We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,281)
Filter reviews
1,281 results
Traveller rating
314
606
255
60
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
314
606
255
60
46
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,281 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2020

Stayed here for 3 nights on our first trip to Sydney and Australia in general. The lady at reception was helpful and nice and took care of our luggageWhilst we went for a coffee as we arrived early due to our flight from London arriving at 7am. Room was good size compared to some hotels we’ve stayed in, the bed was also comfy. The only downside to the room was the wardrobe door which wouldn’t close properly, but it wasn’t really an issue - it’s just because we’re basically children who are scared of the bogeyman. Great stay and great prices! Stayed at another hotel down the road for 1 night when we arrived back in Sydney from Brisbane and it wasn’t anywhere near as good, we should of booked a night here again.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank OwenLloyd93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2020

Dear OwenLloyd93,

Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to share your positive experience.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation, as well as the benefits of being so conveniently located. Most of all - thank you for highlighting the great service provided by our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Manager
The Bayswater Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2020

we stayed there just as the corona virus was taking off, the staff was very understanding and helped in many ways, Internet storing our luggage, directions, uber. Perhaps we were more needy than normal but whatever we asked we were helped.

As to the hotel it is older, in a rather seedy section of town especially at night, the room was good and clean but noisy at least on the street side of the hotel. I would stay there again and rate it a 3 star in the AAA version of class and a 4 star within that level.

Room tip: room away from road is better
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ron57nie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2020

Thank you for such a positive review about The Bayswater Sydney and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2020 via mobile

Stayed here before, did the job so booked to stay again over New Year. Worst decision I made.

My partner had taken an engagement ring to propose on NYE, he didn’t know there was no safe before we arrived (probably unusual when you think about it but hadn’t need to use it last time as had no valuables) but stuffed the ring box in a rolled up t shirt, inside a coat, inside a bag, inside a closed case. It looked like it was packed not like something was hidden ( Remember it was a secret at this stage)

Fast forward to NYE and my partner goes to retrieve the ring for the proposal to find the ring box empty.

Reported to hotel and police and returned to UK and the email trail with hotel stopped as they accept no responsibility for loss / theft ( probably the norm) but as it totally ruined NYE and the onward travel I expected them to do more than merely apologise. Never even offered to refund the cost of the stay.

Been to Australia 5 times and visited much poorer countries and never experienced anything like this.

You don’t expect people to go through your baggage. Nor do you expect to have to carry valuable belongings 24/7 that people ‘might take a fancy to’
A hotel room is a home away from home.

Very disappointing.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank normalreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2020


We are extremely disappointed to read your comments relating to your recent stay at our property.

At The Bayswater Sydney, we treat the security and privacy of our guests with the utmost care.

When you reported the ring missing from the room, we were shocked and very concerned. All of our team have cooperated with the Police in their investigation. The case is now closed and the Police have stated there is no evidence to suggest any staff members were involved.

As mentioned in previous conversations regarding this sensitive and serious matter, we maintain our offer to make a statement for your insurance company. We trust you still have our direct contact details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2020

We had two separate stays here recently and on both occasions got room upgrades because we booked direct. Upgrades are understandably subject to availability but on both occasions they were offered with no prompting. Rooms are well equipped, very clean and well furnished. Basic rooms are small but bigger ones are available. Good beds. Reception staff are friendly and helpful. The area is buzzy and very "inner city" but we loved it. No bar or food operation but plenty of options nearby and a good coffee/breakfast kiosk just outside the hotel front door. We will use this hotel again I am sure.

Room tip: Front rooms, small suites
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank housered
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2020

Thank you for your review and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and took advantage of benefits provided for direct bookings. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2019 via mobile

The room was clean. I like that you could open the windows. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Lovely lounge to have a meal brought in. Only downfall was the tiny bathroom. Location was great in proximity to multiple venues and travel options. Definitely recommended.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2020

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at The Bayswater Sydney. We are happy to read you loved the location of our hotel and the service provided by our front desk staff.
We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews