We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Nearby Hotels
USD 241*
USD 180*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 133*
USD 122*
ibis
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Travelodge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)
USD 96*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
USD 241*
USD 123*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 157*
USD 143*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
QT Sydney(Sydney)
USD 230*
USD 197*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
USD 179*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 203*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 221*
USD 201*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 295*
USD 260*
Pullman
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,703)
Filter reviews
4,704 results
Traveller rating
1,868
1,990
628
144
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,868
1,990
628
144
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurry hillsoxford streetgreat locationbalcony roommuseum stationhyde parkwalking distancefree wifigood sizeopera housepublic transportwould stay againreception staffmini barshort staybuffet breakfastcentral location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,034 - 4,039 of 4,704 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2012

My husband and son stayed here for a night three weeks ago and liked it so much, we are staying for 4 nights over Christmas. The Hotel is in a great area for restaurants and they say the hotel has a great trendy feel to it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Looly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Hi Looly1,
Thank you very much for your great feedback. I am very happy to read that you have had an enjoyable time at the Cambridge Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for Christmas.

Best Regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Our stay with Family and friends in Sydney for our wedding was made even better by the staff and facilities at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and always went out of their way to ensure they could help us with any problems/directions or requests we had.
The rooms were great , clean and well serviced.
The location was fantastic, close enough to the downtown of the city that we could walk in , but far enough out to have some peace from the bustle of the city.
The amenities surrounding the hotel make this a great location to stay with restaurants with in 5 minutes walking distance, but be sure to eat at the in house restaurant at the hotel as well, great food and service there as well.
Overall a great hotel and will be staying there again when we return to Sydney to visit friends.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking Riley Street so you can see the sun set from your balcony or window.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear Matt P,
I am delighted to read that you have had a fantastic stay at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney and that your wedding was a great success. Thank you for your great feedback regarding the staff, cleanliness of the facilities and the location. I hope that the next time you travel to Australia, Sydney the Cambridge Hotel will be your preferred accommodation again.

Best Regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The Cambridge Suites could use an update. The location is great for those wishing to be near the Oxford St. attractions but the room decor and furnishings could do with a little attention. The kitchen area in our suite was barely serviceable for a week long stay and the fridge was tiny. One look at the dingy pool and spa area told me I would not be using it during our visit. The staff, however, were helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ordianryguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Dear ordinaryguy,

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that the location of the Cambridge Hotel was to your satisfaction. I am sorry to hear that the facilities of the hotel and your One Bedroom Suite were not to your satisfaction. Please note that this room type does not have a fully equipped kitchen but only a “kitchenette” as quoted on our website and on all online references. Please keep your eyes open for our new two bedroom apartments with a full kitchen coming soon. The hotel has been under a complete refurbishment in 2008 and is constantly undergoing soft renovations. Thank you for the great comments towards the staff.

I look forward to welcome you back very soon to show you our extended Cambridge experience coming up shortly.

Best Regards

Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I have stayed at the Cambridge many times and wouldnt stay anywhere else in Sydney. The location is great ,staff friendly and helpful and rooms are spacious and clean. Close to everything including transport. Railway station is just a short walk which can get you to anywhere in Sydney you might need to go. Also just a short walk to the city. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie255338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear Julie255338,
Thank you for choosing the Cambridge Hotel Sydney, for your recent stay in Sydney. We were delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.
We would also like to thank you for the time that you have spared in writing your wonderful comments regarding our hotel. We are glad to hear that we met your expectation; it definitely motivates us to maintain and improve our standard of service and hospitality. Our team is always striving to achieve the highest of guest satisfaction.

Best Regards

Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

One of the nicest, friendliest hotels I have ever stayed in (and I stay in a lot through my work). Very efficient and friendly staff, good sized very clean rooms and close to some of the best bars and restaurants around. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: All rooms seem great.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear Simon B,
It is always a pleasure to hear that we have met our guest’s expectations and it is great that we have achieved this. We agree that the surroundings are ideal and hotel is an ideal base to explore and enjoy Sydney. I have passed on your wonderful comments to staff and thank you as it is always uplifting for the staff to hear from guests when they have done a great job. I do look forward to welcoming you, your friends and family back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews