We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Darling
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (958)
Filter reviews
958 results
Traveller rating
704
171
51
12
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
704
171
51
12
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjewel suitespa suitestar casinoadored suitesokyo restaurantmolton brown toiletriesrain showerroom servicewedding nightwalk in wardrobelyric theatrenespresso machinelight switchesamazing hotelpillow menumini barin room dining
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
929 - 934 of 958 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We were looking forward to staying at Sydney's newest five star hotel. I called The Darlings 1800 number to make our reservation and reserved a suite for our two night stay. On arrival our reservation could not be located and turned out to have been made for another hotel operated by the Star Casino. We were advised that The Darling was more expensive to their sister hotel with a suite being more than double our rate and were graciously offered a standard room at our booked rate. On checking later this rate was still some $50 a night more than the best internet rate for this room on these nights.

The hotel is quite modern and although the staff are casually dressed the hotel has a business feel. The room amenities were very nice, however these rooms don't have a bath and although the space saving bathroom makes the room more spacious the lack of privacy could be an issue.

Being so new there are some teething issues, tissue paper along the top of the door will stop the wind whistling.

Not quite the romantic getaway we were expecting.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eccles777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

the hotel itself is very nice. modern and functional. staff were excellent. my mother and i booked a twin room and on check in were taken to level 6. the room itself is nice enough..a little small but with all the mod cons. unfortuntely we realised the bathroom was totally open plan..as in stepping out of the shower and you are near the bed.. no privacy whatsoever. ok if its a romantic situation, but not with family. strange because a twin bed configuration room would mean you could be with some one like a friend or assosciate. anyway we asked for a privacy screen of some sort and reception said it wasnt possible due to oh&s concerns. i accept this, but what to do next? reception kindly offered a wheelchair friendly room which provided far more privacy. they handled the problem well. even concierge commented that this was the style of modern design for hotel rooms and can be problematic at times...if we had known this we would have booked elsewhere just to avoid the hassle. maybe the hotel should mention this ontheir website..other than this problem the darling is great....for couples..

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fattyboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Combining our work Christmas party and a luxury night at the Darling, we were not let down nor disappointed. From the moment we entered, staff treated us like Barack Obama on a flying visit to Sydney. The room was simply luxurious and all controlled by the TV remote. Lighting, blinds, air conditioning were all at your finger tips. Be warned to order your 6 styles of pillows in advance as we had the least firmest available which did not assist our sleep that night . Only in the morning, did we find a menu detailing a smorgasbord of pillows that could be ordered from House Keeping. Be warned the assortment of goods to purchase are booby trapped electronically. Any items that are removed from the fridge to inspect are automatically debitted to your account . The expresso coffee machine provided, was well received whilst in our luxurious bath robes. We will be returning in March for a dinner and theatre show on our wedding anniversary in April.

Room Tip: Hints. Keep the air conditioning at 18 to 19 degrees at night and order your type of pillow in advance.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I had a room on the 5th floor, the noise from nearby bar or nightclub reverberated through the room and the room rattled from the vibrations. After paying $350 to spend the night, we left as there was no way you could get any sleep!!

Room Tip: High floors
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RIGVF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Decided to stay here as we had tickets to Richard III. On check in we were given a smoking room (which we didn't ask for or want). Reception moved us to a non-smoking room after we complained. In the new room one of the lights over the bed flicked on at off. At turndown, housekeeping left an empty bottle of water beside the bed and although there were two of us registed in room, they only left out one set of slippers and the one (empty) bottle of water. The electrical panel over the desk actually came away from the wall when I tried to unplug my phone. Crap lighting in bathroom for make up application No free wi-fi provided, which at $600/night for a basic room should be included. Even though we were on the 11th floor the street noise was still considerable.
We usually stay at the Shangri-la and regretted that we hadn't. For the same price we would have gotten a larger room, a view of the Harbour rather than rooftops and Executive level access. B

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank intrepidtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews