We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not just for Gamblers!”
Review of The Darling

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Darling
Ranked #5 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Not just for Gamblers!”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

You notice this hotel is different right from the moment you arrive at the front door and one of the helpful staff escort you right to the check in desk. They're obviously going for super-friendly Australian informal service, which we are quite happy with, as long as it remains efficient. Georgia on the front desk was certainly super-friendly, very chatty, but still remained quick and efficient. For some reason we were upgraded to a Jewel suite instead of the Darling room I originally booked, and what a pleasant surprise. On the 8th floor we had a great view of the pool which looks like it would be a real party venue if only the sun would shine. Absolutely loved the room - everything about it from the decor, the bathroom, the Molton Brown goodies, the Nespresso machine, the blackout blinds, the two teles, etc etc. I would highly recommend the hotel for parents who want to escape their children for the weekend (under 18's not allowed by the pool)... mind you none of the staff looked much over 18. As it was not busy (constant gloomy weather and rain), the staff had nothing to do but hang around and gossip and chat, and they are all so young and gorgeous it's like being in a nightclub. (note to management - tell them to keep their voices down when guests are trying to relax and read the paper - the odd very loud "shhhhhhhhh" from one of the older crew doesn't really do the trick!). Still, I don't want to complain too much as despite being very old and crusty (over 45), we really loved the cool and groovy atmosphere of the hotel - the interior decor is truly inspirational. Only thing that might concern some international guests is that there is no in house breakfast available other than room service, and their flagship restaurant is not open lunchtimes or Sunday nights. Bit unusual for a 5 star hotel. But being in Pyrmont there are lots of groovy eating options nearby, so not a huge problem. Stay here for the pool, proximity to Casino and Momofuku (although we were underwhelmed by our meal), and the up to the minute decor and great rooms. A+

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susansthermomixup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    155
    46
    10
    19
See reviews for
58
442
44
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We were looking forward to staying at Sydney's newest five star hotel. I called The Darlings 1800 number to make our reservation and reserved a suite for our two night stay. On arrival our reservation could not be located and turned out to have been made for another hotel operated by the Star Casino. We were advised that The Darling was more expensive to their sister hotel with a suite being more than double our rate and were graciously offered a standard room at our booked rate. On checking later this rate was still some $50 a night more than the best internet rate for this room on these nights.

The hotel is quite modern and although the staff are casually dressed the hotel has a business feel. The room amenities were very nice, however these rooms don't have a bath and although the space saving bathroom makes the room more spacious the lack of privacy could be an issue.

Being so new there are some teething issues, tissue paper along the top of the door will stop the wind whistling.

Not quite the romantic getaway we were expecting.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eccles777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
a.c.t
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

the hotel itself is very nice. modern and functional. staff were excellent. my mother and i booked a twin room and on check in were taken to level 6. the room itself is nice enough..a little small but with all the mod cons. unfortuntely we realised the bathroom was totally open plan..as in stepping out of the shower and you are near the bed.. no privacy whatsoever. ok if its a romantic situation, but not with family. strange because a twin bed configuration room would mean you could be with some one like a friend or assosciate. anyway we asked for a privacy screen of some sort and reception said it wasnt possible due to oh&s concerns. i accept this, but what to do next? reception kindly offered a wheelchair friendly room which provided far more privacy. they handled the problem well. even concierge commented that this was the style of modern design for hotel rooms and can be problematic at times...if we had known this we would have booked elsewhere just to avoid the hassle. maybe the hotel should mention this ontheir website..other than this problem the darling is great....for couples..

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fattyboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Combining our work Christmas party and a luxury night at the Darling, we were not let down nor disappointed. From the moment we entered, staff treated us like Barack Obama on a flying visit to Sydney. The room was simply luxurious and all controlled by the TV remote. Lighting, blinds, air conditioning were all at your finger tips. Be warned to order your 6 styles of pillows in advance as we had the least firmest available which did not assist our sleep that night . Only in the morning, did we find a menu detailing a smorgasbord of pillows that could be ordered from House Keeping. Be warned the assortment of goods to purchase are booby trapped electronically. Any items that are removed from the fridge to inspect are automatically debitted to your account . The expresso coffee machine provided, was well received whilst in our luxurious bath robes. We will be returning in March for a dinner and theatre show on our wedding anniversary in April.

Room Tip: Hints. Keep the air conditioning at 18 to 19 degrees at night and order your type of pillow in advan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I had a room on the 5th floor, the noise from nearby bar or nightclub reverberated through the room and the room rattled from the vibrations. After paying $350 to spend the night, we left as there was no way you could get any sleep!!

Room Tip: High floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RIGVF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,361 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Darling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darling

Property: The Darling
Address: Star City Casino Entertainment 80 Pyrmont St | The Star, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Price range (per night): $408 - $1,175
Hotel Class:5 star — The Darling 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Darling. 171 rooms and views from the Sydney Harbour to the Blue Mountains, Sydney's most lovingly detailed hotel is now open at The Star.***Named one of the Top 60 Best New Hotels in the World by Condé Nast Traveller*******Winner of Best New Hotel Construction and Design 2012 at the Asia-Pacific International Hotel Awards***DISTINCTIVELY DARLING FEATURESFloor-to-Ceiling GlassOur rooms feature floor-to-ceiling glass and windows that open to showcase what are possibly the best views in Sydney.The Darling BedOnce you've slept on a Darling bed, you'll be reluctant to leave it. Every one features a customised 1000 spring mattress, 400 thread count 100% Egyptian cotton bed linen and a goose down comforter. A menu of 12 luxury pillows is offered for your comfort.Molton Brown ProductsEvery bathroom contains a range of Molton Brown products, exclusive in Australian hotels, to The Darling.Rain ShowerheadsEvery bathroom comes with a relaxing rain showerhead and a European wand.Control Four Integrated SystemComplete control is at your fingertips. One touch of a button and you can do anything - from lower your blinds to adjust the air temperature.EXPERIENCE THE SPA AT THE DARLING Our spa has 16 private rooms - including an intimate couples suite - and every one of them is devoted to making you look incredible, and feel even better.We offer signature Asian and European treatments, a hamam and a level of pampering that is unparalleled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Otel, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Cancelon, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotelopia so you can book your The Darling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing