We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful details, enthusiasm and such a fun exciting tour!”

My Detour™ - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 197.30*
and up
Private Tour: See Sydney Like a Local
Ranked #45 of 380 Tours in Sydney
Type: City Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our Detours. Sharing Sydney’s untold stories. Since launching in 2008 with little more than a 1964 vintage Holden, our approach to tourism has always been offbeat. Today, as a family-run cultural tourism enterprise, we pride ourselves in offering authentic, thrilling and intimate insights into the city we love and call home. We want you to become a local in a day! With a Detour for everyone, we draw on imagination and community to weave captivating narratives and unforgettable experiences. Join us today and gain exclusive access to our local network of indigenous elders, contemporary artists, iconic buildings, world-class museums, rare artefacts and so much more. It’s time to come with us on the adventure of a lifetime! Berangere & Richard Graham Founders/Tour Guide Extraordinaires
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We were in a bus group and we had an amazing tour of the Sydney Conservatorium of Music. Our French Guide entertained us with her extraordinary knowledge of the history of this unique building in Sydney. She knew Sydney better than any local (I'm a local) and her passion and professionalism was evident. She certainly knew her 'stuff'. We saw places in the Con that few visit and then enjoyed a concert by some of the students with an exposure to styles and compositions and instruments that we probably would not have ever seen or heard unless we were on our tour. Everyone agreed that it was a fabulous tour. Loved every minute of it. Educational, full of history and lots of musical facts.

1  Thank 6031Marion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Owner at My Detour™ - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Dear Marion, Many thanks for your heartfelt review. It is very meaningful to our company and gives us so much motivation to keep sharing stories with people like you. I hope to see you all again. All the very best wishes. Berangere Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"real sydney"
in 5 reviews
"richard's tour"
in 3 reviews
"private tour"
in 5 reviews
"personal tour"
in 3 reviews
"four hours"
in 3 reviews
"half day tour"
in 2 reviews
"would highly recommend this tour"
in 3 reviews
"interesting tour"
in 2 reviews
"walking tour"
in 2 reviews
"neighborhoods"
in 7 reviews
"beaches"
in 11 reviews
"interests"
in 4 reviews
"parts"
in 6 reviews
"australia"
in 8 reviews
"perspective"
in 4 reviews
"gems"
in 3 reviews
"humour"
in 3 reviews
Filter

24 - 28 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

We were drawn to this tour by the 1964 EH Holden and the opportunity to see the off-the-beaten-path parts of Sydney. John picked us up at our hotel and heads turned at this gorgeous car pulled into the driveway. We quickly appreciated John's love for his city as we wandered the side streets of Sydney from the Rocks to Redfern to Bondi and back. John even took us to meet Berange and her sweet daughter as we were welcomed into their home. We felt their love and passion for the history of Sydney. We played claps and our son played the didgeridoo. We had a quaint lunch in a non-touristy cafe in Bondi. We took this tour on our last day, and John made it seem like we saw Sydney for the first time. We definitely would recommend to anyone who wants more than a cookie cutter tour.

1  Thank brenhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We took the half day tour in a vintage car -- really awesome ride! Our guide was easy going, very informative, and adapted the tour to our preferences. The best part was to talk with him about what it's like to live and work in Sydney -- we felt as if we were visiting with a new friend. Don't miss this great way to get oriented to the place.

1  Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Our VIEW Club members enjoyed an interesting tour of the Sydney Conservatorium of Music with our wonderful and informative guide Elise. I have walked past this place many times and had no idea of its history. We also enjoyed the concert at the end of the tour and were amazed at the poise and talent of the students. I would highly recommend this tour.

Thank jskelly23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Owner at My Detour™ - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Thank you for recommending our Music & Heritage Tour! Elise was delighted to read your review. She certainly exceeds our expectations. Your visit and your time to review are highly appreciated! Many thanks again and we look forward to hosting you again soon, perhaps on a tour of the Powerhouse Museum... Warm regards, Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2016

27 members of The Fellowship First Fleeters Southern Highlands Chapter travelled to Sydney on 4th May 2016 for an absolutely first class tour. Elise and James were superb,enthusiastic & caring guides leading a tour of fascinating history through the four eras of the site. Three enjoyable hours at a magnificent site - a tour, morning tea then an inspiring concert featuring the extremely talented students of The Con. What a day! Elise made the organisation of this tour so easy - we highly recommend My Detour - thank you for a great day.
Wendy Selman

1  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Owner at My Detour™ - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

WOW, WOW, WOW! First class tour! Well chosen words to define our guides. Many many thanks for taking the time to write such a heartfelt review. Please come back! All the very best from all members of My Detour family. Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed My Detour™ - Day Tours also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to My Detour™ - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing