We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favourite”

Sake Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #86 of 6,227 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 15 - USD 30
Cuisines: Japanese, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: The Rocks
Description: Set within an impressive designer space in the historic Argyle Precinct at The Rocks, Saké Restaurant & Bar serves up contemporary Japanese fare created by sushi master Shimpei Hatanaka, who draws on authentic Japanese training to present an outstanding mix of new-style sushi and classic dishes.Shimpei's menu changes with the seasons and is perfectly matched to a premium range of imported sakes, allowing guests to gain greater insight into the age-old Japanese tradition of delicately balancing flavours. Awarded with a coveted Sydney Morning Herald Good Food Guide Chef's Hat each year since opening, Saké is sure to exceed your expectations. Call in for cocktails, pull up a seat at the sushi bar or settle in with friends for the evening and savour the experience!
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

Great service with excellent food and extensive wine list. Interior is very nice and cozy. Lots of tables but you don't feel like you're close to other diners. Will be going back soon. Lamb cutlets with wasabi are amazing

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

729 - 733 of 1,688 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Made a reservation for two on a Monday night. On arrival, the reception states we'll need to dine at the bar. We protest and instead get seated at a communal table. Moments later, given the restaurant was only practically 30% filled we felt we were treated like second class citizens sitting at this empty depressing communal table. On raising this issue to the manager, she was nice enough to move us to a single private table.

First and foremost we were quite annoyed at the fact we weren't given a normal table and were prepared to leave. Not sure what caused or what warranted the decision to give us crap seats (possibly our casual attire?).
Secondly, the staff were genuinely nice, attentive and their service really reflected this. The food and Japanese sake wine was excellent and you'll need to spend at least $300 for two which is well worth it. However... It was a shame though, had they gotten it right with the seating on the first instance... It could of been 5 stars.

Finally, on completing our dining experience, it appeared those communal tables were still empty! I'm still in disbelief. What initially started out to be a stressing dining experience turned out good. Would of been nice to receive an apology but heaven knows what goes on the world of hospitality.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank EricVivid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Sake restaurant offers a cool ambience with great decor. Experience at lunch time is still very much the same as dinner. Menu is pretty extensive with the freshest sashimi, rolls, grills etc.

Although I didn't have liquor this time around, I remember they serve a good variety of cocktails.

Beats having the usual seafood fare along the waterfront.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank joenjacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 July 2016

Busy busy busy but great atmosphere. We had a table with sunken seating so bit tricky getting in. Degustation was beautiful loved all the dishes.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kd0419
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 July 2016

No booking fee for the room but a $400 deposit which is refunded. Plenty of food (on a banquet menu) and the service was good. Prices not over the top. A good place to go

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DiverDanSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Sake Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sake Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.