We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vacationer800588
Oakland, California
Great stay at the Rydges
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Nov 2023
Stay 5 nights post cruise. one block from the cruise terminal, on the weekend on the street in front of the hotel there a street fair, many good restaurants in the ares, Hop on Hop off stop across the street., A good place to stay pre are post cruise, large rooms, very good breakfast buffet, great staff 5 min to the metro station. Good value for the money
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$184
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$184
  • Hotel Website
    AU$184
  • Expedia.com
    AU$184
3.0 km from Sydney Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$162
  • Priceline
    AU$169
  • Vio.com
    AU$126
  • Expedia.com
    AU$158
3.0 km from Sydney Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Booking.com
AU$274
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$274
  • KLOOK
    AU$233
  • Vio.com
    AU$247
4.5 km from Sydney Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
AU$151
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$181
  • Agoda.com
    AU$126
  • Expedia.com
    AU$156
3.9 km from Sydney Harbour Hotel
Aster Rooftop Bar
InterContinental
AU$375
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    AU$375
  • Algotels
    AU$314
  • Priceline
    AU$375
4.2 km from Sydney Harbour Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$308
  • Priceline
    AU$325
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$289
  • Expedia.com
    AU$319
4.1 km from Sydney Harbour Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
AU$230
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    AU$230
  • Priceline
    AU$230
  • Agoda.com
    AU$230
4.3 km from Sydney Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Vio.com
AU$130
  • Expedia.com
    AU$175
  • Agoda.com
    AU$126
  • Algotels
    AU$201
4.1 km from Sydney Harbour Hotel
Pool
Fitness centre
FourSeasons.com
AU$400
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
    AU$400
  • Priceline
    AU$400
  • Hotels.com
    AU$400
4.6 km from Sydney Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$325
  • travelup.com
    AU$327
  • Vio.com
    AU$289
  • Priceline
    AU$313
4.7 km from Sydney Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Sydney
Reviews (3,374)
Filter reviews
3,374 results
Traveller rating
1,163
1,514
493
129
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,163
1,514
493
129
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviews holiday inn rooftop pool opera house rocks area great location cruise ship rocks markets lobby bar bit dated sydney harbour close to circular quay buffet breakfast botanical gardens george st early check ferries train
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 3,374 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2023 via mobile

We chose this hotel because it was close to the cruise port. Very short walk . The veiw was amazing of the opera house and the bridge . When the cruise ships dock they block the opera house from view. Rooms clean and modern. The restaurants were good. It is located in a senic and historic area.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank deborah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 November 2023

We recently had a long weekend in Sydney to catch up with friends and family. We chose this hotel because (a) I'm a PriorityOne member and (b) the location is perfect for the various modes of public transport we required. We chose a Harbour View room, because it wasn't very much more per night however, for anyone wanting a true view of the harbour, I suggest you first check the schedule for the cruise ships. A good part of the day it would be better described as "Cruise Ship View Room". It didn't worry us too much, but it could annoy others.

The hotel itself is very run down and tired. It could really do with a couple of coats of paint, in the public areas and the rooms. The carpets too are old and coming away from the walls. You're still paying good money because of the location, but management really should spring a few bucks to give it a freshen up.

The room though was very comfortable, the beds and pillows particularly so. Because it's an older hotel there is plenty of wardrobe space, and the bathrooms are perfectly functional.

We didn't have a chance to eat in the hotel but breakfast smelt pretty good!

All the staff we encountered were friendly and efficient.

All in all, a great stay for our purposes.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 October 2023

Good hotel in the heart of the Rocks and just 300metres from the cruise wharf. Staff are extremely helpful. Rooms are spacious and clean. Rates are reasonable.There is a rooftop pool which provides great views. There is also a bar and restaurant on the first floor. Will stay there again.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2023 via mobile

Had a nice stay, perfect location for sightseeing. Room was clean, comfortable and the breakfast was very good. We made use of the happy hour in the bar and after, shame it shuts at 8pm with the coffee machine turned off at 7.30pm.
We found all the staff efficient and friendly and would stay here again.
Do not use the official taxi rank at Sydney airport to get to the hotel, we were charged $125, the return just $48 using a local cab booked through the hotel.

Room tip: Don’t use the taxi rank at Sydney airport
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Onajolly50
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brittany Smith, General Manager at Sydney Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2023

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. We are so delighted to see you found the location to be perfect for your stay in Sydney!
Kind Regards,
Brittany Smith
General Manager
Rydges Sydney Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2023

My deep disappointment with my recent stay at the Rydges Sydney Harbour Hotel, which was booked using loyalty points. My experience was far from Satisfying.

First and foremost, the state of the room left much to be desired. The towels provided had noticeable holes, and the bathroom was both dirty and exhibited moldy patches, which raised significant hygiene concerns. The floor carpets were clearly in need of cleaning, and the windows in the room were so dirty that it obstructed our view of the harbour Furthermore, the flaky paint on the bathroom ceiling was not only unsightly but also hinted at a lack of attention to maintenance.

Additionally, the water pressure in the bathroom was exceptionally low, making basic tasks like showering and washing hands an unpleasant and time-consuming ordeal. This was particularly frustrating as one expects basic amenities to be functioning correctly in a hotel of your caliber. Not to mention as the room was booked with points it made my family feel as they were not an appreciated customer, but were tossed aside as we presented as a zero value.

To compound these issues, the breakfast provided also payed with via points fell well below the standard I expected from Rydges. The quality of the food and service was disappointing, especially considering the reputation of your brand.

What was particularly disheartening was the treatment my loyalty status seemed to warrant. I expected to be accorded a certain level of care and attention as a loyal customer, but instead, I felt neglected and unheard during my stay.

I understand that hotels may experience occasional challenges, but the combination of these issues left me deeply dissatisfied with my stay at Rydges Sydney Harbour Hotel. This hotel is well past its use by date in desperate need of a complete refit. While the location is ideal, a hotels location alone cannot command $350 AU a night for the most basic room when the standard of the accomodation are so low.

There are far better hotel in the same location for the same price do yourself the favor and avoid this hotel at all cost.

Room tip: Stay in a different hotel, Don't waster your money
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 633clintong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brittany Smith, General Manager at Sydney Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2023

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews