We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Ranked #85 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed here recently on a good advance purchase rate including buffet breakfast. Arriving before noon we were able to use our room immediately. The receptionist was courteous and efficient. Checkout was also quick and efficient.

The room was quite good except the bathroom is showing its age.

This Holiday Inn is well located on the edge of Chinatown and a short walk to Darling Harbour attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citizentraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and have also noted your comments regarding our bathrooms. We are pleased to tell you that we are now in the process of finalising an upgrade program for our bathroos that is expected to commence in the near future.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your comments, they are much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,106 - 1,110 of 1,571 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

I have stayed at the Holiday Inn a number if times and dislike it. Try to get a bottle opener - my experience in asking for something to open a beer on the room when dinning in the room is that they only have one opener in the whole hotel and hence can't provide one. I have had rooms with cockroaches which I reported but didn't see much action in cleaning it up. They use the system of leaving a card on the bed when wishing to have the linen changed, which is OK and saves unnecessary washing, however when I did ask for new linen I found they didn't change it anyway. Apart from being very handy for China Town and my office I would not stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Impavid_Pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback, it is valuable feedback such as yours that can assist us in meeting the expectations of our guest and also correcting the areas of our serrvice that need attention.
We have recently changed our in-room Mini Bar system and I have passed on your comments to our Food & Beverage Manager regarding the availability of bottle openers in our rooms.
Like all hotels, we regularly undertake pest control and we were disappointed to receive your comments, however our Executive Housekeeper is now in the process of reviewing the intervals in which our pest control is carried out in an effort to further correct this issue. We have also reinforced the importance of our guest requests to have their bed linen changed with all of our Room Attendants based on your feedback.

Once again, we thank you for your valued feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights and found it to ve very well located for all of the local attractions. It was also quite quiet so a good nights sleep was assured.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noodle1490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Thank you for feedback after your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and also found our central location convenient. We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back some time in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I've been more or less a regular at the Holiday Inn in Darling Harbour Sydney and I have yet to come across any problems with them, except that sometimes during peak hours, you will have to wait awhile before you would be able to check in due to the queue. Whilst I would not say the location is ideal, it is indeed good. Within walking distance to Darling Harbour and located just behind Chinatown, and opposite the Darling Harbour Arena, it is indeed a pretty good place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JiannW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us. As a regular guest of the hotel your comments and ideas are always most welcome and highly valued. Thank you also for providing some insight into your check-in experience, if you would like to contact me directly via e-mail at dos@holidayinndarlingharbour.com.au I will investigate this matter further so that we can provide a solution to unnecessary delays when arriving at the Hotel.

Thank you for your coments and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Great location with Darling Harbour, Conference centre, Chinatown,, Markets, Main bus and rail stations all within a 10 minute walk. Main shopping areas and Circular Quay, Harbour Bridge can be reached within 25mins walk as well.
Room was typical Holiday Inn, situated on 6th floor,clean with basic furnishings, great beds, large shower area. Fridge was a bonus.
Stayed 4 nights on PC Rewards, didn't use the restaurant or bar as plentiful choice in surrounding area.
All staff were attentive and helpful with directions and advice.
Hotel appeared popular with trips from many nationalities.
Would definately stay here again and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are probably quieter, but although front faces onto main road, there did not appea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you chose Holiday Inn Darling Harbour to redeem your valuable rewards points and utilise a complimentary stay. As one of our most valued and loyal guests your feedback is much appreciated and will assist us in maintaining the Holiday Inn standard as we move forward. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Darling Harbour again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#64 of 181 in Sydney
4,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#61 of 181 in Sydney
1,367 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Address: 68 Harbour St, Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $153 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emanating a quiet charm right in the middle of the action, Holiday Inn Darling Harbour has the best that Sydney has to offer on its doorstep. A heritage listed former Wool Store cloaks the northern wing of the hotel in history. Situated in the southern end of Sydney's central business district, the hotel is ideally positioned to allow you to make the most of your visit to Sydney. Take a leisurely stroll through Darling Harbour with its many attractions. The vibrant Chinatown and Latin Quarter are close by and the Qantas Credit Union Arena is right across the road. You can walk to some of Sydney's best restaurants, theatres and shopping complexes. For something a little different, board a ferry or the light rail for sightseeing. Trains and buses to Pitt Street Mall shopping precinct and Circular Quay are nearby too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, lastminute.com.au and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing