We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical short stay city hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #34 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
FALKIRK, SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Typical short stay city hotel”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Stayed for three nights .Good location with plenty of restaurants nearby in Oxford Street.Hotel clean with good room on 14 th floor.
In house restaurant only available for breakfast at a very steep 17 dollars. Much cheaper outlets available nearby.
Would not have been happy with longer stay due to basic nature of hotel but it was part of cruise package put together by travel agent so overall OK

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimS87A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear JimS87A
It is great to hear that your expectations have been met when staying with us at the Cambridge Hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your room. Please note that we offer very competitive breakfast for $ 17.95 which includes an all you can eat full buffet breakfast with 5 hot dishes, ham, cheese, bread and bread rolls, yoghurt, muesli, cereals and etc. We look forward to welcoming you, your friends and family back to the hotel in the near future.
Regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,590
    1,722
    578
    135
    70
See reviews for
852
1,370
478
720
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Had an excellent stay at the Cambridge Hotel. Visiting Sydney with friends from overseas and was impressed from check in to check out.
Front desk staff very friendly and helpful. We were checked in promptly and assisted with our bags up to our room. The front desk staff were always smiling and prompt with any questions.
We were located on level 9 of the hotel and had a great view of the city and even a view of the opera house. The room contained all the mod cons needed for our trip. The room was serviced daily and was always spotless. The mini bar was reasonable and the TV a good size with a great selection of channels, and most importantly the bed was very comfortable
The hotel was located in a great part of the city, Surrey Hills coffee shops and eateries on your doorstep, walking distance to hyde park and the CBD and a 2min walk to bus stops for destinations all over the city. We could not have chosen a more central location and walked to all tourist sights and destinations
Overall we were very impressed with the value for money, great customer service and friendly staff, thanks for making our trip to Sydney a great one and we will be back again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Ozal_9

How great to hear the you have had a wonderful time at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney. Indeed the hotel is situated in a great and exciting suburb. Surry Hills is famous for its great range of eateries, bars, boutiques and night clubs. Thank you very much for your great comments towards our staff and the hotel itself. We look forward welcoming you back to the Cambridge in the near future.
Best Regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I had a brilliant stay at the Cambridge. The staff were friendly, the room was comfortable and clean. The room was cleaned and the bed made every day, clean towels provided and soap, shampoo re-stocked. It is convenient for everything - you can walk to the CBD, the Harbour, Circular Quay, Darling Harbour, Central Station, the beaches are a bus ride away, and there are plenty of good bars and restaurants nearby. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Ann F
I am so happy that you have had a great stay at the Cambridge Hotel. We are always aiming for the highest guest satisfaction and it is great to hear that we have achieved this. Thank you for your great comments towards our staff, the amenities and the location of the hotel. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Best Regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed 4 nights over Mardi grad weekend, room rate on Saturday of the parade was $399, which is very steep. I have stayed here on a regular basis over the last 10 years and there has been little improvement or upgrading of rooms, linen is of poor quality, and the lifts are always a problem, as there are only 2 minuscule lifts for a 14 story hotel. Cupboard space in the 'deluxe balcony room' was tiny and poorly designed. Position makes up for a lot of the downsides

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donaldasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear donaldasher,
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel. I am sorry to hear the we did not meet your expectations in regards to room rate and the standard of the hotel room. Please note the Mardi Gras weekend is one of the busiest weekends for hotels in Sydney. Mardi Gras weekend together with New Year's Eve are the nights with the highest occupancy in Sydney. I do apologies for the inconvenience with the long wait for the lifts, however I must point out that the hotel has undergone a total refurbishment in 2009. All rooms were refurbed along with the lobby and lifts. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel to show you that we are committed to guest satisfaction and how we have used your feedback constructively.
Warm Regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I recently stayed at the Cambridge Hotel to enjoy the sights and sounds of Sydney and catch up with some friends that I hadn't seen in ages. I have to say that my trip from start to finish was exceptional! When it comes to staying away from home I am a bit of prude and very frugal with my money. I want the best value for it but also at the same time except that you cant expect to have 5* accommodation on a 1* budget! (I'd be an idiot if I thought I could actually get it for this!) This is where I think the Cambridge has hit the spot, affordable yet appealing accommodation at its best!

The service was fantastic, on arrival I was able to park my car in the multi storey car park below the hotel. Although this is not part of the hotel its ideally situated if you drive. I took the elevator up to reception where I was greeted with a warm smile and friendly hello by a lady named Donna. She checked me in nice and quickly, the usual protocol credit card, fill in your details etc and I was whizzed off to my room 1208! Something to note is that only guests with a room key card can gain access to your floor before the lift will operate, leaving me feeling safe and secure that not every Tom, Dick or Harry can access the hotel.

On entry to my room the view was fantastic, it was clean, fresh and had all the mod cons needed; phone, wifi - prepaid, iPhone doc, desk, lounge area, large tv with Foxtel (it even had the sports channel!), mini bar which was very well priced a beer was only $4.00 and air con.

Where the hotel was located was another great benefit, it is in the heart of Surry Hills and a 1 minute walk onto Oxford street where all the bars, clubs and restaurants are and if you want to head into the CBD then that will take you 15-20mins scenic walk through Hyde Park or a taxi ride 5-10mins costing $10-$15.00 (there is plenty of public transport also).

In the mornings I had breakfast in the 212 cafe, I was served by Adam, very professional & polite, he was quick and efficient with my order leaving me little time to time to read my complimentary news paper lol. On one of the evenings I had to organise a restaurant for me and my friends to go to, so I asked the reception desk if they could recommend anywhere. I was greeted by a lady called Sarah, again like all the other staff I had spoken to during my stay, she was knowledgable & friendly and knew loads about the local area. She recommended a pizza place around the corner from the hotel called Mad Pizza. She also recommended a pub across the road from the hotel called the Porter House, a lively Irish pub, with special $10.00 meal offers and a pub quiz on a Wednesday. However I opted for the pizza place, if you get the chance I certainly encourage dining here, the pizza's are devine and again the service is second to none, polite friendly and efficient!

Whilst on my stay I also found out that they are splitting the hotel in to three separate hotels. They are currently building a new section which is due to finish in August 2012. It is going to be a 5* serviced apartment type hotel leaving the Cambridge to remain at 4* and another part of the hotel to be 3* giving lots more variety to those with different budget types! Fantastic concept!

Lastly, although it may be seen as a negative, they dont have a gym within the hotel, however they have arranged for guests staying to have free access to a gym around the corner called Boxing Works (www.boxingworks.com.au). It is actually quite nice to leave the hotel especially when it is in bid to get some exercise! Being a regular gym user, I do like a clean and friendly place to work out, this place is great! Although it is mainly martial arts users, the gym was clean, I could find the weights where I needed to, cardio machines were sweat free, no intimidating Personal Trainer looking over my shoulder and the staff are polite & friendly. I recommend doing a Boxercise class I did the 6.15pm class on Monday, it was busy but the atmosphere was amazing!

The three nights I spent there were brilliant, and I had a really good nights sleep on all occasions, the bed was comfortable & clean, and the pillows are to die for! The level of service I received was great, the staff were friendly & polite right from the smiley House Keepers to the Managers on reception, always willing to please, they honestly couldn't do more for you. I would certainly recommend this hotel to friends and family members to come and stay!

Thank you for an amazing stay and I will be sure to check in soon!

Room Tip: I'd say call and book directly with the hotel and avoid the middleman as I have experienced in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Chappy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Happy_Chappy77,
Thank you very much for your great and extensive feedback regarding the hotel. It is wonderful to hear that you have had a great time while staying with us at the Cambridge Hotel. I have passed on your comments to the staff who are always grateful to have positive feedback, We hope that you call the Cambridge Hotel your home away from home from now on and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind Regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#39 of 178 in Sydney
1,586 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#40 of 178 in Sydney
825 reviews
Meriton Suites Zetland
#11 of 178 in Sydney
2,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#98 of 178 in Sydney
4,786 reviews
Inner South
Meriton Suites Waterloo
Meriton Suites Waterloo
#21 of 178 in Sydney
1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Property: Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): $148 - $320
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool and spa. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking will never be an issue at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking available for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing