We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Everything Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #37 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Everything Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Couldn't fault anything at the Cambridge.Great location,easy access to everyhting. Staff were all very friendly and helpful .Very clean and good sized room. Would definitely stay there again and work recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Hi Susan T
Thank you very much for your feedback. It is great that you enjoyed your stay at the Cambridge Hotel and that everything has been to your satisfaction. It is always great to hear that we have met guests expirations.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future


Warm Regards
Steven Gargano.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,414
    1,551
    538
    128
    64
See reviews for
775
1,233
433
640
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

It's very convenient to access almost everything in the city and highly recommend for a short trip travelers as well as business. You'll enjoy the whole experience through warm welcome at the reception and their service. I will definately recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily777_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Emily777_12

Thank you very much for your feedback on tripadvisor. It is wonderful to read that your recent stay with us has been to your satisfaction. Thank you also very much for the great comments towards our staff.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge Hotel Sydney.
Warm Regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Took the family to Sydney for the weekend & stayed at the Cambridge on Riley street located in Surry Hills. Location was really good for our weekend. Close to everything. Will definately stay there again. Very well prepared. Prompt service & large open rooms.
No waiting around when checking in/out!! (which is a bonus when you have kids!)

Room Tip: Try to chose a room with balcony to the streets. The smell of teh local restaurants is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilmore_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Gilmore_75
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We are truly grateful of client feedback in every instance. It is only through the guest feedback we know what we are doing right and where we can improve.

We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay and that the staff exceeded your expectations. Myself, the management and staff at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Thanks again and kind regards,

Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

A great experience from the reservation desk greeting until the time I departed. Close to everything and easy to get around. The cleanliness, the service and the food were all exceptional. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Bob C
Thank you very much for taking your time in posting your comment about your recent stay. Your positive comments have been forwarded to our staff which is a motivation for all of us to continue offering all our guests the highest standard of service possible.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel.

Kind regards,

Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Don't stay in this hotel, there are better places for the same price in Sydney.
The pictures in the website don't have anything to do with the room we got.
We didn't start too well when they gave us a twin room as supposed to a double room.
The room was quite old, specially the bathroom.
We needed a good night sleep but at 6 am we were woken up by the works they are carrying out at the back of the building to create some apartments.
Location is good, in Surrey Hills with lots of cafes near by.
The staff were not very friendly either.
Not a great experience in Sydney

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrodri81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Mrodri81,
I am very sorry to hear that your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel hasn’t met your expectations. I am a little confused about your comment regarding the display of the room types on our website. Our website has listed all rom types with the image displaying the selected room type. From your description I presume that you have booked one of our Atrium Rooms which are clearly descript as pool side with unrenovated bathroom. Please contact me directly to discuss this further.
I do apologise for the inconvenience caused due to the noise of the construction site next door. Please note that this is beyond our control, however this has now been addressed with Sydney City Council. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future to show you that we are committed to customer service and how we have used your feedback constructively.

Kind Regards

Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 178 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#42 of 178 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#20 of 178 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,891 reviews
Surry Hills
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Property: Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): $129 - $309
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool and spa. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking will never be an issue at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking available for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing