We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utzon & Sydney Opera House Tour”

Sydney Architecture Walks
Ranked #48 of 245 Outdoor Activities in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We are architects and we want to share our city with you. We organise intimate walking and bicycle tours that are open to the general public. We also arrange private / customised architectural tours and itineraries on request. Taking the form of a series of urban provocations, our conversations are straightforward and jargon-free exercises in story telling. Aimed at the expert-enthusiast, we want you to understand the 'why' of the city whilst exploring the most provocative and daring projects Sydney houses; works of architecture, public art and landscape that inspire and delight but also projects that reveal something of Sydney's grimy pulse. We are interested in ideas and in the drivers of city; the vibrant network of invisible forces - political, cultural, economic and environmental that give the city form. Get stung by architecture. Sydney will never look the same again. We promise!
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Utzon & Sydney Opera House Tour”
Reviewed 12 December 2016

This was one of the best tours I've ever been on. The guide [Oeghan Lewis] is an architect that is clearly passionate about the subject matter and that also made us excited about it. It was well-structured, funny, informative, fascinating and heartbreaking (no spoiler's here). This is an important tour for Australians and would be an intriguing tour for visitors. LOVED IT!!

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank avenueroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoghan L, Owner at Sydney Architecture Walks, responded to this review, 18 January 2017
Thankyou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very intersting discovery through the layers that have made the city !”
Reviewed 13 November 2016

This is a quite interesting way to discover Sydney, through the way the city has reached it's current structure, brought to us by a passionate architect, Eoghan, and with a day to day insight to it all, open disucssions and sharing make it a very enriching walk !

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank maiwennvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoghan L, Owner at Sydney Architecture Walks, responded to this review, 18 January 2017
Thankyou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great tour of the city through the eyes of an architect.”
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Eoghan was fabulous and the tour was an interesting mix of history, politics and, of course, architecture. We thoroughly enjoyed this walk around modern Sydney, even in the pouring rain. We just wish we would've had time to sign up for the Utzon tour too. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoghan L, General Manager at Sydney Architecture Walks, responded to this review, 18 January 2017
Thanks Rachel. Sorry about the rain ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful for architects and non-architects alike!”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

My wife is an architect. I am not. As such, I am dragged to a ton of projects, lectures and tours that I would probably otherwise ignore. To my surprise, the SAW1 tour was wonderful--engaging, interesting and varied.

Eoghan has been giving these tours for upwards of a decade and it shows. He's personable, knowledgeable and generous. He talks about Sydney's history and how the past has informed the buildings of the present both through building codes and aesthetic and functional design decisions.

The day before we did the SAW1 walk, we took a tour of the Opera House. This walk augments that tour very nicely.

If it's a cold day, you'll want to bundle up because most of the "walk" is standing and listening.

At the end of the tour, Eoghan circled a few other buildings on our map of Sydney to check out while we were in town. If we were staying longer, we'd have loved to go on the other SAW tours as I'm sure they're equally as good.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank jesseledoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoghan L, Owner at Sydney Architecture Walks, responded to this review, 18 January 2017
Thanks Jesse. Keeping in mind the idea architecture is the great public art, you are the one we're aiming for; conversations architectural to the design-inclined.
Thanks for posting a review.
Much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 16 September 2016

An absolutely remarkable walk with Utzon. I felt like being taken on a ride through a proof of a beautiful theorem. Thanks!

Disclaimer - I am mathematician by trade.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank jstomczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoghan L, Owner at Sydney Architecture Walks, responded to this review, 18 January 2017
Google Translation
Thankyou jstomczyk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sydney Architecture Walks also viewed

 

Been to Sydney Architecture Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing