We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten free options, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Ranked #86 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This hotel offered gluten free options at breakfast. Fresh fruit, gluten free rice bubbles, bread for toast, just ask the serving staff no separate toaster.The Sydney Entertainment center is across the road, Paddys Market across the square and there is a Chinese street market on Friday night behind the hotel in China Town. Monorail and Light rail stop in the square out front. 10 minute walk to the Convention Centre and the shopping area in George st, QVB etc is 15 min walk. The room key is a plain white swipe card with no markings, you need this to use the elevator and access the hotel late at night. Room had, Ironing board, Iron, kettle, fridge and a guest laundry. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbwno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Your valuable feedback is very much appreciated and were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We trust that you will choose to stay with us again, next time you are visiting Sydney.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,084 - 1,088 of 1,571 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

Staff was friendly and very helpful. Location is great!!! Everything is walk-able!!! Large enough rooms as well!!! Breakfast menu can be improved a bit, but otherwise it was a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stubborngene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Thank you for taking some time to provide feedback after your recent stay with us. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to weclome you back at some time in the future.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

For a room under $200 in Sydney that is clean, more than adequate and professionaly operated, you cannot beat this hotel.
It is in a perfect location near restaurants, nightlife and major tourist attractions. Transport to anywhere within the city is only minutes away.
This is an ideal base for tourism in Sydney.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellinallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Your valuable feedback is much appreciated and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the central location of the hotel convenient to your needs. We trust that you will stay with us again next time your are visiting Sydney.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We arrived straight from international airport & were gobsmacked by our welcome to htel or lack of it! The receptionist gave us 1 key for 3 twin share rooms ( didn't do her job properly) and I had to point out the voucher was for 6 people ( 3 superior twin rooms) then she proceded to give us rooms on 3 different floors. We requested since we booked together to have rooms on the same floor please. This was TOO difficult for the receptionist who passed us onto the manager on duty. We weren't made to feel wecome, there was no communication made except that necessary to book us in. Disappointed, we made our way up in the lift. We were so excited that we didn't realise the lift hadn't left ground floor ( funny now) and then a staff member jumped in and highjacked us to 6th fl. Again we were gobsmacked ... with 6 women in the lift, we thought he might have stopped on the 3rd fl for us but NO ... however, he did show us how to operate lift with our cards.... We spent 3 nights in this hotel and not once were we welcomed back when we returned after a day out. The concierge staff were brilliant and were the highlight of our trip, assisting us with taxis and complimentary umbrellas and we will forever remember them for that but we are still laughing with family & friends about the rudeness of the reception team ..... Your hotel's loss I'm sure. A different city for our nursing catchup next time!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank famoffivecadzows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Thank you for your recent posting after your stay with us. We were disappointed to hear your comments regarding your experience with our Front Office Team and we would appreciate if you wiould contact us directly at dos@holidayinndarlingharbour.com.au so that we may gain some further details from you and in turn counsel the staff concerned as this manner and attitude is totally unacceptable. Once again, we thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and look forward to hearing from your further in the near future.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Set close to the mono rail, markets, china town and an easy walk to Darling Harbour and Circular Quay everything about the location worked for us. The room itself was well appointed and had everything we would need for our long weekend away.
However the front desk service, or rather lack of, was at time a real spoiler. We never felt as though our requests were understood or recieved with any real desire to see our stay as any more than money in the bank.
We like to stay where the people we are in fact supporting financially seem to care about our experiance. Hence I cannot see us staying here in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SallyAnn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us, your valuable feedback is much appreciated. We were disappointed to hear your comments regarding our Front Office Staff and I have forwarded a copy of your comments to our Front Office Manager who will investigate further and where possible counsel the staff concerned. Once again we thank you for your valued feedback.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#64 of 181 in Sydney
4,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#61 of 181 in Sydney
1,366 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Address: 68 Harbour St, Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $154 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emanating a quiet charm right in the middle of the action, Holiday Inn Darling Harbour has the best that Sydney has to offer on its doorstep. A heritage listed former Wool Store cloaks the northern wing of the hotel in history. Situated in the southern end of Sydney's central business district, the hotel is ideally positioned to allow you to make the most of your visit to Sydney. Take a leisurely stroll through Darling Harbour with its many attractions. The vibrant Chinatown and Latin Quarter are close by and the Qantas Credit Union Arena is right across the road. You can walk to some of Sydney's best restaurants, theatres and shopping complexes. For something a little different, board a ferry or the light rail for sightseeing. Trains and buses to Pitt Street Mall shopping precinct and Circular Quay are nearby too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing