We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in a Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney
Ranked #67 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

Just stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. Would recommend it overall. Check in service was courteous and very helpful. The rooms are ok. On the edge of basic for a 4-Star but you get all that you need. Size wise they're also bigger than most Holiday Inn hotels in Europe. Breakfast was also decent - try and get this included if you can, as it's really good (the setting is a bit "school dinners" but the food and choice is really good).

Highlights for me are the view from our harbour view room (have uploaded a couple of photos) and the location. It's right by Kings Cross which is about AUD 16 and 30 min by train from the airport via central station.

Only "development areas" I could see are: the beds that are a bit basic - divans with wheels so they move about a bit). Rooms and corridors also have a generally ageing feel to it so it'll be up for a room refurb soon.

Definitely worth a stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonTraveller05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear London Traveller05,

Thank you for taking the the time to leave your review on Holiday Inn Potts Point. We really appreciate your feedback, and it was really good to to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback regarding our service, room and breakfast offerings, we hope that to return to Holiday Inn Potts Point in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

750 - 754 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2012

Fantastic location, right next to the train station - a short two minutes walk away even if you are limping. This means accessibility to the rest of the city is made so very simple. The hotel itself is modern with clean, well-maintained rooms and the usual amenities. The surrounding area has an excellent array of restaurants, cafes, clubs and bars -- just the right mix of options. If you're a walker, you'd be able to tramp your way to famous shopping stretches (streets) of Sydney. If you aren't, did I mention that you are right next to the train station?

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
2  Thank Shawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Dear Shawn B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Holiday Inn Potts Point. We really appreciate your feedback, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Potts Point in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Stayed for 3 nights. Availed of the free breakfast - for the 3 of us staying in one room. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices. Talk about value for money. Rooms are cleaned daily. Very nice room. Roomy bath. Next to Kings Cross Railway Station. Had to wait a bit when checking in due to the busy night before due with the Bledisloe Cup and people going for late check out. But overall still excellent experience for me. Slept well which is the most important thing for me. Check out was a breeze. Will definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank downero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Dear downero,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I totally agree with you regarding our Fresh Start breakfast buffet, it has a lot of variety and is priced reasonably. Once again thank you for your feedback, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Potts Point.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Well placed property and after having some relatives stay there the previous year we found ourselves needing a nights accommodation so we thought what best place to stay then nearby.
We booked one night and made our way over. We arrived and were greeted by their friendly staff, checked in and presented our room key. Off we went and to begin with the room looked fine just your standard hotel room, then we layed on the bed as you do to check to see how comfortable our sleep would be and oh dear our legs were higher than our head and the bedding just felt extremely well itchy. One night spent with not much sleep to be had in the most uncomfortable bed ever, we needed to stay somewhere and not knowing better it did the job but will not willingly stay here again. It could do with some improvement to the bed and bedding to make sleeping a comfortable pleausre.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Dear Mare0104,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Holiday Inn Potts Point. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We normally get very good feedback from our guests regarding the comfort of our beds & pillows. I really appreciate your feedback and I will make sure that I follow this up with my team. I hope that you return to Holiday Inn Potts Point in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Stayed in February 2009. Hopefully the stay now is better than it was then! We got into our room which was dark and dirty. There was a huge toe nail and hairs in the bed, the sheets hadn't obviously been changed. The bins in the room were full and there were old paperclips on the floor. Not great when you have a 9 month old. We called the reception desk and requested a change of room or a clean of the room. They said they would get housekeeping to phone back but they didn't. So we called again. The manager said he would come up and on the phone sounded nervous and apologetic. He came up with the housekeeper and visually relaxed when he saw me...In other words, he looked me up and down and almost snorted with amusement/sarcasm without any apology at this small Asian looking woman in front of him. I was too tired with jet lag from the UK and irritated by his rude expression, to say anything more. I haven't forgotten that expression on his face..Let's just say I hope that the manager has changed since then! At least the room was cleaned well by the housekeeper after the episode although perhaps I should have got my husband to request a change of room;..perhaps he might have received more respect.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dotty74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#38 of 179 in Sydney
4,404 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#48 of 179 in Sydney
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 179 in Sydney
2,525 reviews
Mercure Sydney
#64 of 179 in Sydney
4,961 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#105 of 179 in Sydney
5,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney

Address: 203 Victoria St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Sydney
#59 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $161 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Potts point is a 4-star, contemporary hotel located just 5 minutes from the city in cosmopolitan Potts Point. Each of our modern 286 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, 32-inch flat screen TVs, high speed internet access and comfortable en-suite with dual pressure shower head. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto vibrant Potts Point from the comfort of your room. Experience some of Sydney’s best bars, cafes and restaurants only moments from our doorstep and explore the historical architecture and cultural embellishments Potts Point is renowned for. Kings Cross train station is located adjacent to the hotel. Just one stop will take you into the CBD and in the other direction it's just two stops to Bondi Junction, making Potts Point an ideal base for exploring both the city and the beachside eastern suburbs. Hotel facilities include the Mediterranean-themed Sirocco Bar & Restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a fitness centre, guest laundry and secure carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing