We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (634)
Filter reviews
634 results
Traveller rating
226
227
96
47
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
227
96
47
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskings crossgreat locationrooftop terracefree laundrythe holiday innstay there againcooking facilitiestrain stationsmall kitchenettestudio apartmentbusiness tripstayed nightsbed was comfortablecentral locationopera housecafesmicrowave
Filter
Updating list...
612 - 617 of 634 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2008

I found what I thought was a great deal on this hotel and booked with them directly. They were having problems with their reservation system on line, but I was able to email the reservations desk and make the reservation. I had read so many good reviews about the hotel that I was really looking forward to my visit. I actually liked the location as it is close to many other hotels and restaurants and the Potts Point area is lovely and Kings Cross very interesting. My biggest problem was that the website indicated the rooms 'come with high speed internet access'. I discovered that the rooms have access available but the cost was $10/hour, $20 for 4 hours or $30/day. I did complain to the front desk and they said that they were aware that the website said this but that the internet was provided by an outside server and they had no control over the cost. The cost was added to my bill through the hotel, so I wondered about this. I wrote an email to the hotel while I was there reiterating my objection and did not receive a response. This really coloured my impression of the hotel. I didn't mind so much that the room was very tiny as it was in the back of the hotel and pretty quiet, or that 2 lightbulbs were burned out, or even that the sink was leaking all over the floor, as these issues were addressed immediately. I found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful, in all respects, except for the internet issue. Most hotels do seem to include this free of charge, and I wouldn't have objected if the website did not suggest that it was free. As long as you are prepared for the extra cost and can get a good deal, this is a pretty fair place to stay I reckon, but there are many other hotels in the same area where internet access is free.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank peleer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2008

Sydney has been crying out for some stylish new Boutique hotels for quite some time and after reading about several new offerings we were thrilled to find that this hotel was also themed around one of our favourite artists, Tim Storrier.

The location may seem a little strange, down an alley metres from 'The Strip' in Kings Cross, although it is technically in Potts Point - just. In saying that it was surprisingly quiet - and we had a front room - and so very handy that night when we found ourselves surrounded by some of Sydney's best restaurants and Bars on nearby Victoria Street. 'Jimmy Liks' is probably offering some of the best Asian/Fusion food in the country - but thats another story for another time.

As a Designer I found a lot of thought has gone into the completion of this hotel. Being such an old building, with small spaces ( no doubt heritage protected) it would have been quiet a challenge to work within these confines and they have done a remarkable job. The rooms are, in fact, very small but the clever use of light, mirror and colour gives a sense of space and a touch of glamour. The bathroom is a bit tight but really considering the very reasonable tariff who would complain ?

The service was faultless with all staff falling over themselves to help us, even at 3 in the morning when we found our way home from dinner.

We will definately return and look forward to the next offerings ( The Whiteley and The Olsen) from this savvy Hotel group.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank 40ishcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2008

Oh my god. What a slice of heaven in the middle of the cross.
The hotel is beautiful, art deco building with fabulous good sized rooms all new amenities and brand new divine soft beds. There is a fabulous rooftop terrace with a great view perfect for a bottle of wine on a clear night. It was altogether perfect. We ended up there again after a horrible experience at The Kirketon nearby. We arrived and the staff remembered us and even the details of our trip. They upgraded our room and booked us into dinner at the restaurant. The food was wonderful as was the service. Another amazing night at this new star of the Sydney scene. 1 point if staying on a Thurs - Sun night would maybe suggest a room away from the front of the hotel which can be a little noisy in the early hours.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Dazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2008

The two of us booked at the Storrier after reading about a new concept hotel based around the artwork of Australian artist Tim Storrier. We love interesting boutique hotels for the occasional romantic weekend, and this proved to be excellent.

Please note: The Storrier is not in Potts Pott. It's pretty much in the heart of Kings Cross in grimy backstreet. We were worried as we drove through what seemed like an alleyway looking for the hotel, but our arrival at freshly renovated, beautiful art deco hotel, and the professional welcome that saw our bags collected from the car to reception quickly changed our mind. But the Cross nightlife is very apparent and audible. We enjoyed the atmosphere and felt safe at all times, but maybe not a great idea for families.

The design concept of the hotel is beautiful. The main Storrier piece is in the lobby, as was a smaller print in our room. The colour scheme is followed down to the orange and black toilet paper. Renovated in September 2007, everything was new and the furnishings were super stylish and comfortable.

We stayed in a very clean Superior room over Fri, Sat and Sun. The kitchenette had a convection/microwave oven, a two burner gas top (with rangehood), a sink (with washing up gear), kettle, and bar-fridge, along with cutlery, pots and dishes. All were shiny new and clean.

The bed was super comfy and the faux mink comforter lovely to lie on. The large mounted TV was easy to watch from the bed. A glam design feature of the room was mirrored walls - behind the bed, as the kitchen splash-back and the wall adjoining the bathroom. The room had controllable air-con and the bedside alarm clock had an ipod dock with pretty reasonable sound quality.

Biggest problem with the room was the shower in the fairly basic (but very clean) bathroom - it had a curtain that failed to keep the water from leaking all over the floor. Luckily there were plenty of towels, ordered more from reception for free and had them refreshed by housekeeping. Also, more wardrobe space would have been nice.

Our room looked directly onto the street (alleyway) and we had a privately screened balcony (more of a patio in size), with a table, chairs and umbrella. The street frontage was prob the worst aspect of the room, in that the early hours of the morning noise was very audible, and for a Cross backstreet, colourful.

The staff were very friendly / professional and recognised / welcomed us as we came and went. Booking in took a little while after some confusion over our Wotif booking, but a 20 minute wait was compensated by the offer of a free breakfast in the restaurant (delicious a la carte with excellent espresso). Valet parking was convenient easy to organise - $25 for 24 hours.

The hotel restaurant for dinner one night was fantastic, delicious food at an incredibly good price, considering the high quality of the meals, with decent service (for Sydney).

This is a hotel for those who can handle style and luxury in the midst of inner-city grunge. I loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Cattermune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: 4. Etage (möglichst weit oben)
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ASUS 12 W8 IE Bookmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard I, Manager at Quest Potts Point, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews