We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bayswater Sydney
Ranked #81 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed in one of the executive king rooms for 2 nights. The room looked out onto the street so I was concerned about the noise and had ear plugs on hand "just in case" but didn't need them, the double glazed windows did the trick.

The bed was comfortable and the room spacious.

my only criticism was the bathroom. It needed a really good scrub, to bring it to hotel standard.

Overall a pleasant stay and great value for money. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kimellav63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,060)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

913 - 917 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed at the Bayswater for 2 nights in January 2012. The staff was friendly and check in/check out was fast and easy, the front desk staff helped us with recommendations for the area and helped us book a shuttle to the airport. The rooms are stylish and very clean plus they include lots of amenities (iron, hair dryer, mini fridge, coffee, tea, creamer, bowls, etc). The bed was so comfy and the shower was nice and hot! The location of the hotel is great, it is just a few minutes walk to the Kings Cross station and is close lots of bars and restaurants. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommended it to others looking for an affordable comfortbale place to stay in a great location!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chon_Mik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

After several weeks of staying in hostels we booked the Bayswater for our last night in Australia, and so glad we did. Our room was lovely; spacious, clean and had AC. There was tea/coffee, iron, hair dryer, TV and Ipod doc, not to mention a hot, fast shower!

The location is great for Kings Cross area; the station is 2 minutes walk away, and the bars and club are right outside - but was still quiet inside the hotel. At night time there was security on the door too to stop lost clubbers! There are plenty of shops and restaurants just outside too.

The guy on reception was great, told us everything we needed, checked us in and out fast, and gave us a map. There was a nice little bowl of sweets too - its the little things that count! If you're heading to/from the airport there is a shuttle bus too.

The only not so great thing about this hotel was our bathroom door - it was one of those slidey ones that kept getting stuck....

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The room (King Deluxe) was smaller than I would have expected. This "Deluxe" room is almost entirely filled by the bed!

The main complaint I have -- that they could fix -- is the lack of storage: in the room, there's one cabinet half used up already (by a fridge, etc). That's it for your clothes, enjoy living out of your bag. The bathroom could use a few additional, little shelves (one in the shower, one by the sink). As it stands there are none even though there are places they could easily fit them without them getting in the way.

The room was also a little worse for wear -- our towel rack was hanging by a thread on its hinges, and a few of the lights were out.

The 'no outlook' as promised is a serious promise: you get practically no light in your room because you look out at a small 'courtyard' of perhaps 10 square meters.

The layout of the room could have been though through better, too -- because of its poor design, it was awkward and the light that did come in through the window was wasted on the shelving unit.

I'd have given this a rating of 2, but I think some of my complaints are likely standard for a Sydney room (specifically, the small size). I'd recommend upgrading to the Suite if at all possible: the extra space along with the light from real windows seems like it'd be well worth it.

Someone said wifi internet was expensive -- the price is $10/day, which isn't unusually high of a price in my opinion, plus they have a computer downstairs you can use for free (with a printer, which is a nice touch).

Also I'm fairly certain there are prostitutes that walk the street this hotel is on. If that's something you're not keen on, I'd recommend booking somewhere else.

(PS: a shuttle might end up a better way to get here than a taxi depending on your group size; the taxi was near $60, shuttles seem to be < $16 per person).

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed here for one night in February 2012 in a King Deluxe room on the 4th floor facing the street. We booked on the hotel's website and paid AUD168.

RECEPTION:
The front desk staff is overall friendly and helpful. They gave good advice on restaurants and transportation to the tourist sites. Free tourist maps are available at the front desk.

LOCATION:
The hotel is a merely 5-minute walk to the Kings Cross train station. Bus 325 has a stop virtually in front of the hotel which takes you to Circular Quay (at the Sydney Habor). The area has a reputation of a bar/red-light district. The hotel entrance is flanked by a small convenience store and a small cafe that serves breakfast. There are a number of pizza and fast food places within walking distance. The Italian restaurant Uliveto just a few steps to the right of the hotel serves excellent food and milkshakes.

There is an airport shuttle van that services several hotels in the area. One-way fare is AUD12. It seems to come twice in an hour.

ROOM:
The bed in the King Deluxe room is comfortable and comes with many side pillows/cushions. A flat screen TV is hung on the wall facing the bed. There is a 'living room' area with a couch, a wardrobe and a desk. The window facing the street is big and since it faces the west, it gets really warm in the afternoon. Since the curtain is thick, once it is fully lowered, the room gets really dark and the lighting is not sufficient. There is an air-conditioner above the bathroom door which faces the bed.

ACCESSORIES:
We were happy that the room came with an ironing board, iron, cups/plates/cutlery, instant coffee/teabags/cream, a small fridge, and a hair dryer. Extra blankets and pillows are in the wardrobe. There is an iPod dock but it didn't seem to work; neither did the table lamp on the desk. There were two small bars of soap, and travel-size shampoo and conditioner. Wifi is not free.

BATHROOM:
The bathroom is a bit on the small side but clean. Shower is a walk-in with a fixed shower head with strong stream. The sink and the toilet are a bit too close to each other. I agree with previous reviewers that there should be racks on which you could put your toiletries. The bathroom's wooden sliding door is a bit flimsy and feels out of place with the overall chic-ness of the room design--there is also a big gap so you could actually see the toilet from the couch.


Despite the minor flaws, we enjoyed our stay and thought the price was reasonable given the location and the quality of the room. It would have been nice if a simple breakfast is included in the room price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Machaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Hotel Challis
#50 of 179 in Sydney
723 reviews
Quest Potts Point
#78 of 179 in Sydney
545 reviews
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#100 of 179 in Sydney
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#35 of 179 in Sydney
116 reviews
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#138 of 179 in Sydney
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayswater Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayswater Sydney

Address: 17 Bayswater Rd | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Kings Cross
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#25 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#72 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $119 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bayswater Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayswater Sydney offers a boutique hotel experience in Kings Cross, just one stop from Circular Quay. Hotel rooms feature premium bedding, a work desk, WiFi access, air-conditioning, large flat screen TV, chic en suite bathroom with amenities and ironing facilities. The Bayswater Sydney also has a 24 hour reception, a guest laundry and a taxi rank at the front door. Public transport is also just one block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Bayswater Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bayswater Sydney Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing