We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather disappointing”
Review of La Rosa The Strand

La Rosa The Strand
Ranked #409 of 6,916 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: La Rosa The Strand is an elegant Roman wine bar and osteria located in Sydney’s historic Strand Arcade. Little sister to the iconic Restaurant Pendolino, La Rosa profiles premium, boutique Italian wines, hand-picked annually from Italy. The restaurant features a range of premium local and imported ingredients and artisanal age-old Roman cooking methods to present a unique and authentic dining experience. All our breads and pastas are hand–made daily in house.
Reviewed 21 September 2018

Great atmosphere and service but was disappointed with the food. Given the price point quality/cooking should be better. My starter was ok but the main course (a very expensive steak) really wasn't. It was tough and drowning in oil. A return visit is highly unlikely.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank matclarkson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

Like revisiting a restaurant from the 80’s. Pleasant and knowledgeable staff. Limited menu,all traditionalItalian dishes. I hade the tripe and my wife the house special Porchetta Romano

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Zambuck2037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

La Rosa is situated in the Old world charm of the Strand Arcade. Excellent service and good food & wine. Love the ambience. Enjoyed a leisurely dinner with friends- there was no pressure to leave. Thanks for a great dining experience.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank suemic66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

We went here on a recommendation, and initially we were pretty impressed with the place. Great old Victorian building, with lots of classy shops. The restaurant also looked promising, although a bit on the dark and gloomy side, and the staff (all Italian) seemed happy enough to see us.

Unfortunately it turned out to be stereotypical 'generic Italian', geared to the tourist market, and the food was average at best. I ordered the pizza (again on a recommendation), and my colleague ordered a pasta dish. The pasta was actually pretty good, although not great, but the pizza (supposedly 'Roman style, dough fermented for 24 hours, blah, blah, blah....) was complete rubbish. Soggy, lukewarm, and covered with a mess of oily peppers, and slices of anonymous salumi - we might as well have gone to Pizza Hut, had something cheap and cheerful, and saved ourselves some money ;(

Staff seemed semi-competent at best; fussy manager lady, busy; busy; busy, but not much use.

Wine list good but quite expensive. We each had a glass of Pinot Grigio which was about $16. Okay wine, but nothing special - probably cost them about $12 a bottle.

Can't recommend this place, there are plenty of better genuine Italian restaurants in Sydney, and if La Rosa was anywhere in Rome it wouldn't last a week, as no self-respecting Italian puts up with high prices for badly cooked food, most especially pizza!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank TopShop9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

They say it's all about the Journey and not the destination,,,
well in a lot of cases that could be right, But in this case, I believe the Journey and the destination are both Magnificent.

The JOURNEY, You have to go through the Iconic Strand Arcade, situated between George and Pitt streets Sydney to get to the Restaurant La Rosa on the 3rd Level.

The Heritage listed Strand Arcade, beautiful one day Magnificent the next.

One of the few places in Sydney where you can get your shoes shined and ........ I digress

THE DESTINATION La Rosa on the 3rd Level has atmosphere, on one side looking back into the shops in the Strand on the other, looking onto the Sun filled Pitt street pedestrian Plaza.
Excellent wine list featuring some of the best wines from both Italy and Australia

The variety of food will please any Discerning Palate, my favourite,, ? I have 2 but I want to try more before I make a choice.

One of the best meals I've had in a long time....
Ciao Bella.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Rosa The Strand also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to La Rosa The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing