We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Special rate available
Booking.com
AU$250
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Priceline
AU$279
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Go to your Happy Price
ZenHotels.com
AU$247
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Vivienne W
Melbourne, Australia

Don’t Book!

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 June 2023
We booked through booking.com. First mistake! It was rated 4.5 stars.Omg it certainly wasn’t 4.5 Stars, we (two couples) would rate it 2.5. From the moment we arrived, the staff were dreadful. They seemed inexperienced and not very helpful. We went to our rooms and were all totally disgusted in the rooms. Tiniest bath with shower over bath, we are in our 60s and don’t want to be climbing over the bath to shower. The room was old, stains in carpet, dent in doorframe, furniture had marks, the room was small. No water or anything in the fridge, The bathroom was tiny, no room to move in it! There was only one towel, my husband phoned down for another one and when delivered it was very damp! The elevators were filthy, the staff were unhelpful and overall it was disgusting!
How this was rated 4.5 stars is beyond us all….
Date of stay: May 2023
Room Tip: Dont book here! It is not a 4.5 stars it is disgusting and definitely not worth the money $430...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brittany Smith, General Manager at Sydney Harbour Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 18 July 2023
Dear VivoW, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. I'm sorry to hear you didn't find our staff helpful as we normally receive great reviews about our fantastic staff. We are a very old hotel as we are located within The Rocks precinct of Sydney which has a great historical significance. But I understand this isn't for everyone. Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
AU$245
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$269
  • Official Site
    AU$269
  • Hotels.com
    AU$269
0.9 km from Sydney Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Aster Rooftop Bar
InterContinental
AU$335
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    AU$335
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$292
  • Priceline
    AU$335
0.6 km from Sydney Harbour Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$281
  • Priceline
    AU$299
  • Expedia.com
    AU$298
  • Vio.com
    AU$299
1.1 km from Sydney Harbour Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
AU$130
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$136
  • Agoda.com
    AU$108
  • Vio.com
    AU$136
1.6 km from Sydney Harbour Hotel
Booking.com
AU$180
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$164
  • Expedia.com
    AU$179
  • Hotel Website
    AU$180
1.9 km from Sydney Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$405
No prepayment needed
  • FourSeasons.com
    AU$405
  • Priceline
    AU$405
  • Hotels.com
    AU$405
0.4 km from Sydney Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$210
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$210
  • Vio.com
    AU$210
  • Hotels.com
    AU$210
2.0 km from Sydney Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotel Views
Booking.com
AU$300
  • Priceline
    AU$300
  • Agoda.com
    AU$263
  • Shangri-La.com
    AU$300
0.4 km from Sydney Harbour Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Priceline
AU$130
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    AU$167
  • Agoda.com
    AU$118
  • Algotels
    AU$185
1.7 km from Sydney Harbour Hotel
Pool
Fitness centre
Booking.com
AU$118
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$123
  • Agoda.com
    AU$98
  • Expedia.com
    AU$153
2.0 km from Sydney Harbour Hotel
View more hotels in Sydney
Reviews (3,379)
Filter reviews
3,379 results
Traveller rating
1,165
1,514
494
130
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,165
1,514
494
130
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews holiday inn rooftop pool opera house rocks area great location cruise ship rocks markets lobby bar bit dated sydney harbour close to circular quay buffet breakfast botanical gardens george st early check ferries train
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 3,379 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2023 via mobile

Hotel is so well located in The Rocks, particularly if visiting Sydney for Vivid - it was walking distance from Circular Quay, Barangaroo/Darling Harbour and the CBD. Great cafes nearby and reasonable views from the rooftop.

Service was very good. The rooms are dated and stuffy but I think that is in large part to the heritage listings - but it’s otherwise comfortable.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Shannon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brittany Smith, General Manager at Sydney Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2023

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. We are so delighted to see you found the location to be perfect for your stay in Sydney!
Kind Regards,
Brittany Smith
General Manager
Rydges Sydney Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2023

The mentioned refurbishment is overdue. When the Cruise ship departed the 'spectacular' harbour view was OK.
The upside - the great central location right in the Rocks, the excellent staff, the bed.
The downside - the tired small 'standard Queen with harbour views' room, the very small bathroom, unexplained noise (not late)
Note for any mobility challenged - there are two only bathrooms with walk-in showers.

Room tip: Great loc'n - if you must, but I would wait for the renovation.
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank boggle103
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brittany Smith, General Manager at Sydney Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2023

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. We are so delighted to see you found the location to be perfect for your stay in Sydney!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2023

Terrible hotel - overpriced and dirty. Pile of hair behind the bathroom door - looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years. Yuck! Very old and drab - needs a refurbishment. The worst thing is the NOISE! SO loud. When people turn on taps it is like someone is screaming in your room, the walls are paper thin (listened to my neighbour's talking until midnight...), doors slam, the door to the room is so thin when people walk past your room it's like they're in it, air con sounds like an airplane taking off etc. The TV remote hardly worked (had to push it so hard and 15 times to get it to work), the air con was so loud I had to turn it off when I (tried to) sleep and when I picked up the phone this morning to ask them to give my room a good clean today - it didn't work!! Only good thing is the wifi - fast. When I arrived last night, I had a couple at the front desk complaining about how noisy their room was! Not a good start. Do not stay here! MUCH better hotels in Sydney for a similar price.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sparky172015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brittany Smith, General Manager at Sydney Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2023

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay, but please remember we are a heritage building in the Sydney Rocks Area, so we are older but have great history.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2023 via mobile

I was a bit worried after the negative reviews however this hotel was clean and comfortable with the perfect location. It was excellent value for money. The view from the rooftop was spectacular especially with Vivid. Would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank debstar30
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brittany Smith, General Manager at Sydney Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2023

Hi Debstar30,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. We are so delighted to see you found the location to be perfect for your stay in Sydney!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2023

Dark dismal hotel ,however good location and comfortable bed,needs a refurbishment, didn't eat or drink in hotel as didn't feel welcoming.resturant was hardly ever open ,bar opened very briefly, but didn't look inviting

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Morehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brittany Smith, General Manager at Sydney Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2023

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. We are so delighted to see you found the location to be perfect for your stay in Sydney! Next time you visit, please give our restaurant and bar a go, we think you will enjoy what we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews