We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much better than it looks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #37 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Much better than it looks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Don't be put off by the initial appearance of the hotel the room we had was more than adequate
The girls on the front desk are really helpfull.
We arrived from Dubai at 07:00 to be told our room wouldn't be available until 2 pm however the girls showed us to a shower room where we could freshen up and get changed. They also took our number and contacted us around 12 to let us know our room was ready
The hotel is clean comfortable and ideally situated being just a short walk from many attractions.
An ideal base for our short trip
A couple of "niggles" I wasn't too happy about we're
1. The credit card holding of $100 dollars for items extras we were told wouldn't be repaid for 10 working days. Which is FAR TOO LONG
2. Try and avoid a room overlooking the police station and the Irish pub as it gets very noisy on a weekend
Other than that it was fine

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob_the_Fireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Hi Bob_the_Fireman,

I am glad to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay at the Cambridge Hotel and the standard of service we provide. Thank you also for your feedback regarding the pre-authorisation release of the credit cards and the allocation of the rooms. Please advise our front desk staff at check out if you wish to have the amount released right away. We can with cooperation of the banks release the amount if a fax is sent .
I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,498
    1,659
    566
    134
    68
See reviews for
819
1,311
466
678
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

This was our 5th time staying at the Cambridge. I dont think we will ever stay anywhere else when we visit Sydney. The staff are all so polite and friendly, nothing is a trouble for them. We spent a bit extra this visit and stayed in high floor room with a balcony, it was truely amazing, sunrise from the 13th floor is a must see. We will be back in March.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZHN555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Hi ZHN555,
To see the sunrise from the higher floors is indeed truly amazing, I have had the pleasure to experience this myself before. I am glad to hear that everything was to your satisfaction and that you call the Cambridge your home away from home.
I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fitzroy
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

This hotel used to be good value but now that the prices have gone up a lot it's not so good. Perfectly clean and comfortable but a bit overpriced. Great location. Walking distance to Central station, Surry Hills resaturants and very close to Oxford St.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tess13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Tess13,

I am pleased to read that you have had a great time with us at the Cambridge Hotel and that the hotel and its location have been to your satisfaction. Please note that we have peak season in Sydney at this time of the year which results in higher rates throughout Sydney hotels. Please subscribe our newsletter or follow us on facebook to be the first to learn about upcoming specials and great rates for your weekend getaway.

Kind Regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed at Hotel for two nights recently (Mon/Tues), great location. Split air con a bit noisy and located bedside, lifts slow, tv clarity quite poor, front desk slow but staff try. Room clean & tidy.
Reasonably priced and would go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FOOT99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear FOOT99,
I am very sorry to learn that your recent stay has not been to your satisfaction and that we could not meet your expectations regarding the air con, lifts, TV and the front desk staff. Your comments have been passed on to each Manager of the related department for investigation and they all joining me in offering a sincere apology. It is great to hear that were satisfied with the cleanliness and pricing of the room.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and to demonstrate how we have used your feedback constructively.

Warm Regards
Steven Gargano.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Recently My husband and i had the opportunity to stay at the Cambridge Hotel, as regular visitors to Sydney we found the location of the hotel to be within walking distance to all that we wanted to do. The staff were fantastic and went out of their way to make you feel comfortable whether it be by answering questions about where to locate things to the simple friendly smiles and greetings each time you entered or exited the hotel. I definately recommend staying here again. Clean, comfortable and most of all friendly....

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear Sharon M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a feedback.

It is truly gratifying to hear such positive feedback about the hotel and the staff.

I am happy hear that we were able to meet your expectations and have passed on your feedback to all staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Steven Gargano
General Manager
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#34 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#41 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Surry Hills
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#77 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Property: Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): $133 - $296
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool and spa. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking will never be an issue at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking available for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotelopia so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing