We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$208
HolidayInn.com
AU$208
Save more with IHG One Rewards
AU$209
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,455)
Filter reviews
1,455 results
Traveller rating
434
680
248
55
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
434
680
248
55
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kings cross opera house ihg member darlinghurst road metro station a harbour view room harbour bridge hotel is located bit dated convenient location comfortable hotel botanical gardens an upgrade buffet breakfast late check cbd supermarket
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,455 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2024 via mobile

The trip for the lovely city of Sydney was an amazing experience for us, and Holiday Inn Potts point makes it even better as it’s situated in a superb central location. We were in all the hot spots within few mints walking and all the best food and watering holes the city have to offer are in arms reach. Opera house, Sydney harbour and many more within walking distance. Also the transport options such as Metro (Kings cross) and busses are around the corner. In terms of hotel, the rooms are spacious considering it is located at the heart of the city. Staff were very helpful and if u want to dine in you have a good restaurant and a bar at the hotel. Plenty of parking at the hotel of course at a cost. Overall good experience and hats off for the location.

Room tip: Get a map and plan the walking, most of the hot spots are near by. AUD 40/- parking at the hotel so book with that when you are booking.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank dhanushkadesilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 January 2024 via mobile

I was very surprised with this hotel. Does not look like much from outside, check in was very good and I arrived early so they let me into room early. Got a room facing the city with great views of Sydney bridge and botanical gardens.walking distance to gardens and to harbor. Good restaurants and nightlife in the area. No cups in room, small item to adjust. Rooms are cleaned and bathroom decent size. Hotel is somewhat older and can use some renovation. However, when next in area I will definitely come back.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank srimanone
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reservations SYDAS, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Sydney - Potts Point, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2024

Dear srimanone, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we appreciate the 5/5 star review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2023 via mobile

Overrated .. nowhere close to the brand it represents..
Breakfast is poor and repetitive .. had the same exact menu for five days continuously
The staff has no concern for service and barely manage themselves leave alone customers
I have seen guests cleaning table in Restaurant for breakfast as there was no one to do it .. and the ones which were cleaned by staff was worse then an Indian Staff Canteen
Calls to reception / conceriege goes unanswered as the staff is too busy …
We had an interconnecting room and the stoppers to hold the door in open position is unbelievable. .. a couple of temporary wooden wedges !!
Don’t book it as this will give you zero value for money .. spend it somewhere it shows some value !!

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank manishthapar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Sydney - Potts Point, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2023

Hi manishthapar,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and staying at the Holiday Inn Sydney - Potts Point. We appreciate you choosing us and doing business with IHG Hotels and Resorts.

We are determined to provide our guests with a pleasant time, and I am sorry for what happened during your visit. I shared your feedback with the hotel management so that necessary actions are in place to improve guest satisfaction. I’ve also sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your stay.

Until your next stop in the area, we look forward to hosting you again to redeem your confidence in us. I look forward to your response.

Sincerely,

Rosh D.
Case Manager
IHG Hotels and Resorts Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2023 via mobile

This is a good spot probably a bit tired my room was great and pretty well priced .The restaurant however was very disappointing , service was ok prices were ok but the menu and the food are not up to scratch . The kitchen should try a bit harder , salt and pepper squid and snitzels etc garlic Bread. Just doesn’t cut it . Get a chef and make it interesting

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reservations SYDAS, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Sydney - Potts Point, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2023

Dear Jamess O,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we are glad to see you enjoyed your stay overall with a 4/5 star rating.

Please accept our apologies regarding the F&B offerings, we usually receive some good feedback about this so I will be sure to look into wants gone wrong.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2023 via mobile

Cleanliness was very poor. There was a hair in the shower, a toenail on the carpet and most surfaces were dusty. The pillows are great and air con too. Breakfast was horrible on both occasions. It’s a convenient location but that’s about it. Staff were all friendly though.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Salsy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reservations SYDAS, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Sydney - Potts Point, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2023

Dear Salsy23,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

Whilst disappointing to read and most certainly not in line with our usual high standards it is feedback such as yours that allows us to continually improve on our services. As such, I would love for the opportunity to discuss this mater further and understand where we went wrong please feel free to share some more details with us at reservations.sydas@ihg.com

I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews