We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
AU$229
Fully refundable before Sat, 20 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
David S
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Good hotel, not perfect
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Feb 2024via mobile
While it is a good hotel with good rooms, it has a number of negatives.

They charge extra for credit cards. Who pays cash?

They take an additional deposit of 50$ for extras. But if you have an extra they do not take it out of the 50$ but charge you for it! Then you get the 50$ back as a refund nearly a week later. So if you are there for a week they get the use of your 50$ for nearly two weeks!

Apparently there is a reduction for only having a continental breakfast but no-one told me and I paid for full breakfast. I discovered later so rang the hotel.

When you ring the hotel you get a choice and then another. I picked the most likely. When it got through there were three conversations but no one talked to me. Eventually I rang off and tried again. Same thing: three conversations, no one talked to me.

So I rang reservations. At least she said she would look into it but she would have to ring me back after consulting the restaurant. What the restaurant will tell her, who knows? It was self service including the cooked breakfast.

Will I ever see my $8?
Date of stay: February 2024
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Executive Harbour View Suite
Booking.com
AU$176
No prepayment needed
  • Hotel Website
    AU$176
  • Vio.com
    AU$157
  • Priceline
    AU$176
3.0 km from Sydney Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$179
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$179
  • Agoda.com
    AU$130
  • Hotels.com
    AU$155
3.0 km from Sydney Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Aster Rooftop Bar
InterContinental
AU$336
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    AU$336
  • Vio.com
    AU$308
  • Priceline
    AU$336
4.2 km from Sydney Harbour Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
York St WEB(Of )Building Exterior
Booking.com
AU$132
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$168
  • Agoda.com
    AU$112
  • Hotels.com
    AU$140
3.9 km from Sydney Harbour Hotel
Booking.com
AU$334
  • Priceline
    AU$350
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$314
  • Hotels.com
    AU$350
4.1 km from Sydney Harbour Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
AU$265
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$265
  • KLOOK
    AU$224
  • Hotels.com
    AU$265
4.5 km from Sydney Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Vio.com
AU$139
  • Expedia.com
    AU$181
  • Agoda.com
    AU$136
  • Algotels
    AU$210
4.1 km from Sydney Harbour Hotel
Pool
Fitness centre
Booking.com
AU$392
No prepayment needed
  • FourSeasons.com
    AU$392
  • Priceline
    AU$392
  • Vio.com
    AU$392
4.6 km from Sydney Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$189
  • Mercure
    AU$189
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$173
  • Priceline
    AU$189
3.7 km from Sydney Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$295
  • travelup.com
    AU$296
  • Vio.com
    AU$277
  • Priceline
    AU$295
4.7 km from Sydney Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Sydney
Reviews (3,372)
Filter reviews
3,372 results
Traveller rating
1,163
1,514
492
128
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,163
1,514
492
128
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviews holiday inn rooftop pool opera house rocks area great location cruise ship rocks markets lobby bar bit dated sydney harbour close to circular quay buffet breakfast botanical gardens george st early check ferries train
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 3,372 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2024

The location is peerless, in the very heart of the fascinating old lanes which constitute the Rocks. The proximity to the sights is emphasised by the roof terrace views of the Opera House and Bridge. Cruise passengers find the location to be ideal giving easy access to the terminal. The pool is however tiny and uninviting. The hotel is only of a moderate standard, think UK Premier Inn, comfortable but basic. Everything needs updating and refreshing. The staff perform their basic tasks. Breakfast is a good buffet. On some evenings a basic evening menu is offered but better alternatives abound in the vicinity.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SusieLancsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 January 2024

Having stayed at this hotel before a couple of times, we choose this for our 4 day stay over in Sydney for NYE.

The hotel is almost on the harbour water front just a couple of streets back from the cruise Terminal and a 15 minute walk around circular quay to the Sydney opera House.

In all fairness the hotel is a bit dated, but has all the usual amenities, including a roof top swimming pool, with pool towels provided. we opted for a package without breakfast as there are so many cafes and coffee shops around the harbour and up in the rocks, also it saved a few bob over New year.

The rooms are all air conditioned, however it can be quite noisy due to the age. Some rooms we found from previous visits that the windows do not open, he had given one one on arrival but requested that changed us to one that did open. This was 618 on the 6th floor.

The lifts also can be a bit slow, particularly in the morning around breakfast time.

The rooms are fairly large with a good number of plug points, a desk and a mini fridge, most important if you are travelling around the country.

Usual bathroom amenities, plenty of towels etc. a nice touch is if you don’t want your room serviced they will give you a $10 credit to spend on food or in the bar, also ask for the complementary Drinks vouchers, they only give them out if you ask.

Its a great base to explore Sydney from, most things are within walking distance including Darling harbour, Don’t forget to visit the Glenmore Arms pub, it has a great roof top bar, good food and is a little secret only the locals know about, apart from me and now everyone that reads this !!!!!.

Room tip: Book a room that the window opens
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dubaidick
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2024

Room was small but Ok. Close walk to circular Quay and the rocks area. Hotel was well placed to board cruise ship. Good service on checking in. We had a view of Opera house but it wasnt really worth spending the extra money especially if cruise ship is blocking view.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 December 2023

Had the most pleasant stay here again. This time we were picked as customer of the day and were upgraded to a two bedroom top floor suite. The upgrade included a bottle of wine and cheese plate and snack. What a wonderful surprise. We ate dinner in the bar and had a drink overlooking the harbour. Will definitely be back.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 850sylviam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 December 2023 via mobile

We chose this hotel to be close to the cruise terminal, big mistake

Hotel is old, run down and falling apart. From the moment you arrive you have to drag your own luggage to your room and the carpet isn’t stuck to the floor so it rolls under the suitcase wheels and my hands were red and sore by the time l got to my room.
The price on bookings.com was $392 but then they charge GST so price jumps to $432 this does not include breakfast.
The rooms are old and run down, there is a bath so if you can’t climb in like my mother can’t with her bad knee then you can not shower.
Don’t expect a bar to be open during the day, only one bar for a drink open only Tuesday to Saturday and only after 4pm
The pool is up a lot of stairs, not accessible for anyone that can’t do stairs
Definitely no assistance in this hotel
NO room service in this hotel either, iv stayed in other Rydges before and they have been great this one is definitively a 3 star hotel but charging more because of location

Room tip: If you need assistance with bags then don’t stay hear, or if you have mobility issues
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 496tamarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews