour View rooms have a lovely view, but otherwise we were thoroughly underwhelmed by this hotel.

We opted for a city view room, figuring that the extra for a harbour view was not worth the extra $100 per night (you do see plenty of the opera house wandering around the area).

The room was small and functional. We expected more room from a luxury hotel at the price paid - as it was, we rather felt we were subsidising the rooms with a harbour view.

The bed was comfortable, overly soft if anything, and reasonably sized.

The bathroom looked dated. The shower had insufficient pressure which was disappointing. The toiletries were by L'Occitane, but did not feel as luxurious as the name might suggest, and we wondered whether they were just refills.

Cleaning was good on most days, but on one day they failed to clean our room by our return at 1500hrs (after leaving the room at 0830), which is well below expectations from a luxury hotel.

The pool is on the 3rd floor (not the rooftop), is quite small for a hotel of this size, and is located near the road and railway line to and from the Harbour Bridge - it was quite noisy, and not relaxing. The look was very dated (the hotel is a bit of a 1970s beige monstrosity from the outside).

We used the spa for a massage - the area is small, and you can faintly hear the reception chatter while you're having a massage. My wife enjoyed her massage, but I was disappointed with mine - it felt almost amateurish.

The changing area and sauna/steamroom area is small, but attractive. It feels packed with more than 3-4 people using it. We did not use the gym, but it was airy and well-equipped (why those on the treadmills didn't go for a run outside mystified us though!)

On one evening there was a 2 inch cockroach in the lobby area, near the lifts - it looked like it had come from the kitchen area behind the bar, which is worrying.

We were also irritated by the front desk insisting on holding $100 per night on our card on arrival, despite our having already paid for the room online. This had also not been made clear on making the booking. This implies a lack of trust in the customer, which frankly we found insulting.

We did not use the restaurant so cannot comment on the quality of the food, but the price for adding breakfast was extortionate - there are many cheaper places to get a good breakfast within 10 mins walk.

If we were staying in Sydney again, we would choose an alternative hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spaniel33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canby, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed four nights at this hotel and enjoyed it. The location is the best ever, right next to the bridge, harbor and opera house. We walked to everything which is a huge plus. Our room was very good and the beds are extremely comfortable. We stayed on the 18th floor (room 1810) and had an excellent view of the bridge, harbor and opera house.

I do have one complaint. They charge $25 per day for internet access which I think is crazy. With the price of these rooms internet should be free. It's free at McDonald, Starbucks and even the ferries.

Our stay included free breakfast which was good. However if it wasn't included we would have never paid $42 per person for this meal. The food was good but no breakfast is worth that much money.

The staff is very friendly and professional. We especially enjoyed the young woman that checked us into the hotel. I think her name was Anissa. The rooms are clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Room 1810 had an outstanding view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKH-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#29 of 179 in Sydney
6,348 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4,328 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
1,282 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 179 in Sydney
1,758 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Address: 199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Sydney
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#25 Family Hotel in Sydney
#27 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): $203 - $680
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly situated overlooking Sydney Harbour in the historic Rocks district, a short walk from the city's shopping and business centres, Four Seasons is vibrant and elegant, with dramatic harbourfront views and a luxurious day spa featuring exclusive skincare and aromatherapy treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Hotelopia, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Sydney
Four Seasons Sydney
Sydney Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing