We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value on the Rocks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Ranked #43 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor value on the Rocks”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I was treating my partner as I had just retired so I paid quite a lot of money for the first night in the Holiday Inn Sydney (The Rocks). I chose it for the location which was very good and I felt safe with the name Holiday Inn. I couldn't have been more wrong. I walked into the foyer, with its mustard decor and gallieried prison railed rooms above and thought what have I done. We had booked the best room in the hotel only to find black blinds, a bathroom that would have been bad in a 2 star room. The room had good views of the Sydney harbour bridge, but this was not 4 star at all!. It got worse at breakfast as the furniture was scuffed, desperately needing refurbishment and when they ran out of various food on the buffet we had to ask for it to be replenished. We left for the Shangri-la and had a marvellous time there for an extra 20 dollars a night. This also included living on the executive floor where you get frree drinks and snacks in happy hour ! What a difference. Unfortunately we had booked for our last night in the Holiday Inn and we couldn't get out of it and that night the television kept stopping working.The superb service of the Shangri-la is a must for any traveller to Sydney!

Room Tip: Look at it first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueB1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TurnerMit, Senior Guest Experience Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear SueB1951

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on our hotel. I am disappointed to hear you were not overly satisfied with the Holiday Inn Old Sydney however your comments are valued and being taken on board to ensure we look into the areas mentioned and change or improve for the future.

I hope your partner enjoys retired life and you make the most of future travels and hotel stays.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    1,119
    361
    89
    40
See reviews for
550
1,073
133
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We stayed for 4 nights after friends had recommended it based on stays several years ago. It probably was a "recommended" hotel years ago, but not anymore. Hotel is well located but that does not mitigate the fact that the rooms are very worn. The rooms are very small, the plumbing is antiquated. There are much better hotels with similar room rates very close to the central Rocks. Front staff was great but since there is not a concierge, you have to wait on customers checking in and out when trying to get information about the area.
The hotel really needs to be renovated!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomt48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TurnerMit, Senior Guest Experience Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear tomt48

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Being located in the heart of the first settlement of Australia we do keep a certain building heritage culture within the hotel. With this in mind we also strive to maintain our rooms and building to keep in tone with the area as well as the Holiday Inn Brand.

Our rooms are always undergoing constant checks to ensure fresh and up to date feel. Thank you again for your comments and we will definitely be taking them on board to ensure our guests love our hotel in future.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Simply a great location, within walking distance of almost everything.
Helpful staff in making reservations to fly, local tours etc. . Room comfortable. Nice lobby.
Stored our suitcases while we travelled for a week. Nothing was a problem so good customer service was achieved!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TB2Young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TurnerMit, Senior Guest Experience Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear TB2Young

So kind of you to write such great feedback. I am truly proud of the team and their genuine down to earth deliver of service. We encourage our guests to Stay You and this seems to have been the impression you left with. Excellent.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I recently stayed at the Old Sydney for two nights over a weekend.

Check in was quick and efficient. We were offered and agreed to an upgrade for $75/night to room 820 on the top floor with a larger bed, more space, a harbour view, and a free bottle of plonk. The claim of a harbour view was a bit misleading with the room position and small windows.

The room itself was above average. The bed and pillows were extrememly comfortable. I found the windows let in a lot of noise throughout the night. Maybe some sound deadening would help.

Bathroom was functional. Showers over baths are always messy. I would have preferred a shower screen. It was difficult to keep water off the floor with the shower curtain. Some mould present on the tiles.

Where I believe the Old Sydney excelled was customer service. Excellent, genuine, and friendly staff.

Location is the best feature of this hotel. Overlooks the Rocks Market on the weekend, and a heap of restaurants for all budgets and pubs. Five minute walk to the train and ferries.

I would stay here again, but will pack ear plugs and not bother with the room upgrade.

Cheers,

irdonn

P.S. Make sure you visit the roof for amazing views, particularly at night!

Room Tip: Inspect the room prior to accepting an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irdonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TurnerMit, Senior Guest Experience Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear irdonn

Thank you for your great feedback. We always like to hear about our hotel and hence your comments allow us to move forward with hotel improvements to ensure we are delivering a great hotel our guests love.

In terms of the rooms we have a continuing maintenance program to ensure all rooms are up to standard and comfortable for our guests.

Our service is where we strive to be the best and have been compared to many 5 star hotels with our superior customer service. I credit this to our team who are carefully picked to work with us to ensure ultimate guest experience.

Thank you again for your feedback. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Old Sydney between 18 to 21nd of May 2012. I am a Priority Club member and I wasn't offered any recognition similat to that we received at other Holiday Inn hotels. We were allocated room 406 which faces on to George St which is directly across the road from the Bar 100 nightclub. We couldn't get to sleep before 2.00am in the morning because of the music being played in the nightclub and the noise caused by the people leaving the nightclub well passed 2.00am. The staff were friendly enough but did not tell us what to expect with regards to noise, I am sure others beside me have complained of the same problem in the past. The room was fairly average in size but the beds were comfortable, pity we could get to sleep. The bathroom was in need of a good clean as there was mould showing on the tiles.

We expected much better from a Quality Inn asset but alas all we got was disappointment, We won't be staying there again and would advise anyone considering staying there to ask staff not to put them in room 406 or other rooms facing the Bar 100 nightclub..

Room Tip: Ask staff not to put you in room 406 or any other rooms facing the Bar 100 nightclub..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wmcanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TurnerMit, Senior Guest Experience Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear wmcanna

I am disappointed to hear you were not satisfied with your stay with us. I would love to know more about recognising you as a Priority Club member as we take this very seriously.

As for the bar across from us we do try and work better together and ensure the success of both of our businesses. Your feedback is very valuable and I hope you continue to stay with our IHG hotels worldwide.

As mentioned we take your feedback very seriously and act upon all feedback from our guests.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#38 of 178 in Sydney
902 reviews
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
1,269 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 178 in Sydney
4,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Old Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Property: Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#41 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#43 Family Hotel in Sydney
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): $187 - $436
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, IHG, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing