We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$276
Priceline
AU$276
Agoda.com
AU$232
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,554)
Filter reviews
2,554 results
Traveller rating
676
1,118
468
169
123
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
676
1,118
468
169
123
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central station great location darling harbour rooftop pool chinatown train
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 2,554 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2023

There are people using drugs in the hotel, causing a strong stink, but the front desk doesn't care and even accused me of meddling. There is no room service at all. The "Wake Up" hotel next door is not bad.

Room tip: Beware of drugs,my room is 1101 in 2023 /05 /10
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 December 2022 via mobile

The hotel was conveniently located just across Central station, and had lots of food and shops nearby.

We did have a disappointing experience with the hotel staff. Firstly, the room door was ajar when we checked in. Secondly, we were not able to lock the door from the inside. We informed the hotel staff but the staff did not seem to be able to understand how this might be a potential security flaw especially for the occupants of the room. (FYI the lifts did not require a card to access guest room floors).

Upon informing the hotel staff, the staff did not offer to change rooms for us or even offer any reassurance, but simply brushed it off instead. We truly hope that in future, the hotel would place more importance on the safety of guests.

The room was basic but needed some updating and more focus on the smaller details - corners were dusty, carpet was torn and had stains, water kettle was rusty. I guess for the price we couldn’t expect much either.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank carrots195
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 September 2022

Central Studio Sydney Hotel is basic but modern and comfortable. In terms of location, it is directly opposite Central Station. From the Grand Concourse at Central station, exit left and follow the path down and look out for the hotel across the road. I wish the hotel sign was bigger and more strategic though, we did miss it at first amidst the cold and rain. I've posted a photo of the entrance here for future guests' reference. Chinatown and Darling Harbour are about 15mins walking distance, but the Opera House and Circular Quay are further away. Ultimately, we chose Central Studio primarily because of its proximity to Central Station which is convenient from the airport and from which we could take a train to Katoomba to visit the Blue Mountains.

There are a number of shops and F&B near the hotel so that’s convenient, turn left upon exit and you will find a bakery, Taco Bell, KFC, McDonald’s, 7-11 and even Gong Cha!

Within the room, the bed is large (King) and comfortable, hot shower works but I did wish there was a hand-held shower (instead of a fixed rain shower), bidet and bedroom slippers as the carpet felt a little gross. Housekeeping and cleanliness can certainly be improved as while our room was reasonably clean, we spotted the same cup and noodle on the floor along the corridor throughout our 3 nights' stay!

Note that the reception is only manned from 9am to 5pm so you are on your own after that, not very assuring to foreign travelers. Such a pity as the lobby area is actually quite nice. The hotel should really consider improving on this aspect as after all, this is the core of hospitality isn't it, or at least provide a note with an emergency contact for guests as our hotel in Hobart did (their reception operated from 8am-9pm, definitely more reasonable hours than 9am-5pm!).

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank curious_n_curiouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 August 2022

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel in August 2022. The rooms were OK but the property needs maintenance. Ripped carpets and dirty walls. Coffee machine at reception area was broken. Toilets in reception had no toilet paper and were not cleaned.

2.5/5

Pros:
Terrific location. Handy to the Central Train Station for trains and light rail
Handy to Chinatown and there is a supermarket 5 mins away.

Cons:
Service was OK but not very helpful or friendly. Below average for a hotel charging this much.
Service desk was only manned during office hours.
Rooms are not cleaned. Ended up with damp towels and ran out of coffee/milk.
I could have requested towels etc. but got back too late in the evenings.
No early check in or late check out. Being a gold Hotels.com member, most hotels try to accommodate in some way. I know this is not always possible but it is good if they make an effort at least.

Recommendations:
OK for 1 night but i wouldn't do a stay longer than that.
Don't expect good service and you won't be disappointed.

Room tip: Don't stay more than one night
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank camyoungnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2022 via mobile

Situated right near Central Railway Station is a great position to explore the city from. Its an older hotel but the rooms are very clean and comfortable and have been refurbished.The bathroom was spotless. Housekeeping does a great job here. Its a great value hotel.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank sirbaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews