We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,726)
Filter reviews
1,726 results
Traveller rating
330
801
435
100
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
801
435
100
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paddy's market darling harbour great location close to china town light rail minute walk free wifi george street capitol theatre central station pleasant stay an upgrade mini bar buffet breakfast opera house early check haymarket
Filter
Updating list...
1,266 - 1,271 of 1,726 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I stayed in Holiday Inn based on a recommendation made by an acquaintance. I decided to go ahead since it IS Holiday Inn and its reputation has proved itself. Boy, was I wrong. Upon arriving, the rude receptionist told us that our room was not ready. Needless to say when we arrived at the room, we were not impressed. The furniture were dated and the carpet felt disgusting. I can tell it has not been cleaned for a long time. In the wee hours of the morning, there was an annoying generator sound from nearby that kept us awake. The only plus side is its convenient location. Despite this, I'd rather pay a bit more and stayed across the street at Novotel instead.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anoncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Thank you for your recent comments advising us of your disappointment and concerns with the service you received during your recent stay. The Holiday Inn is proud that regular surveys constantly rate our service as being more friendly, efficient and helpful than the service offered by our competitors. We were therefore extremely disappointed to find that on this occasion we failed to live up to our own expectations and on behalf of all the staff involved I apologise for the inconvenience and disappointment caused.

We take all the matters you have raised very seriously and your comments have been forwarded to both our Front Office Manager and Executive Housekeeper who will make furthe investigations to ensure that these situations do not arise again in the future.

Once again, we thank you for your valuable feedback.

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We recently attended a concert at the Entertainment Centre and chose this hotel to stay in overnight. It is just across the road and it was great to be so close after the concert finished. We parked our car in the Entertainment Centre carpark and as we left later the next day it cost us $60 all up. We had drinks in the bar of the hotel which is spacious and opens onto the street. We had dinner around the corner in Chinatown and breakfast in a cafe in Darling Harbour. We had a room which fronted onto the street on the first floor and being a light sleeper I was initially worried about the noise level also the Monorail went past the front of the hotel but we did not find it a problem. It is a little pricier than others in the area but for convenience and closeness to the Entertainment Centre, Darling Harbour, Chinatown and some theatres it is excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggiemaeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us, we are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and our facilities. The rooms on the lower levels of the hotel have double glazed windows to ensure that our guests are not disturbed by outside noise such as the Monorail and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed a peaceful nights sleep. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Darling Harbour again in the future.

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We chose the Holiday Inn Darling Harbour as were going to a concert at the Sydney Entertainment Centre, and the hotel is directly across the street (perfect)

We arrived about 12.30pm (check in time is 2pm) and expected to have to wait. We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who checked us in straight away.

We stayed one night and had booked a Queen bed. Our room was huge, even included a
2 seater couch and armchair. The bed was so comfortable.

My only criticism was the bathroom, quite old fashioned and small, and not in keeping with the rest of the room. The shower is over the bath, and very slippery getting in and out of the bath.. so beware !

The hotel is very close to Market Square (great for bargains), CBD, Chinatown, Chinese Gardens, and CBD. The monorail also runs right past the hotel.

The hotel has a great casual restaurant and bar called JB's.

Overall a great hotel with great staff.

Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwis_that_fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Thank you for your recent feedback, it is very much appreciated. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the process of working to upgrade our bathrooms and we now also provide a non slip mats in all our bathrooms to provide better safety for our guests.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed at Holiday Inn as we were attending a concert at the Entertainment Centre. The hotel is across the road, perfect location for this. Check in was ordinary and the parking options was self parking at the Entertainment centre for $20 per day or valet parking for $45. We chose valet parking hoping that our car would still be there at the end of our stay. This was interesting to see your car being reversed up the street from their driveway against the traffic at peak hour madly waving their hand out the window. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. We had drinks in the bar before the show and it had a nice atmosphere.
We did not eat any meals at the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontiNb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback regarding your recent stay with us, we were pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel location convneine to yor needs. I have passed on your feedback regarding the valet parking of your car to our Front Office Manager who will investigate this matter further and then counsel the staff concerned as this is not the manner that we treat our guest's cars whilst they are being parked.

Bradley Boyd
Director of sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The best thing about the Holiday Inn Darling Harbour is its location - it's so easy to get to anywhere - the Chinese Garden, Entertainment Centre, Darling Harbour, Cockle Bay, CBD, Monorail, City Trains and Chinatown are all so close you can touch them! The hotel itself is great - right up there with the best Holiday Inns I've stayed at - fabulous breakfast, wonderful staff service and overall just a great stay. Thanks

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali_Hawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Thank you for your recent feedback, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and also the surrounding area. We trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews