We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Perfect Package”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #37 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The Perfect Package”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Whenever I am in Sydney, I head straight for the Cambridge Hotel. This classy hotel ticks all the boxes:- Great location; Friendly, helpful and efficient staff; Clean and comfortable rooms; Reasonable tariff. I consider it the 'perfect' choice for everyone, even the most discerning guest.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneTruci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear BrisbaneTruci,
What a brilliant feedback , thank you and I will ensure that this is passed on to all staff. It is great to hear that we are your preferred choice for accommodation in Sydney. Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,501
    1,659
    566
    134
    68
See reviews for
819
1,312
466
679
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

My husband and son stayed here for a night three weeks ago and liked it so much, we are staying for 4 nights over Christmas. The Hotel is in a great area for restaurants and they say the hotel has a great trendy feel to it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Looly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Hi Looly1,
Thank you very much for your great feedback. I am very happy to read that you have had an enjoyable time at the Cambridge Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for Christmas.

Best Regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Knolls, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Our stay with Family and friends in Sydney for our wedding was made even better by the staff and facilities at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and always went out of their way to ensure they could help us with any problems/directions or requests we had.
The rooms were great , clean and well serviced.
The location was fantastic, close enough to the downtown of the city that we could walk in , but far enough out to have some peace from the bustle of the city.
The amenities surrounding the hotel make this a great location to stay with restaurants with in 5 minutes walking distance, but be sure to eat at the in house restaurant at the hotel as well, great food and service there as well.
Overall a great hotel and will be staying there again when we return to Sydney to visit friends.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking Riley Street so you can see the sun set from your balcony or window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Matt P,
I am delighted to read that you have had a fantastic stay at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney and that your wedding was a great success. Thank you for your great feedback regarding the staff, cleanliness of the facilities and the location. I hope that the next time you travel to Australia, Sydney the Cambridge Hotel will be your preferred accommodation again.

Best Regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

The Cambridge Suites could use an update. The location is great for those wishing to be near the Oxford St. attractions but the room decor and furnishings could do with a little attention. The kitchen area in our suite was barely serviceable for a week long stay and the fridge was tiny. One look at the dingy pool and spa area told me I would not be using it during our visit. The staff, however, were helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ordianryguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear ordinaryguy,

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that the location of the Cambridge Hotel was to your satisfaction. I am sorry to hear that the facilities of the hotel and your One Bedroom Suite were not to your satisfaction. Please note that this room type does not have a fully equipped kitchen but only a “kitchenette” as quoted on our website and on all online references. Please keep your eyes open for our new two bedroom apartments with a full kitchen coming soon. The hotel has been under a complete refurbishment in 2008 and is constantly undergoing soft renovations. Thank you for the great comments towards the staff.

I look forward to welcome you back very soon to show you our extended Cambridge experience coming up shortly.

Best Regards

Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I have stayed at the Cambridge many times and wouldnt stay anywhere else in Sydney. The location is great ,staff friendly and helpful and rooms are spacious and clean. Close to everything including transport. Railway station is just a short walk which can get you to anywhere in Sydney you might need to go. Also just a short walk to the city. Great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie255338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Julie255338,
Thank you for choosing the Cambridge Hotel Sydney, for your recent stay in Sydney. We were delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.
We would also like to thank you for the time that you have spared in writing your wonderful comments regarding our hotel. We are glad to hear that we met your expectation; it definitely motivates us to maintain and improve our standard of service and hospitality. Our team is always striving to achieve the highest of guest satisfaction.

Best Regards

Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#34 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#41 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Surry Hills
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#77 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Property: Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): $133 - $296
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool and spa. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking will never be an issue at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking available for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotelopia so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing