We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome Hotel”
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #38 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I stayed at the Hilton Sydney in Jan 2012 for 4 days and had a really great time. The room assigned to me had a great view of the city and the Sydney Harbor bridge. The room was very neat, bathroom and eminities were more than adequate. It was within walking distance to lot of restaurants and attractions. Had no issues at all with the stay. The staff was very friendly starting with the check-in process to final check-out. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip. Thank you, Hilton Sydney for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Select a high floor for good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTP7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Thank you for your review.

I am absolutely delighted you enjoyed your experience at Hilton Sydney and we certainly look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,482 - 3,486 of 4,553 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed at the Hilton over an Easter long weekend last year, and despite being very busy the hotel's service was excellent. The hotel itself is very nicely appointed, and is in an excellent location in the heart of Sydney. The best part however was the breakfast buffet. Not your usual fare, this was the most expansive buffet have ever seen in any hotel or resort. Watch out for the Custard and Chocolate donuts fresh each day, they are to die for!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willywonka09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Thanks very much for your feedback about your stay.

It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed our service, location and our renowned buffet breakfast; and we would love to serve you again this Easter!

Best wishes and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed in the Hilton in March this year. As Diamond members we received an upgrade to a relaxation suite which was very comfortable and roomy.
Room - modern, spacious, with a nice open bath in the room, separate luggage area (which is great - keeps the room tidy). We heard that standard rooms are very small.
Facilities - hotel is adjusent to a large Living Well gym, which is quite big, has a nice 20m pool, steam rooms and sauna.
Spa - again in the gym. Not fancy at all but at the same time not very expensive and most therapists know what they are doing. Recommended!
Executive Club Lounge - very good. With nice selection of nibbles, self service drinks. No table service but very pleasant.
Breakfast - food is OK, not as nice as in Asian hotels but much nicer than Sheraton and the likes. Can have a nice fresh juice, coffee, etc. Eggs take a long time and are not the best.
Service - very friendly.
Location - excellent, in the middle of the city.
All in All - Excellent hotel, as long as you stay in Relaxation room / suite or better you'll enjoy your stay!
We stayed in the Sheraton the weekend before and didn't like it at all. Hilton - thumbs up!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank styleandfashion888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay.

We value your loyalty as a Hilton Honors Diamond member and your feedback is important to us. I am sorry that your breakfast experience fell short of our usual 5 star standards, and please rest assured your comments have been relayed to the Management concerned for appropriate action.

We are delighted your stay was pleasant overall and look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney very soon.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed here for over a week. We were upgraded to the executive floor with access to the executive lounge, which is a nice benefit. The saff is nice and friendly and the room is nice. The executive lounge is nice with good drinks, food, and friendly staff. The location is just about a five minute walk to Darling Harbour and about twelve minutes to the Circular Quay. Right next to the city hall train station. Its central location is key.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaMonk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.

It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your experience at Hilton Sydney and we hope you will visit us again should your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My wife and I traveled it Australia for two weeks in February. We stayed at the Hilton Sydney from Feb 5-8, 2012. On our trip we stayed at the Intercontinental Sydney, the Jupiters Gold Coast and the Meriton in Brisbane. The Hilton Sydney beat them all, and we would happily stay there again!

The staff were very courteous and delightful to deal with. The check-in process was seamless, we were able to check in early in the morning even though normal check-in was at 3:00p. The room was very clean. Do get the breakfast package with the executive room, it saves so much time and money. The complimentary evening drinks and afternoon tea was an unexpected bonus!!

Now for the service: The mark of great service staff is not determined by whether or not they get your requests wrong, but how they recover from them. We as human beings inherently make mistakes. As happened on our stay. I had brought and AC voltage transformer with me from Canada, and accidentally put it on the wrong setting, burning it. Much to my wife's dismay whose hair straightener was supposed to be plugged into it. I asked the "Magic" staff for a transformer, but the person accidentally brought up an "adapter" ... needless to say my wife's hair straightener met its demise. I noticed what the problem was, but I opted to go purchase my wife a new (cheaper) hair straightener before I went to complain to the front desk.

They immediately fetched Sei, the manager, who was absolutely amazing in rectifying the situation. She investigated the issue with the Magic staff, researched how much my wife's hair straightener cost and immediately gave us a cash equivalent for it. No protest, no fuss, just an apology and pleasent service.

Prompt service, understanding of a customer's concern and immediately rectifying an error is what was great about this hotel staff. This is something out of the ordinary that I have not seen any hotel staff in Canada or US do.

The rest of our stay was very pleasant. Although the only thing I can complain about is something that I found to be a problem at every hotel in Australia; the Internet service fees of $29/day is ridiculous ( I pay that as my Monthly fee in Canada).

Room Tip: Choose a room with breakfast included, you'll enjoy the executive lounge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your detailed feedback, which we greatly appreciate.

I am delighted to read about your enjoyable stay, even though you experienced some disappointment along the way. We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused as a result of your above mentioned issues pertaining to the transformer and straightener; and I am pleased that you were satisfied with the outcome, given the situation at hand – I truly appreciate your understanding and patience.

I have indeed shared your comments with the team and acknowledged Sae’s efforts accordingly. The Hilton Brand always strives to deliver the highest possible standard of customer care, and your definition of great service is very much in keeping with what we aim for as a key aspect of our service.

I have also noted your feedback regarding the internet charges.

Again, thank you kindly and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#18 of 180 in Sydney
1,953 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#14 of 180 in Sydney
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#33 of 180 in Sydney
3,263 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#13 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $228 - $703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing