We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in Heritage District”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #27 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Caronno Pertusella, Italy
Level Contributor
109 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in Heritage District”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

The hotel is located in The Rocks district just in the centre of the historic district close by to the city financial hub, the docks, and within walking distance from Sydeny Opera and the Royal Botanical Gardens.
The hotel is well maintained with fast and efficient staff.
Good rooms, some of them with a stunning view on Sydney bay.
Truly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adalbore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,716
    1,582
    564
    264
    166
See reviews for
918
3,218
295
1,017
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,784)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed here for our three year anniversary in a Premier Grand Harbour View room. The room was fantastic and we had a wonderful dinner at Altitude restaurant where the staff were incredibly attentive, especially Aman who looked after us.

Everything was great until the next morning when we tried to order from in-room dining. We ordered at 9:30am. By 10:30am we still hadn't heard anything so we called to enquire about what was happening and were told that they would find out and call us back. We were never called back. At 11:30am we called to ask again what was happening and were told that there was no record of our order. We were not offered any apology and went home without breakfast.

To be honest, we've had better experiences in hotels a lot less prestigious than this one. It was a shame, because up until breakfast we really enjoyed our stay, but going home hungry does tend to put a dampener on things.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyBunting, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Leah P,

Thank you for your review regarding our property. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your evening in Altitude and will be sure to commend Aman for his service.

We are sorry and embarrassed to read about the problem you encountered with In-Room Dining and certainly agree it would have tarnished your experience. Our Resident Manager will be in touch with you shortly.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney and we do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Amy Bunting
Quality Improvement Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My wife and two young children stayed in the Shangri-La earlier this month for a week. The hotel itself is ieadlly located in the centre of the Central Business District and is a short walk from both the Harbour Bridge, Opera House and the Circular Quay Harbour which means you are ideally located for day trips and getting around this amazing city.

We booked an Horizon Club room with gave us outstanding views of the Opera House and Harbour aswell as access to the Horizon Club itself, which have the best views to enjoy a drink too. The club provides a breakfast buffett, snacks and evening canapes aswell as free drinks, the staff are very attentative and very rarely is your drink left empty. When we first visited the Horizon club we were greeted by Sabina who made our stay very special and looked after us (aswell as our two children) during our stay, my daughter wants to fly all the way back just to see her again.

The value of the Horizon club is exceptional and we were very pleased to have booked the Shangri-La, especially when comparing similar offers at other hotels in the same price bracket.

The rooms are clean, fresh and nicely decorated, the bathrooms are clean and well appointed and the bed very comfortable. All the staff we encounted were freindly, professional and eager to help.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this amazing city for its staff, location and value.

Room Tip: Book the Horizon Club rooms to enhance your stay, both for the views in the club room aswell as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhysChesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, CI
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The hotel has a commanding position overlooking the Harbour Bridge and Opera House. They say that they have spent millions refurbishing it recently but the Horizon Clubrooms have not yet been done.
However I would still recommend spending the extra money and booking a Club level room which gives access to the Lounge throughout the day and evening. The dedicated team looking after Club guests could not have been more friendly or helpful. Jasmine, Sabrina and Iris particularly should get a mention, unfortunately I cannot recall all of the other names but they all were marvellous.

Room Tip: Avoid the Darling Harbour View rooms as they overlook a busy major highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I took my partner here on Sunday for a birthday treat. We booked a Premier Grand Harbour View Room on the Horizon Club Floors (level 30) and the view from our room was absolutely stunning. Practically panoramic across the harbour. Horizon club lounge also had amazing views and the free canape and drinks reception from 6-8pm was a treat. Horizon club also offered free continental breakfast which was delicious. The staff could not have been more welcoming and attendant. I would highly recommend this hotel. Spending the extra on a room with a view on the horizon Club floors is definitely worth it for a special occasions.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drdaveyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 178 in Sydney
4,275 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
1,271 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#7 of 178 in Sydney
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#27 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): $235 - $640
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Hotelopia, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing