We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Crest Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour(Sydney)(Great Value!)
USD 129*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 279*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Urban Newtown(Newtown)(Great Value!)
USD 82*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
USD 110*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 179*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 259*
USD 190*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Macleay Hotel(Sydney)(Great Value!)
USD 128*
USD 108*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
Cambridge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
USD 97*
USD 76*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 295*
USD 262*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Meriton Suites Pitt Street, Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
USD 133*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
1
6
2
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
6
2
7
7
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2006

A friend of mine and I visited the Hotel in August 2002 and we really enjoyed our stay!

We had a hotel room, which ovelooked the opera house and the bridge (Great full view)!

The staff is very nice and very helpful, the location is very lively at night and we never got bored walking in the hotel area!

Please note that when we were there there were quite a few strip joints in the area and there were people soliciiting clients to enter! That didn't bother us but if it bothers you don't go to this area!

Furthermore, there are several restaurants and bars in the area and the place is lively all night long but you will not hear any noise from your room!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oceanspirit81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2006

Stayed here for 3 nights. Reception staff were friendly. Room was tired and lacklustre. Even had wallpaper on the ceiling!!

I'd stay here again, but I would request a room that overlooks the city rather than Kings Cross - which is a real grotty part of Sydney. If your room overlooks Kings Cross, then you will find it very noisy at night! I found it very hard to sleep.

Staff were helpful with storing my suitcase and arranging transport to the airport, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Moggybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2006

Ww stayed here for a week and loved it! The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a spacious room with 1 double and 1 single bed for the two of us with a great view of the tower.

The hotel was a bit tatty, especially the bathroom where we had a permanent drip, and there was a strange smell in the corridor outside our room, but, apart from those minor details, we were really comfortable and relaxed. We were also glad to make use of the underground parking. The hotel offered a special offer for two people having breakfast which was very good value, but with so many alternatives we only had breakfast once at the hotel.

There was a great little pavement cafe next door to a bakery more or less opposite the main doors which served very reasonably priced but delicious food (also a very acceptable claret) where we ate cheaply and often.

The main beauty of this hotel is that everything you need is right there. Station, bus stops, supermarket, bars, cafes, restaurants, chemists, massages and most went on until very late so no worries about buying the bits and pieces that got overlooked during all that sightseeing.

Kings Cross is the red light district, and there were a number of adult entertainment venues, but the street was well lit and crowded, and as two females of a certain age we can say we felt perfectly safe and unmolested at any time of night.

If you are looking for those little extra touches of luxury, I guess you'll be disappointed, but if you're looking for a reasonably priced. lively location with good transport links this could be the hotel for you.

I hope to make a return visit before long, and although possibly due for a refurbishment, I really hope it doesn't change too soon.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joycey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2006

Arrived at hotel and taken to room that had a good view of the city on floor 6. Upon further inspection found dried blood (quite a bit actually) on duvet, rang roomservice to advise and made to feel like i was a nuisance. Walking into bathroom looked at the carpet to find someone elses disgusting toenail clippings, obviously not a great cleaner.
2nd night the power in room blew at 9.30pm, rang reception, (ours was the only room this had happened too, so it wasnt as though they were trying to help alot of others) half an hour later someone came to look - we are sitting in dark room waiting- he says he will be back shortly, rings and says power not able to be fixed that night pack up (in the dark) and they would move us to another room. Not impressed did as he said and waited another half hour until he finally came up with another key. We had been in a non smoking room, this time they moved us to floor 12 and overlooking the cross, noisy as hell especially coming from a room that was quite, also this was a smoking room.. No sorry kiss my ---- or anything from reception.
All the carpets are stained and the wallpaper is ripped. Everything is old and needs a lot of work to bring it up to a reasonable standard. Around bath is disgusting all needs to be re sealed. Dont look too closely you might not like what you see.
At $104 nz per night per person this place is far too expensive and would never stay again, would also advise others not to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank notimpressed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2006

Stayed for 3 nights during a trip from Africa to New Zealand. The hotel is old but cheap & comfortable. Staff were not you typical hotel staff but that made the stay better! The room maid kept everything very clean, the breakfast girls were always smiling and friendly and the front desk clerks couldn't do enough to help. Will stay there everytime I'm in Sydney!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank OzMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews