We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and interesting tour - Utzon”

Sydney Architecture Walks
Ranked #9 of 280 Outdoor Activities in Sydney
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We are architects and we want to share Sydney with you. We organise intimate walking and bicycle tours that are open to the general public. We also arrange private / customised architectural tours and itineraries on request. Taking the form of a series of urban provocations, our conversations are straightforward and jargon-free exercises in story telling. Aimed at the expert-enthusiast, we want you to understand the 'why' of the city whilst exploring the most provocative and daring projects Sydney houses; works of architecture, public art and landscape that inspire and delight but also projects that reveal something of Sydney's grimy pulse. We are interested in ideas and in the drivers of city; the vibrant network of invisible forces - political, cultural, economic and environmental that give the city form. Get stung by architecture. Sydney will never look the same again. Promise!
Reviewed 21 January 2017

I have lived in Sydney for years and thought I knew a lot about the Opera House... but I didn't. The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable, interesting and passionate about Utzon and his creation. The perspective on the people and the times was most fascinating of all. Highly recommend the tour.

Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoghan L, Owner at Sydney Architecture Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Thanks Phil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"jorn utzon"
in 3 reviews
"urban planning"
in 2 reviews
"fresh eyes"
in 2 reviews
"engaging guide"
in 2 reviews
"story telling"
in 3 reviews
"subject matter"
in 2 reviews
"opera house"
in 27 reviews
"his passion"
in 3 reviews
"visitors and locals"
in 3 reviews
"bike ride"
in 2 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 5 reviews
"wealth of knowledge"
in 3 reviews
"interesting tour"
in 3 reviews
"city tour"
in 3 reviews
"three hours"
in 2 reviews
"darling harbour"
in 3 reviews
"politics"
in 29 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2017

This tour, led by Eoghan Lewis who is both entertaining and informative, gave me a fascinating insight into the work of Utzon, his concepts and inspirations for the Sydney Opera House. Having lived through the period of history when the Opera House was being built and the many political controversies I really appreciated hearing the inside stories of that time. I highly recommend this tour for Sydney-siders and visitors as an eye opener to our most famous building.

Thank SASLithgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoghan L, Owner at Sydney Architecture Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Thankyou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016

What an outstanding tour, informative and enjoyable in equal measure. We took the Utzon tour on a Saturday morning. There were only six of us and Eoghan, an unlikely mix of guide, architect and raconteur, kept us enthralled throughout. Three hours flew by. We learnt about Utzon's movie star good looks, his "dream" for the Opera House which he knew would never be realised, and the way Utzon's had hoped he wouldn't win the competition to design Sydney's most famous building. Eoghan brought this fascinating part of Sydney's architecture and history to life. I couldn't recommend it highly enough.

Thank Sacha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoghan L, Owner at Sydney Architecture Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Thanks so much for the review Sacha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

This was one of the best tours I've ever been on. The guide [Oeghan Lewis] is an architect that is clearly passionate about the subject matter and that also made us excited about it. It was well-structured, funny, informative, fascinating and heartbreaking (no spoiler's here). This is an important tour for Australians and would be an intriguing tour for visitors. LOVED IT!!

1  Thank avenueroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoghan L, Owner at Sydney Architecture Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Thankyou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2016

This is a quite interesting way to discover Sydney, through the way the city has reached it's current structure, brought to us by a passionate architect, Eoghan, and with a day to day insight to it all, open disucssions and sharing make it a very enriching walk !

Thank maiwennvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoghan L, Owner at Sydney Architecture Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Thankyou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sydney Architecture Walks also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sydney Architecture Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing