We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Dining”

Rockpool Bar & Grill
Ranked #115 of 6,957 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: AU$2 - AU$2
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

A very special dining experience. I agree with previous reviewers about the decor & ambience, it is very grand. What struck me the most is the number of staff who where attentive but not overpowering. Service is slick & helpful. The menu is just what I expected.....dishes with flair & passion. However, the prices are not all over the top. There are some items that are extremely expensive but other mains that are around the $30 mark. Presentation was superb. The drinks menu is on the pricey side but for the quality it can be excused & enjoyed as a special event. Definitely worth a visit.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Middydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

683 - 687 of 1,772 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2016

Probably former banc where you eat. Top location for meat, fish and oysters. Service was good, price is very high but the meat is worth it. Had only had a few occasion with such good meat! Very popular location, need to book in advance. Close by the harbor in Sydney. Ask the waiter for a wine in your price category as they can go up to 2000 Dollars.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank snaproll
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Great day to go if you don't like hustle and bustle but the atmosphere is t quite there when the dining room isn't full. Great steaks and fish enjoyed by our party. Excellent side dishes - beans and roast potatoes a must. Good knowledgable service.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 August 2016

The atmosphere is amazing - high vault ceilings with huge marble columns - looks like an old converted bank. Staff are very attentive without being too obvious, and very polite. Comfortable armchairs, spaciously laid out tables.

The food was perfect. Beef Bourguignon was soft and gelatinous - perfect winter warmer. Beef and Guiness pie on mushy peas was also very tasty. Wagyu beef bolognaise was al dente and hit the spot. T-bone was soft and perfectly cooked but a little plain, but accompanying Bernaise sauce was light and fluffy which complemented meat well. Side salad of mixed leaves and roast potatoes were great. Then to top it off, cheese cake was refreshing, but all the yummms went to the rhubarb pie -another winter warmer.

Bathrooms upstairs were 5 star hotel standard. Wine list so extensive (and potentially expensive), but our waitress was very helpful to help us decide. There was absolutely no rush to get us out for another sitting (as other restaurants do).
Our party of 4 had mains with sides, shared 2 desserts plus drinks for $300. Whilst not cheap eats, we all agreed it was better to forgo 1 meal at the local restaurant down the road (where we pay $150-$200 for 4 people), and come here instead more often.

We will definitely be back. Highly recommended. Excellent value for money.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Had such a lovely time, lovely building wait staff where like clock work..everyone's dream staff..we had three courses actually a little more..we usually order a bottle of wine but this time we thought we choose from their extensive wine list..so we had champagne, white wine, red wine and sticky, we had truffle tart, oysters, aged steak and side and a fabulous desserts and coffee, a place i will return

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Colleen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Rockpool Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Rockpool Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.