We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational Japanese”

Sake Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #86 of 6,227 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 15 - USD 30
Cuisines: Japanese, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: The Rocks
Description: Set within an impressive designer space in the historic Argyle Precinct at The Rocks, Saké Restaurant & Bar serves up contemporary Japanese fare created by sushi master Shimpei Hatanaka, who draws on authentic Japanese training to present an outstanding mix of new-style sushi and classic dishes.Shimpei's menu changes with the seasons and is perfectly matched to a premium range of imported sakes, allowing guests to gain greater insight into the age-old Japanese tradition of delicately balancing flavours. Awarded with a coveted Sydney Morning Herald Good Food Guide Chef's Hat each year since opening, Saké is sure to exceed your expectations. Call in for cocktails, pull up a seat at the sushi bar or settle in with friends for the evening and savour the experience!
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Went with my USA client and his girl who have been to the best LA Japanese LA has to offer. We were all totally impressed. Standouts the Popcorn Shrimp, Kingfish Sashimi, Miso cod balls I could go on. Every dish was great all washed doen by warm saki and the night was done. Tables are for 4, twos get bar stools.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Russell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

694 - 698 of 1,688 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Went back again today for a farewell lunch. This place is amazing.

Every dish exceeds expectations.

We had the tooth fish which was exactly how great fish should taste but better.

The prawn dumplings were divine.

The sashimi was fresh and the flavours dance on your tongue.

The tempura was delicately battered and so fresh.

We shared the dinosaur egg and the tart - amazing!

This place never disappoints.

Great vibe, good staff but even better food!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank 80vickys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 August 2016

In the middle of The Rocks in Sydney you are inundated with tourist choices, not all worth the price. This restaurant had a pleasant atmosphere and varied food choices. The service was excellent, very friendly and informative. Sat at the food bar area and watched the food preparation - a good choice if on your own.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wwt56
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

I was very impressed with Sake. The food was delicious, beer cold and service quick. The restaurant has a great ambience especially with the open viewing kitchen and the chefs responding to the head chef in Japanese. The restaurant looks modern and elegant. It was quite busy when we went. Book in advance to ensure you get a table.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank GR_Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We decided to dine at Sake on a Friday evening with another couple. With our reservations at 8 PM, the restaurant was still packed. We had a table in the corner and had a nice view of the happening restaurant.
Since my wife and I are vegs, the restaurant was flexible to provide veg sushi, however they required we pay up front I found this a little odd that we were being charged up front, esp b/c they still couldn't confirm what vegetables would be available on the day off. The sushi itself was okay, nothing great. We have had better sushi. The 'meat' sushi were okay as well according to the other couple. However, I am assuming most people go here for the environment rather than the food.

Lastly, as you would expect to a restaurant named Sake, they also have a sake tasting menu where you can try a tasting sample of 4 sake. We did that and were disappointed in the flavors. I have had much better sake from grocery store than we did here. However, their beer menu is pretty good.

The service itself was okay. We had to wait a while to be served after we sat down and no one came by for a while for us to order additional drinks. I am assuming it was b/c the restaurant was packed, but considering the place is always busy, I would expect them to hire additional waitstaff or ensure the current waitstaff covers all the tables properly.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 581anishs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Sake Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sake Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.