We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Location / View - Restaurant so-so”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Ranked #82 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
335 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Awesome Location / View - Restaurant so-so”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Would stay here again - but not eat in the restaurant. Great location - easy walking distance to all the "must see" spots in Sydney as well as quick to walk to trains and buses. Concierge staff was warm, friendly and very helpful. They tended to be very busy - so waiting until 9am to discuss the day's possible tours is not a good idea.

We landed on the 6am flight from the US, and while no rooms were available until 2pm, they gave us access to the fitness center to shower and freshen up. very nice.

Room was actually I thought a step up from other Four Points I've stayed in the US. Great hot water and lots of water pressure. Comfy beds and fluffy towels.

Our view overlooking Darling Harbor was great.

The restaurant, however, was expensive and really not worth the price. Their seafood buffet, if you liked everything on it, was probably a reasonable price at 50AUD for "all you can eat" crab legs, lobster tail, shrimp, etc. However, the lobster was chewy, the shrimp overcooked, and we didn't bother with the crab legs. Continental breakfast buffet was 30AUD - and really not worth it. Most of the fruit was good - some was under-ripe and there wasn't really anything that stood out as "wow - that's worth the money". On the other hand, the wine prices (as I found across Australia) were more reasonable that most US hotels. Sparkling wine, by the glass, starting at 7AUD.

In room dining had a stiff delivery fee ... but they did forewarn you on the in room menu.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scuba_Divers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Scuba_Divers,

Thank you for your review. I’m glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay and that you were happy with your harbour view room. Your favourable comments particularly on the caring service of our Concierge and Front Office teams are very much appreciated. I am also grateful for your constructive comments on your dining experience as these allows as the opportunity to review areas of operations where we failed to meet our guest expectations. We take guest feedback seriously and I have shared your comments with our Kitchen and Food & Beverage Department. Rest assured, we are continuously making improvements on our product, facilities and service to enhance guest stay and experience. Again, thanks for the gift of feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour.


Yours sincerely,

David Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,011
    1,451
    615
    219
    158
See reviews for
381
1,245
222
1,058
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (986)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Good hotel in a great location only minutes walk to all the attractions and restaurants of Darling Harbour. Ensure you get a Darling Harbour view for a memorable stay, the alternative can't be much chop. Mistakingly I thought a hotel of this standard had valet parking but you must drop off your luggage at the front and dart across the road to a public car park and park your own car. Not a deal breaker but not what I would have expected. Staff good. Rooms OK. This hotel is mainly about position, position, position.

Room Tip: Spend extra for a room on the Darling Harbour side for a memorable stay. Otherwise you are likely t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Draganotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Draganotz,

Thank you for your review. Indeed, we are fortunate to be in Sydney’s best location and I hope you were able to see the many exciting nearby attractions and experience the amazing array of dining and entertainment venues during your visit. Unfortunately, the hotel was not built with a car parking facility and due to this limitation, valet parking is not provided at the hotel and I do apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour.

Yours sincerely,

David Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights on business.

Hotel is nice looking, door staff are very helpful and friendly. Check-in was quick and efficient. Breakfast is very good, but doesn't change much from day to day. Room service dinner on a few nights was very good. All staff were friendly and helpful.

Location is good for both business and holiday travelers.

On the downside, room was cold and heater struggled to get above 19 degrees. Had to turn the heater off at night because the fan was noisy. Only one cover on the bed and no extra blanket so I was quite cold. In terms of amenities, they had the usual array of shampoo, conditioner etc but no bathrobe or slippers. Again, slippers would have been handy when walking on the cold bathroom floor.

Not a bad hotel for business travelers but you can also get the Marriott or Hilton for a similar price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyB_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Would stay again.. Close to everything. Great service / staff .. Thanks again

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soniccheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear soniccheese,

Thank you for taking the time to post your views of your stay at our hotel on Tripadvisor. Customer care and guest satisfaction are a big focus at the Four Points and I’m pleased to know that we you were pleased with your stay. I appreciate your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel, hopefully, in the not so distant future.

Yours sincerely,

David Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Stayed here many times on business. Can't fault. Good central location, great service.

Room Tip: Harbour side definitely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flatwhitecoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear flatwhitecoffee,

Thank you for your positive review! I very much appreciate your continued patronage of our hotel and delighted to learn that you are happy with our great location and service delivery.
It is always reassuring when we hear from our guests and learn that we have met their expectations. Again, thank you for your great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour, whether it be for business or leisure, hopefully soon.

Yours sincerely,

David Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,142 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sydney

Property: Hyatt Regency Sydney
Address: 161 Sussex Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#34 Family Hotel in Sydney
#35 Business Hotel in Sydney
#74 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): $220 - $544
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you need to travel the way you like. Located adjacent to Darling Harbour in Sydney's Central Business District (CBD), our hotel is a haven of relaxation for the business or leisure traveler. As Sydney's largest hotel, Hyatt Regency Sydney (formerly a Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour)boasts 892 guestrooms, three dining experiences, and 3,450 square metres of flexible meeting space. We invite you to enjoy an unparalleled Australian getaway. Hyatt Regency Sydney has the facilities to cater for all your needs. This includes complimentary Wi-Fi, tour services, laundry services, convenient room service, 24-hour front desk, limousine service, car rentals, parking (for a fee) and babysitting services - We can help you with all of that! Plus our guests have complimentary access to a 24-hour fitness centre. Hungry? Enjoy a tasty meal in a casual setting. The Sailmaker features 272 seats and an Australian-inspired menu. The Rooftop Bar, an open-air rooftop lounge (opening late December), offers guests unparalleled views of Darling Harbour. The Lobby Bar is located in the lobby and serves coffee, tea, snacks, and alcoholic beverages, while the Regency Club Lounge (opening late December) offers Regency Club guests a daily continental breakfast and all-day refreshments. At any hour of day, room service is available with an extensive menu. Our guest rooms feature comfortable beds, large flat screen TVs, cable television, movies on-demand, over sized work desk, complimentary Wi-Fi, in-room safe, air conditioning, alarm clock, wake-up service, hairdryer, tea & coffee making facilities, and a free weekday newspaper (on-demand). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
4 Points By Sheraton Darling Harbour
Four Points Darling Harbour
Four Points Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Four Points
Sydney Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing